RSS

One more hurdle crossed!

17 Jan

digi44518272_l

Here she is, folks! My new home. Well, not this exact one, but very similar. “Real” pics tomorrow. She’s very much like this one.

How did I get here? Well, let me tell you, rent ain’t cheap in this Tourist Town! The monthly payments + space rent at a very nice RV park (all amenities included up to a ridiculous electric allowance, but not including WiFi) is more than $300 per month LESS than for rent alone on anything larger than a refrigerator box around these parts. More private, too.

Awana of the comments is a traveling worker in the medical field and one visit to her Fiber Studio convinced me that it will be big enough to live in and the fact that I can hire a guy to drag it from place to place (unless I decide to invest in a truck of my own) is just about the perfect way to live.

Think about it – the Real Work I do can be done from my computer anywhere and minimum wage jobs (more than enough income to provide for my soon-to-be-simpler needs) can be found anywhere, too. Why not?!? Pare down the Stuff*, slough off the obligations that possessions carry, and be free in body and soul.

A and I drove over to an RV dealer at o’dark-thirty to see what I qualify for and if financing is available to me. Sure enough, I can “afford” pretty much anything I wanted to look at and so we took the guided tour and saw many, many great floor plans and travel trailers.

I drive over again tomorrow for the “walk-through” and then we drag my new abode to its new resting place and hook ‘er up.

I can’t wait! It feels very good to be moving forward in such a decisive way. I’m still trying to find the Down Side, but other than the Final Confrontation (which may or may not happen, depending on how fast I can get moved in. Or out…) with M, I can’t find the hole inΒ  my plan. If all else fails, I simply pull up stakes and move my home somewhere else.

If you’re thinking about getting out on your own, this might be the way for you to do it. If a person working 28 hours a week at a minimum wage job (no debt, though, and no kids or outstanding obligations) can get affordable financing for a package as nice as this one (four seasons insulation package, heat & AC, full (if small) kitchen and bath, king sized bed (watch for some interesting modifications soon – ain’t no way I will have a bed big enough to share ever again!) all fully furnished with a sound system, propane and battery back-up, all the bells and whistles, just think what anyone could do with even less!

With the US economy in such bad shape, more and more people are choosing a mobile lifestyle and its advantages are undeniable. More on my views about that later, too πŸ™‚ I won’t be able to shut up about it now that my plan is out in the open, so to speak…

Many, many thanks to Awana for her unwavering support, assistance and endless question answering as I made this decision. You’re the best, A!

* I’m really quite pared down as it is – only two pieces of furniture that I would like to keep, some odds and ends used every day, a sewing machine, fiddles and guitars. The rest is in boxes or plastic bins (perfect to chuck into storage for as long as necessary) because M doesn’t like to see my stuff cluttering up his space, all messy with works-in-progress out for anyone coming over to see. Like we ever have anyone over anyway. Whatever. I’ll probably never get over that part of our relationship and always have my stuff spread out where I can see it πŸ™‚

 
25 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2013 in Digging Out, Escape Plans, Today

 

Tags: , ,

25 responses to “One more hurdle crossed!

  1. El Guapo

    January 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    WOW!!!
    Great news, Sofia. The trailer has a surprisingly good looking interior!
    I hope you remember everything that brought you to this point and don’t let M confuse you into going back to him, and can’t wait to hear more about your moving forward!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 17, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      Are you stalking me, G? πŸ™‚

      It is amazing inside! I had no idea what the newer models could look like. My interior has slightly different fabrics, but colors and furniture are essentially the same. I’ll need to sell the dinette set, as I really want to keep my Granny’s Formica 1950’s dining table and the bed will be cut down so that my old bird’s eye maple dresser will fit, but other than that, it’s perfect! 31 feet of my own private utopia. The two slide-outs really make it spacious and I can’t wait to start moving in.

      I will be reading back on this blog every day to keep my resolve strong and I can’t tell you all how much I appreciate your comments and support. You guys helped me see that I’m not crazy, not weak, not just making things up in my pitiful little mind to gain sympathy (or whatever M’s latest line is) and have given me the strength to just say, “enough!” and take my life back. Wish I’d done it years ago πŸ™‚

       
      • El Guapo

        January 17, 2013 at 6:13 pm

        Years ago would have been good, but now you have your whole life ahead of you!

        (Not stalking – trying to write my damned friday post with no idea how to answer the comments. Your post (with its great news) was a welcome distraction – and is also one of the ones I’m linking back to tomorrow.)
        And for someone who doesn’t know you, I’m ridiculously happy for you.
        (If I knew you better, I’d say I was proud too, but that’s probably stalkerish.) πŸ˜€

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 17, 2013 at 10:45 pm

        Glad to provide a happy distraction for you πŸ™‚ You already said you were proud, but it didn’t sound stalker-ish until just now…

         
  2. Shannon Ketchersid

    January 17, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Very proud of you!!

     
  3. JackieP

    January 17, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Good for you! It looks great. Good luck!

     
  4. Melanie

    January 17, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful!!!

     
  5. Tamara

    January 17, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    What a great solution! Good luck:)

     
  6. Paula

    January 17, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    I love it!!! I’m so thankful that you have A to help you. What a gift!! My stepfather and mother had a motor home years ago. Those things are nice!! And a lot more spacious than most people think. Wonderful news!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 17, 2013 at 10:11 pm

      My Mom and step-dad are talking about becoming “full timers” this Summer. I think my trailer is nicer than theirs, though πŸ™‚ Might have to join them at the campsite where they will be hosting…

       
  7. Bethany Johnson Sutton

    January 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    I’m a little Jealous πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t be to quick to shrink my bed though, You may be surprised at how good it feels to have a WHOLE king all to yourself, I sure was πŸ™‚ can’t wait to hear more I am so happy for you!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 17, 2013 at 9:57 pm

      If the bed is that big, you know the dog will be begging to join me πŸ™‚ I don’t need that much room to sleep on – I’d much rather have more floor space for my old dresser. And wool. Piles and piles of wool πŸ™‚

       
      • Bethany

        January 18, 2013 at 5:36 am

        well when put that way πŸ™‚

         
  8. 3kids2cats1divorce

    January 17, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    What a perfect solution! Good for you to keep putting one foot in front of the other, out the door and into your new life. Love that you’re cutting the bed down. I hear ya, sister.

     
  9. merbear74

    January 18, 2013 at 4:09 am

    Yay!! Stay Strong!

     
  10. Lou

    January 18, 2013 at 4:44 am

    That is so great!! When I was 7 my parents and bro and I travelled around Europe in a campervan for 6 mths and I really hope one day to do the same around Aust. And your place looks bigger than my inner city apartment in Sydney! It normally takes me a year to feel emotionally invested in a blog. But I can’t tell you how much I look forward to seeing you gone and free!

     
  11. lookingforward2012

    January 18, 2013 at 5:11 am

    YAY!!!

     
  12. Awana

    January 18, 2013 at 5:12 am

    Just ridin’ shotgun…

     
  13. Janine

    January 18, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more. I am beaming ear to ear for you!

     
  14. Fern

    January 18, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    So exciting for you! And I adore the concept of downsizing and living ‘small’ (I’m a regular stalker of this blog: http://www.320squarefoothome.com) — Sweet Narc Freedom, here you come…!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 18, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Downsizing and living more simply has been a goal of mine for some years, but it wasn’t until this crisis that I decided to really embrace the concept. Freedom, here I come!

       
  15. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 18, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    That’s awesome I’m happy for you!

     

Leave a comment