RSS

Share Your World – Weeks 45 & 46

19 Nov

Things have been a little busy around here so you’re gonna get a two-fer today. Thank you for stopping by for the latest edition of Cee’s Share Your World Challenge.

Last week’s questions:

What is your favorite color? 

Reddish Orange. Anything on the warm side of the color wheel, actually. The cool colors do nothing for me.

color-wheelIn what do you find the simplest of joys?

Simple comforts bring me the most joy. A hot cup of tea sipped under a hand-made quilt on a cold day. A bubble bath in a claw footed tub. The first pot of potato soup of the season.

Would you prefer a reading nook or an art, craft, photography studio?

Studio for sure. A reading nook can always be carved out of any corner 🙂

What is at least one of your favorite quotes?

“Not my circus, not my monkeys.” No idea who said it, but it perfectly sums up my philosophy about crazy/disordered/lazy people and the drama they try to rope others into.

This week’s questions:

On a vacation what you would require in any place that you sleep? 

A horizontal surface. Srsly. I’m like those dolls with the movable eyes – lay me down and my eyes close and I’m asleep. I would prefer an absence of bugs and vermin but would likely fall asleep anyway.

Music or silence while working?

For brain work, silence. For physical stuff, music, suited to the task – something rocking if it’s a hard job, something classical if the job requires fine motor control.

If you were to move and your home came fully furnished with everything you ever wanted, list at least three things from your old house you wish to retain?

Granny’s old chrome & Formica kitchen table

table

This color, very similar in shape

Granny’s old Army trunk bought new in 1942 –

il_570xN.303988101

Very much like this one.

And the two folding kitchen chairs I restored last Summer –

100_3295I don’t really have anything else that might be classified as “furniture…”

What’s your least favorite mode of transportation?

Anything that runs on diesel fuel. The smell nauseates me.

That’s all I have for today. We’ve been having some very cold weather and it’s kept me busy and tired all the time. I’ll have a Real Post up soon-ish. Probably.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2014 in Memes, Share Your World

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Share Your World – Weeks 45 & 46

  1. NotAPunkRocker

    November 19, 2014 at 6:46 am

    OH, I love that table set! They don’t make them like that anymore, for sure, then add your memories and I can see why you would want to take it with you 🙂

    The horizontal surface/baby doll reference is a tad bit creepy, but that is because I am going to think that when I lay down from now on LOL.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      My grandparents bought it new in 1953, according to Mom who would have been four at the time. The chairs are long gone but the table is in remarkable shape. When we were very small, Sis and I would play under there, turning around and around the middle bar like gymnasts while Mom and Granny talked over cups of tea. Just the other day I was crawling around under it, trying to reach something that had fallen behind (thanks a lot, cat!) and found myself wondering how I was ever that small.

      Sorry for the creepy doll reference (are there any dolls that AREN’T creepy!) but it’s true. Lay me down and I fall asleep very quickly.

       
  2. Cee Neuner

    November 19, 2014 at 9:01 am

    I really enjoyed reading your responses for this week’s SYW. Thanks.

     
  3. Scott

    November 19, 2014 at 10:59 am

    I real post!! Wooooooooot!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      Yeah…yawn! There’s just not much of note going on here that I can post about. Oh, there’s plenty of Blog Fodder, but IRL people need to be warned first. Hi, Mom!

       
  4. lingeringvisions by Dawn

    November 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    Nice army trunk!

     

Leave a Reply

 
