RSS

25 Songs, 25 Days – Day Eight

08 May

Day Eight – a song that reminds you of your “first love”

That would be my first husband. God. He was a disaster and I was going to save him. He was such a tortured soul, sooooo mis-understood, no one loved him, weep, moan, fake tears.

I can look back on it all now with the cynicism of my years, but at the time it was intense, True Love. I was going to love him so much that he would straighten up, fly right and live up to his potential. I was going to be a hero!

Yeah. Didn’t work out that way at all and I ended up running for my life, toddler and dog in tow, praying he would be too busy finding his next fix to track me down and kill me like he’d promised to do if I ever left.

Nickelback’s Just to Get High is his song –

As far as I know he’s still alive. I like to think if I ever saw him again I would do him some sort of physical harm as a little payback for the things he did to me, but I would probably just duck behind a corner and hope he didn’t see me…

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2014 in Memes, Music

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “25 Songs, 25 Days – Day Eight

  1. NotAPunkRocker

    May 8, 2014 at 7:05 am

    I know how you feel about what you would do if you see him again.

    For the record, I am liking this post in solidarity with you, not because of the band 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 8, 2014 at 8:50 am

      People either love or hate Nickelback. I like some of their stuff, but hate some, too. This song never fails to remind me of my ex, though.

       
  2. Twindaddy

    May 8, 2014 at 7:56 am

    I’m trying to figure out what Star Wars has anything to do with this song…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 8, 2014 at 8:49 am

      Nothing at all, but I couldn’t find a video of the band performing this one. Thought you might appreciate a little SW reference 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        May 8, 2014 at 8:50 am

        Oh, I love it, but was still bewildered by the inclusion.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        May 8, 2014 at 8:50 am

        Gotta settle with what ya get on the YouTubes some days 🙂

         
  3. Christina

    May 8, 2014 at 9:20 am

    glad you’ve rid yourself of him

     
  4. El Guapo

    May 8, 2014 at 10:22 am

    I pick B. No point putting yourself at risk, and you’re living a pretty god life of your own making now.
    It’s the best revenge.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      May 11, 2014 at 6:58 am

      Living well is the best revenge, it’s true, but I can’t help but wish for at least some painful boils for him. Something! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
