RSS

No Juan Home

17 May

Juan has gone to Grandma’s to be worked like a rented mule help with yard work for the week, and I feel like I’m on vacation. What a terrible thing to say. Here, take my Mom Card, ‘k?

This song perfectly sums up how I feel about his generation:

I mean, really! Get a fucking job already!

Okay, sorry. I shouldn’t be yelling at my offspring. He’s a Grown Man and can make his own decisions and right now (obviously) he’s still searching for his Dream Job and he won’t take it until he’s absolutely sure it will fulfill his soul.

FML.

Wait. He’s a good kid. I should be happy that he’s not dead or in jail or on drugs or eating kittens for breakfast, right?

Sigh. I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, really I don’t. I’m not wishing any of those things on him.

Mom picked him up yesterday at noon. For the first time in 18 months I went home to an empty house. Er…trailer. The cat greeted me with a chirp and the three of us had a delightful evening alone. I forgot how peaceful my life can be. I forgot how oppressive it can be living in such a tiny space with a person who is not a lover – I mean, I don’t even take my bra off until bedtime because it creeps me out, and that, my friends, is a crime!

No idea where this post was going, so I’ll sign off and get back to work.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “No Juan Home

  1. Holly

    May 18, 2016 at 5:56 am

    I’m there with you, only mine can’t seem to find a job no matter how he tries. Doesn’t help that he doesn’t drive yet, so I guess when he finds one I can complain about chauferring him then. Sigh.

     
  2. Fat Bottom Girl

    May 18, 2016 at 9:52 am

    There are ALWAYS jobs to be had. I think parents make too many excuses for their kids, and I’m lumping myself into that category too.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 18, 2016 at 10:26 am

      It would be easier if he could drive, but there really aren’t many jobs he qualifies for around here, and those generally go to relatives and friends – this is a Very Small Town and we’re not from here and that makes it doubly hard to find work. Of course, he would have to actually TRY harder to be more successful, and that is where we’re butting heads.

      The question is, will I have to move to get him to a place where he can find work more easily? How crazy would that be?

       
      • Fat Bottom Girl

        May 18, 2016 at 11:03 am

        Is he not willing to move for work? Why should you have to move in order for him to get a job if you’re happy there?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        May 18, 2016 at 11:10 am

        He has no money to move on his own. It’s literally like having a teenager at home again – no money, no driver’s license, to motivation to do anything productive. Oh, sure, he’ll do chores if I ask and he has a routine of housework (not done all that well, but better than nothing) but other than that he takes up half the couch and is a constant brooding presence in my space.

        Where was I going with this? Oh, yes, it feels like Mama will have to move house just so her baby bird can be more inspired by his environment and be interested in finding gainful employment and maybe consider moving out on his own.

        He has nothing. He wants nothing. You would think that living in a 30′ travel trailer with your Mama would be Rock Bottom for a 26-year-old man, but evidently he’s perfectly content to let things go on as they have been.

        Shit. I’m getting pissed off all over again just trying to put the situation into words. Grrrrr…..

         
      • Fat Bottom Girl

        May 18, 2016 at 12:41 pm

        Well, you can’t want it for him, and you can’t make him want it. What does his sponsor say??

         
      • Sofia Leo

        May 18, 2016 at 12:54 pm

        Hahahahahahahahaha! Sponser? He’s such a Special Snowflake that meetings would do nothing for him because no one on the face of the planet understands the horrors he’s been through. Nope. Not even gonna try, which means I have the additional role of Booze Police to shoulder. I probably shouldn’t even get started on this subject because I will say all sorts of unkind things and then hire a Dude to drag my trailer to another park before he comes back…

         
      • Fat Bottom Girl

        May 18, 2016 at 1:10 pm

        Oh, my. So he has a case of terminal uniqueness does he?? Sounds like you need some booze! lol

         
      • Sofia Leo

        May 18, 2016 at 2:13 pm

        LOL! I keep telling him that I’ve heard it all before from his father, but he’s not buying it. Yet.

        Sadly, I have to leave all the booze at the Studio and I don’t drink it because I don’t drink and drive. I did take the bottle of rum with me on my weekend away, tho, and finished that sucker off!

         

Leave a Reply

 
