RSS

A Typical Work Day

19 Feb

Hot on the heels of my Frustrations post, Aussa posted a snapshot of her typical work day. This post was followed by Goldfish’s Average Day, which looks an awful like mine – not all that strange when you consider we do similar work for (what sounds like) similarly idiotic people.

My day –

0730-ish: Arrive at the office. Leave the dog in the car as an excuse to go outside in an hour.

0732: Make the first of what usually ends up being six cups of hot tea.

0735: Sit down at desk and open web browser. Doesn’t matter what else is on my plate for the day. Those emails won’t answer themselves and if I don’t check up on social media a baby will cry in Japan or something equally horrible.

0830: Retrieve dog from car and walk around the block. If I’m lucky she’ll poop. If I’m unlucky she won’t and will keep up a high-pitched whine for the next 90 minutes until we go out again.

0845: Return to desk. Glance over Work for the day. If it appears it will take longer than 30 minutes to complete, open the relevant files and draw a couple of lines.

0900: Back to the interwebs for inspiration because while I was “working” 827 new ideas flew into my brain.

1000: Walk the dog. Hopefully come away with the prize in the plastic bag if I didn’t on the earlier walk.

1015: Back to my desk and interwebs or Work, depending on which seems more pressing.

1130: Whoa! Lost track of time there! Doesn’t matter, though, because now it’s lunch time πŸ™‚

1230: Back to work. Actually work on assigned project. Get 90% done and await the inevitable changes by micro-managing co-worker. They arrive right on cue at 1330 and I am ready, having refreshed myself by looking at clothes storage ideas on Pinterest.

1345-1400: Make changes micro-managing co-worker took 15 minutes to explain in 3.2 minutes and head outside for a smoke break.

1415: Look around my desk to see if any of the files contain anything interesting to work on. Everything has information pending and nothing is a rush job. Great! Back to the internet, where I write a blog post, work on my website or edit patterns. I feel woefully behind on all the personal stuff I really want to get done, what with all the interruptions throughout the day, none of which are as important as the person harassing me thinks they are.

1530: Time to walk the dog again! If the sun is shining the neighbors will be out and I might get lucky enough to glean some gossip or let someone pet my dog.

1545-1650: Make the last cup of hot tea for the day. Check in with The Boss to make sure he hasn’t thought up something else for me to do. Back at my desk it’s more time wasting after finishing up the work I was expected to finish today. If I get lucky there will be more work tomorrow. If I’m really lucky it will prove to be challenging.

1700: Quitting time! We don’t punch a time clock and I am often the first out the door.

I don’t consider myself exceptionally bright but when held up against the right people I am fucking brilliant and my talents are wasted.

AND I’ll be totally fucked if they’ve installed a keylogger on my computer πŸ™‚

Srsly, I love my job. My co-workers are all wonderful people who just don’t give me much fodder for this here blog. No scandals. No one is hooking up with anyone else in the office. No boozers. No drug users. No sexist assholes. No bad language or inappropriate gossip.

Wait. WTF am I doing at such a boring place? Oh, right – the paycheck.

What does your average day look like?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2015 in Blather, Drafting

 

Tags:

9 responses to “A Typical Work Day

  1. goldfish

    February 19, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Lol.

    “draw a couple of lines.”

    Yup. It seems like or work is similar indeed. πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 19, 2015 at 3:19 pm

      Well, my lines have to be a bit more precise than that, but the surveyors give me these things called “points” so each project starts out as a connect-the-dots puzzle. I add lines over the top to represent the New Stuff the client wants to build and slam-bang! we’ve got a plan. Srsly, that’s what it feels like anymore. I.am.bored.out.of.my.mind.

       
      • goldfish

        February 19, 2015 at 3:22 pm

        Yup. I know the feeling. I’ve been doing this catalog for five years and I can finish the whole thing in one solid week of work. They give me 4-5 weeks to finish it. In one sense, it’s cool that I have a lot of free time, but on the other hand, it would be nice to have a challenge.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        February 19, 2015 at 3:33 pm

        My projects are very similar in workload and timeline. Sigh. A challenge. How nice that would be…

         
      • goldfish

        February 19, 2015 at 3:36 pm

        Indeed.

         
  2. Awana

    February 19, 2015 at 7:31 pm

    Wow….you obviously don’t work in healthcare…I have all your inappropriate people and behaviors in spades….I should be blogging, but I am trying desperately to forget…and I don’t get breaks or lunch…sigh…but I do get gifts in the litterbox.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 20, 2015 at 8:14 am

      LOL! Actually, there have been no gifts in the litterbox for a couple of weeks now – Revy prefers to leave his gifts hidden outside. Hey! He’s learned about Easter egg hunts! Yeah, that’s it! He wants you to have the fun of a treasure hunt πŸ™‚

       
  3. Aussa Lorens

    February 23, 2015 at 4:44 am

    Oh my goodness, a keylogger. Imagine… whoever had the ability to install and monitor those would definitely need to blog about their findings.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 23, 2015 at 9:33 am

      I almost installed one on the narc’s computer, just so I could blog about his crap but in the end decided that it would just make me more angry and I didn’t have a friend to help me dispose of his body πŸ™‚

      FYI there are several places online to get a keylogger and remote monitoring if you need that sort of service. It’s cheap, too…

       

Leave a Reply

 
