RSS

Writing Contest

10 Feb

At the risk of revealing too much about my personal life, I’m going to offer you all a chance for glory, fame and $25.00 cold, hard cash.

I do occasional web work for Isabella Dog Biscuits, a very small company on the Oregon Coast that makes vegan dog biscuits. Sabu has become a very happy test subject for Roxy’s samples, which have no corn, soy or wheat. They’re just good dog treats!

This is the second year that she’s put out a call for entries into a writing contest. The rules are simple: 1000 words or less and a dog has to make an appearance. Winners will be chosen in two age categories: Puppies (12 and under) and Big Dogs (12 and over.) Each of the two winners will receive a cash prize of $25 and their winning entry will be published on the Isabella Dog Biscuits website. Click here for more info.

Roxy would be thrilled to have more entries this year than last and I know many of you are writers who are always up for a little challenge! Submit your entries early and often (you can enter as many times as you wish 🙂 )

8670456_origIn other news, we survived Snowmageddon. It was a bit of a snoozer, actually. The water continued to run. There was a moment of panic when the electricity went out, accompanied by a BOOM and large blue light outside, but the juice came back on and it appears that the transformer is fine, or at least no crews came out to tinker with it. Had to chain up my little car to get to work today, but the snow is melting quickly now and shouldn’t pose a problem getting errands run and back home again.

I knit a hat. Sadly, it’s too top-heavy and will need to be ripped out and re-designed. No hardship, though, as the yarn is a lovely soft alpaca that is a joy to work with.

That is all.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in Dogs, Memes, Writing

 

Tags: ,

28 responses to “Writing Contest

  1. Twindaddy

    February 10, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    I’ve never actually chained my tires. I just drive….

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 10, 2014 at 3:17 pm

      With chains there is very little slipping and sliding. With no chains there is LOTS of slipping and sliding and people just can’t seem to slow the fuck down! No matter what, the majority will motor on as if it’s a clear, sunny day in June with not a care in the world. It helps that they’re driving ginormous SUVs – I don’t think they even see my little car, puttering along by the side of the road, just hoping they don’t slide towards me this time.

       
      • Twindaddy

        February 10, 2014 at 3:46 pm

        I can drive in the snow just fine without them.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        February 10, 2014 at 3:48 pm

        Then you are a responsible driver and could come out here and teach the idiots here how to drive in the snow/ice/rain/fog/dust/whatever – many of them shouldn’t be on the road at all IMHO, but since I can’t seem to get elected Queen of the Universe, they’re all out there messing up my good time. Sigh. I just don’t get it.

         
    • Pippa Pirrip

      February 10, 2014 at 3:42 pm

      For what it’s worth, chains are illegal in some places. I’ve lived in the Snowbelt & because they plow regularly, plus salt/spray, you don’t need chains. And since chains on bare roads are damaging, they’re illegal.

      But I also live just east of the Rockies now & I’ve lived on the Oregon Coast, I know in some areas, NOT being chained is illegal. It all depends on where you are. Honestly, in my experience, the average person in Cheyenne poses more of a danger with chains than the average person in Buffalo does without, just due to experience & road upkeep.

      That said, after 8 years out of the Snowbelt, I wouldn’t trust myself on wheels in snow anymore! But there was a time when it was second nature!

       
      • Twindaddy

        February 10, 2014 at 3:48 pm

        I can handle the small amounts we get here with no problem.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        February 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

        If they were illegal here it would be a different story. Chains and snow tires are legal from Oct. 1 to April 1 and are required to be carried in certain places during specific months. The roads here are not salted. I know the County owns several snow plows but they are pretty much never used and I don’t know why. If the main roads do get plowed, the side streets do not, no matter how much time passes between when the snow ends and when it starts to melt.

        This was not a dusting of snow, or a thin coat of ice that thaws by noon – it was almost a foot of snow and it came with plenty of warning. I think that chains just aren’t “cool” and no one wants to be seen to be a pussy and put them on. Going into the ditch is a good story and if you take out a smaller car along the way, well that’s just fine!

        God! I am such a Granny, aren’t I? “You damned kids better slow down or you’re gonna wreck your daddy’s car!” as I shake my cane at the passing cars. I should just stay home so I don’t have to see it. Srsly.

         
      • Pippa Pirrip

        February 10, 2014 at 6:54 pm

        Like I said, driving without chains out there would be nuts! When I was in Florence, we got an inch of snow and it shut everything down. It was my first year out of the Snowbelt & I went to drive to the grocery, but someone blew through the first stop sign I encountered because they couldn’t drive. I turned around and went home.

        And hey, I don’t even drive in the snow anymore, so I’m the super-granny! And you should hear me bitch about the jerks who won’t shovel their sidewalks, letting it accumulate inches of ice. On my less kind days I think about purposely falling so they have to fork out money for my medical bills. But you know, it would be worse for me, so I don’t. Still, they’re all jerks…

         
  2. djmatticus

    February 11, 2014 at 10:45 am

    A story with a dog?
    I’m not sure I’ve ever written a dog into a story before. Challenge accepted! 😉

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 11, 2014 at 2:41 pm

      Yay! Can’t wait to see your entry 🙂

       
      • djmatticus

        March 18, 2014 at 10:37 am

        Any word on when the winner will be announced. Inquiring minds want to know. I’m guessing sometime before this Saturday when they will be offered the chance to read them at the event…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 18, 2014 at 10:39 am

        I believe it will be tomorrow. Everyone will be notified by email.

         
      • djmatticus

        March 18, 2014 at 10:40 am

        Cool….
        I guess I can wait one more day…
        😛

        Waiting is hard!!!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 18, 2014 at 10:40 am

        I’ll let you know as soon as I know 🙂

         
      • djmatticus

        March 18, 2014 at 10:42 am

        Hahahaha, no worries.
        I’m just being a butt.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 9:39 am

        Sorry to tell you that you didn’t win the writing contest 😦 I’ll post a link to the story tomorrow if I can so everyone can read the winning entry.

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 10:07 am

        Oh no!!!
        Sad, sad, day. 😉

        Can’t wait to read the winning entry. Does that mean I’m safe to post my entry on the kingdom now?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 10:13 am

        By all means post your entry! I thought it was the best story, but I wasn’t judging the competition 😦

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 10:15 am

        Hahaha
        Yeah? Well, you should have been!
        Some silly author… what does he know!? 😛

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

        I know, right? He’s only been published…I dunno…quite a few times. Whatevs 🙂

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 11:43 am

        Exactly.
        Hah!
        So funny.

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 10:28 am

        It’s all political, of course – they wanted someone local to win so they could read their story at the event on Saturday. 😉

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 11:42 am

        Roxy DID want someone local, but I buggered up her plan by not including any address info 🙂 She can’t get a grip on the whole Internet Thing and sometimes I use it to my advantage. I would have suggested a video reading if it wouldn’t have caused her heart to stop 🙂

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 11:45 am

        Hah!!
        Oh my. A video reading, that would have been fun. 😀
        And would have taken all the pressure off of having to read something in front of actual people.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 12:28 pm

        Exactly! You could have rehearsed and filmed a dozen times to get it Just Right 🙂

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 12:43 pm

        I probably would have too. At least a dozen times!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 20, 2014 at 12:50 pm

        I would, too – I mean, if you have the chance for perfection, why not? I’m much more interesting after some rehearsal 🙂

         
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2014 at 12:51 pm

        😀
        Precisely.

         

Leave a Reply

 
