RSS

A tea drinker in the land of the coffee bean

14 Mar

Amanda asked me the other day what kind of tea I like. She orders supplies for the office and thought it would be nice if the office bought me some tea since they supply the coffee and fixin’s for the rest of the office. Oh, sure, there are usually some dusty “tea”bags* up in the cupboard, but I generally bring my own because I’m picky that way.

Darjeeling is my favorite,” I replied.

Total blank look. “I have no idea what that is…”

“It’s a type of black tea, grown in India…” I cut off my explanation because she doesn’t care** and won’t remember anyway. “English Breakfast is another good choice…”

“I’ll see what I can find online,” she said and skipped off.

I forgot about it until last week when she said to me, “Sofia! I ordered tea for you!” with a smile that ensured I would have to be on my best behavior or risk crushing her into little bits.

Sigh. Indeed, she had ordered tea. Some of it is actually Camellia sinensis, but much of it is not. Was there any Darjeeling on the shelf? Nope. There is, however, a box of Devonshire English Breakfast tea. Sigh. Devonshire, Darjeeling…close right?

Don’t get me wrong – the gesture was wonderful. The execution, however…I should be used to this – coffee drinkers don’t see the point of tea and don’t bother to learn anything about it. Sigh. I get it. I don’t like it, but I am resigned.

* Herbal “tea” is not, in fact, tea – it’s an Herbal Infusion and there isn’t a bit of caffeine in it, putting it in the category of Shit I Would Never Ingest. I mean, if there’s no caffeine, what’s the point? Besides, they all make my tongue feel furry and that just sucks.

** She’s very good at her job, sweet and easy to work with, but she’s a Coffee Drinker and while she can remember the vente-mocha-foama-gross-a favorite of every employee in the office, tea means nothing to her.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2014 in Food & Drink, right?

 

Tags:

17 responses to “A tea drinker in the land of the coffee bean

  1. maryisidra

    March 14, 2014 at 7:50 am

    Ok I had to laugh at this. I am a “bidrinker” . I enjoy both the bean and the leaf. At times a cup of herb also works. Peppermint is great for a cold. Anyway try a subtle education and make her a good cup of “real” tea and show her the wonders of the leaf. Just a thought.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 14, 2014 at 8:56 am

      I applaud your open-mindedness! I doubt very much Amanda would ever drink tea, even as a favor – she’s addicted to her bean.

       
  2. overitblogdotcom

    March 14, 2014 at 7:59 am

    To be honest, I’m a tea drinker like you and I honestly can give a “java bean” to what coffee drinkers like. Just ask my kid, I got the death stare when I bought my kid a jar of instant coffee,,,lol.

     
  3. Twindaddy

    March 14, 2014 at 8:44 am

    Coffeh!!

     
  4. JackieP

    March 14, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    I go either way, but prefer coffee. But I do know my tea. lol

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 17, 2014 at 7:41 am

      Bravo to you for being so open minded 🙂

       
  5. goldfish

    March 14, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    I bring my own coffee to work because I’m very picky about my coffee. I love tea and Darjeeling is one of my favorites, too, but I find that I need the specific brand of caffeine contained in coffee to make it through a work day.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 17, 2014 at 7:42 am

      I would probably feel the same about coffee, but I can’t get past the taste – I drink 6-8 cups throughout the day just to stay upright 🙂

       
  6. behindthemask

    March 14, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    I like coffeh in the morning but that’s the only caffeine I can have after that it’s decaf tea the rest of the day. 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 17, 2014 at 7:42 am

      How do you manage to stay awake?

       
      • behindthemask

        March 17, 2014 at 7:46 am

        I’m not half as busy as you. 😉

         
      • behindthemask

        March 17, 2014 at 7:46 am

        Oh and I get a fair amount of sleep.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 17, 2014 at 8:07 am

        You obviously need a kitten in your life 🙂

         
      • behindthemask

        March 17, 2014 at 8:17 am

        Nooooo!! A dog and snake are enough!

         
  7. Awana

    March 15, 2014 at 3:01 am

    Well, when I am not going through the elaborate ritual to make good coffee in the am, I am drinking loose Irish Breakfast from Oceana. However, when busy, remember the Royal Tea from Newman’s Own is not bad for a bag! And herbals are good when you can’t have caffeine—you just have to find a good one! Like Safari Spice from Celestial Seasonings—contains the latest discovered fruit on earth! AND…it is always fresh—nothing worse than stale tea….ick….

    IMHO–People need to get back to light roasts…..

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 17, 2014 at 7:43 am

      If it doesn’t have caffeine I don’t want it! I know some people have times when they can’t have caffeine, but I’m not one of them! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
