RSS

I did laundry last night…

21 Feb

It’s a party all the time around here, I tellya!

As usual, my laundry accomplishment has a bit of a backstory.

For most of my adult life I rented apartments and did not have a washer & dryer. Going to the laundromat was a weekly event and I was used to it. Some of the apartment complexes had a laundry room, which made it easier, but it was still an ordeal.

When I finally moved into a house with hookups I was thrilled! I would buy a washer & dryer and finally enjoy doing a load of laundry any time I wanted to! And then Captain Bligh started in with his bullshit and rules. I was forced to buy machines that he approved of and was given detailed instructions about how to use them so they would “retain their re-sale value.” He treated me like a child about the whole enterprise and stole all the magic of having these wonder machines in my own home. Since we weren’t living together at the time, I ignored his “instructions” and never did laundry when he was there. It made my blood boil to be treated this way, but like every other time I swallowed my opinion in the hope of keeping the peace.

Then I moved in with him and he informed me of all the New Laundry Rules. His machines were “delicate,” which is code for piece of shit. The cycle selector knob on the washer was gone, making it difficult to set it properly. The septic system was shit, too, so there was no way I could do more than one load a day. There were strict conditions about how much soap and water were to be used and how to sort the clothes. The list went on and on, but of course it was MY job to do the laundry, and I better keep up with it or there would be another lecture about how lazy and irresponsible I was, how I didn’t deserve to live in his house because I wasn’t “contributing [my] share.” As you might guess, the entire time I was with Captain Bligh I never managed to do the laundry correctly, according to him.

Anyway. Roman took me all around town on Saturday in search of my Dream Machines. Turns out they cost considerably more than I thought they would. I had planned to spend my tax refund on a nice set, but they all had too many bells and whistles and I have very specific requirements for my wool sweaters and fleece and was not at all confident they would do the job without making a felted mess. I know, it’s weird, and a long story for another day.

After a day of looking and comparing, we ended up at St. Vinny’s where they had several perfectly good used sets for less than a single new machine and none of them were bristling with electronic controls. Perfect! The machines are donated and then a local crew goes through them top to bottom to make sure they work properly. They then touch up the paint and make sure they have all the hoses, etc. needed to hook them up and they go out onto the floor for sale. Being Scotch, you know I prefer a bargain over a pretty…er…control panel. They even deliver and set them up for a small fee!

The “new” machines were waiting for me when I got home from work last night and I was eager to take them for a spin. What a wonderful thing! I ran two loads and everything worked great! The washer is amazingly quiet and the dryer gets plenty hot enough to get the job done.

It’s the Simple Things in life that push my buttons, that’s a fact! I look forward to many years of doing laundry on my own terms, on my own schedule, and any damn way I want to do it 🙂

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “I did laundry last night…

  1. JackieP

    February 21, 2017 at 7:36 pm

    It’s the little things sometimes. When I was divorced I went through my tiny apartment and stroked everything I had thinking and smiling….’this is MINE…all MINE’.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 22, 2017 at 8:22 am

      I do the same thing! It’s such an empowering feeling, knowing that everything I see and everything I touch is MINE and no one can take it away from me 🙂

       
  2. Kristine @ MumRevised

    February 22, 2017 at 4:03 am

    I wish they would go back to making simple machines! I use one setting and it works just fine. No need to throw in 50 settings that make it more likely to need repair. Wash on girl!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 22, 2017 at 8:29 am

      It’s a racket! Just like adding computers to cars – as consumers we can no longer do any repairs (and even changing the oil is near impossible on some cars if you don’t have a lift) so we are forced to take it to a repair shop, which erodes our independence a little more with each “improvement” to technology. Makes me so mad! We’re being conditioned to be helpless and not think for ourselves and because we’re also conditioned to “upgrade” just about everything in our lives each year, it keeps the money flowing into the pockets of Big Business while we have to take on extra hours just to make ends meet and where was I going with this? Gaaaahhhhh!

       
  3. Fat Bottom Girl

    February 22, 2017 at 10:46 am

    When my front loader shot craps a couple of years ago, I bought an “old school” style machine. It was about $350, and the salesgirl told me her husband was a welder, and she had one of them because they actually get your clothes cleaner. I couldn’t see paying $700 or $800 on another front loader.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 22, 2017 at 11:15 am

      I can’t see paying $700-$800 for ANY washing machine! Then again, I’m Scotch 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
