RSS

More Thievery

16 Mar

I have had it with this crappy tweaker town! Came home from work Monday, knackered after the stupid time change, and noticed that Juan’s* bicycle had no seat.

“Huh,” I thought, “that’s pretty clever, him taking the seat inside so it doesn’t get wet…”

The awning has been in these last few months and his bike has been getting soaked but he refused to bring it inside, saying that it would take up too much room. It was chained (with a bright orange logging chain, so the tweakers wouldn’t come right up to the trailer to check) and locked, so the bike itself was pretty safe, just exposed to the weather. I’m a fan of Taking Care of My Shit, so I didn’t like it, but whatever – I didn’t buy it, I don’t own it, therefore it’s not something I need to worry about.

I asked him if he’d taken the seat inside. Nope. He had no idea what I was talking about. A quick trip outside (it was pouring down rain) and he confirmed that the seat had, indeed, been stolen, post and all. The handlebar grips, too.

What the Fuck are people thinking? Where the fuck was the dog that she didn’t bark her head off at the approach of a stranger? Did they kidnap the cat, too – he’s gone AWOL.

So, fine. Last night after work we went in search of a new seat, post and grips. Turns out no place in this hell hole of a town sells bicycle seat posts. Oh, sure, we could have gone to the “used market” with all the bikes parked out front, where we probably would have found his actual seat, but if we had, well, I’d be writing this from jail, and y’all know how terrible I’d look dressed in wide black stripes.

The theft was bad enough, but now I have to make a special trip into Albany (or Corvallis if the Albany bike shop is closed after work today) to get a new seat post so Juan can ride his bike to an interview if he ever gets one oh, my god! I am so done with this Mom Gig I could just scream but I won’t because I’ve been beating (metaphorically) on New Guy all day and I think he might wet himself if I screamed and where was I going with this?

I really don’t need another thing to piss me off right now, but there ya go – the Universe teaching me that People Suck. As if I hadn’t already had my quota of Life Lessons.

*Juan is not his actual name, but I’ve taken to calling him Juan the Houseboy to try to shame him into getting his ass moving towards the door. Sadly, it doesn’t seem to be having the intended effect but I’m stubborn and will continue until I get bored or he gets out or I think up something more humiliating. Suggestions welcome 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 16, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “More Thievery

  1. 1jaded1

    March 16, 2016 at 7:16 pm

    People do.suck.

     

Leave a Reply

 
