RSS

25 Songs, 25 Days – Day Eighteen

18 May

Day eighteen – a song that you love but rarely listen to.

There are many that would fit today’s theme, but in the interest of making you scratch your heads at my schizophrenic musical tastes, here’s an oldy from Garth Brooks, Ireland. I couldn’t find a YouTube version actually sung by Garth, but this one is pretty good –

I hear Garth is coming out of retirement. I wonder what the face of country music will look like after he remodels it yet again…

Being of Scotch/Irish decent, this song has always resonated with me, making the hair stand up on my arms every time I hear it. I’ve not traveled overseas yet, but someday I hope to see the Emerald Isle.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2014 in Memes, Music

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “25 Songs, 25 Days – Day Eighteen

  1. Twindaddy

    May 18, 2014 at 8:02 am

    I read that he was going to make a new album, but that he wouldn’t be touring. That was a while ago, though.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 19, 2014 at 1:06 pm

      I think he’ll be touring in Ireland at least. I admit I don’t keep up on ‘concert news’ because I don’t go to concerts…

       
      • Twindaddy

        May 19, 2014 at 2:49 pm

        I don’t keep up with this sort of news, either.

         
  2. scottishmomus

    May 18, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    I’m hoping to head there (by ferryboat) this summer for the first time ever. I’ve always wanted to visit and an old friend of mine from school days lives there. Fingers crossed it comes off. Being Scots with Irish a few generations back I feel something of a call myself. This song reminds me of so many of the Irish tunes I grew up with. Great choice. I hope you make it there too.x

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 19, 2014 at 1:05 pm

      At least you’re closer and have a better chance of getting there 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
