RSS

Another battle lost…

13 Mar

Revy, being a smarter-than-average cat, has learned a new trick. You see, he has very definite preferences when it comes to dry food – he only wants Purina Kitten Chow. Not the organic, no colors added, all natural ingredients kibble. Not the store brand kibble. ONLY Purina Kitten Chow. The dog has had more than her fair share of rejected cat food mixed in with her Science Diet (not that she cares – she’ll eat anything) and I have agreed to feed the cat what he prefers in the interest of not giving the dog the runs.

The other day the store was out of PKC and I didn’t want to make another stop, so I brought home a bag of Purina CAT Chow. It’s not the same, obviously. In fact, it’s a personal affront if you’re Revy the RV Cat.

He was completely out of his preferred kibble, so I poured the new kibble into his bowl (which sits atop the counter in the back room. This will become relevant in a minute) and stood back, awaiting his judgement.

One sniff and he gave me the Look of Death.

“They were out of Kitten Chow. You’ll have to make do until I go to the store again. Suck it up, Princess,” I said and walked away.

He scooped all the kibble out onto the counter and ran in to tell me his bowl was empty. Again.

I put the kibble back and told him it wouldn’t kill him to eat something different for a couple of days.

He scooped it out again. I put it back. He scooped it out. And so on for two days.

On the evening of the third day I noticed the counter was clean and the bowl was empty. Revy was hungry so I filled his bowl again. He gave me the Death Stare but I was unmoved. I walked away, figuring he’d been eating it and probably wouldn’t starve before I could get to the store.

A little while later, I was sitting on the couch knitting a hat when I heard crunching noises. A quick look around revealed that the dog was not in the room. More crunching noises.

I heaved a big sigh and took myself off to the back room where I beheld an amazing sight.

Revy was perched on the counter, a mess of dry kibble all around, his empty dish behind him. Sabu was sitting in front of the counter, looking attentively at the cat. If that doesn’t strike fear into the heart of a dog owner, I don’t know what will!

Revy gave me the Death Stare, reached out his little white paw, flung a single cat kibble onto the floor and sat back to watch the show. Sabu pounced on the kibble, crunched it down in two bites, sat again and looked expectantly at the cat.

Right. That explains why the counter was so clean – seems Sabu has been putting her front feet up there and licking the counter, scraping all the dried kibble up and licking out Revy’s bowl. All with full agreement from that damned cat! How long has this been going on? Why did I not notice sooner? WTF?

You know what I did? I went to the store and came home with a bag of PKC, that’s what I did, because evidently everything else is only fit to feed to the dog. What’s next?

 
40 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Cats, Crazy, Dogs, Stuff that Pisses Me Off!

 

Tags: , , ,

40 responses to “Another battle lost…

  1. NotAPunkRocker

    March 13, 2014 at 6:46 am

    I’m laughing at the picture, but I feel your pain. One cat doesn’t care what they get, the other is such a PITA about it.

    I keep telling myself they are older and can’t help it, but there are only so many times I can grit my teeth and say things like that.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:07 am

      I don’t know where he dreams this shit up. I swear, he could be online right now while I’m at work getting advise about how to control his human slave! After this stunt I wonder what’s next…

       
  2. El Guapo

    March 13, 2014 at 7:35 am

    Revy will have you trained soon enough…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:11 am

      I’m working on the design for his new catio in the hope that I can have it built this month so he can go outside whenever he wants. I’m sure he will demand expansions, but maybe it will appease him for a little while…

       
      • El Guapo

        March 13, 2014 at 10:12 am

        I’m sure he’ll be fine as long as you accomadate his wishes! 😉

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 13, 2014 at 10:14 am

        I’ll do my best. Having a meeting on Sunday with people who can Make it Happen. I’ll document the build over at Travels with Towanda. I’m sure hilarity will ensue…

         
  3. overitblogdotcom

    March 13, 2014 at 8:07 am

    That’s hiliarious!
    Just remember how cute he looks when he’s sleeping beside you and purring.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:11 am

      His cuteness is the only reason he’s still alive 🙂

       
  4. behindthemask

    March 13, 2014 at 8:16 am

    Frustrating but funny at the same time! Does Revy know that he’s a cat? Wow!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:12 am

      Revy is the Supreme Overlord. His species is irrelevant – the only thing that matters is that ALL creatures bow down to King Revy!

       
      • behindthemask

        March 13, 2014 at 10:17 am

        It sounds like a conspiracy to me…lol

        All hairball King Revy

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 13, 2014 at 10:20 am

        It is! I’m doomed to a life of servitude…

         
      • behindthemask

        March 13, 2014 at 10:43 am

        Oh no, he must be stopped, overthrown..lol

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 13, 2014 at 10:46 am

        Yeah. Are YOU going to lead the insurrection? Frankly, I’m too scared to try it. Revy is fierce and determined to have his way. It’s exhausting!

         
      • behindthemask

        March 13, 2014 at 10:57 am

        Ha as long as it doesn’t start before 9 am I can lead it! 😉

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 13, 2014 at 10:58 am

        The Evil Overlord is up at 0530, so I guess that leaves you out?

         
      • behindthemask

        March 13, 2014 at 11:02 am

        I fear I might be more evil than he, if I were up that early…lol

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 13, 2014 at 11:10 am

        Hahahahaha! At that hour he employs tactics guaranteed to demoralize you – it starts with the purring, then the little pokes with the claws, then stomping on whatever part of you he can while meow-ing loudly, and finally he wakes up the dog because there is no denying a 50-pound dog who wants her breakfast.

        He then leads the way into the kitchen, knocking over anything he can reach in order to make you trip, crying like his tail is in fire the entire time.

        Once breakfast is served there is a short respite which ends once you’re in the shower – he likes to perch on top of the door and bat at the water coming from the shower head, narrowly missing your face.

        Once 0715 rolls around it’s time for his nap, so maybe there’s a window of opportunity there…

         
      • behindthemask

        March 13, 2014 at 11:21 am

        Oh man,I think it would end at the purring for me with an unhappy cat outside! lol

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 14, 2014 at 8:50 am

        I would have done that, but it’s not safe for him outside alone and if he got run over or something I just couldn’t live with myself.

         
      • behindthemask

        March 14, 2014 at 9:00 am

        I guess a create or leash wouldn’t help?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 14, 2014 at 9:05 am

        Tried the crate – he cries at an ear-splitting volume every minute and I can’t sleep through that. Even if the crate was outside it wouldn’t cut the noise much – travel trailers aren’t exactly sound proof. He took his second walk with harness and leash outside yesterday after work and it went very well. I hope to build him a catio before long so he can take his excess energy outside where it’s safe.

         
      • behindthemask

        March 14, 2014 at 9:15 am

        It sounds like you’ve thought of everything. You’re a stronger person that I. I would be in tears.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 14, 2014 at 9:17 am

        LOL! I’m too tired to cry…

         
      • behindthemask

        March 14, 2014 at 10:36 am

        I understand!

         
  5. JackieP

    March 13, 2014 at 9:37 am

    LOL that is funny! I’m sorry. I feel your pain as I have a cat that will eat nothing but Purina Cat chow for indoor cats. And another cat that will get things down from places for the other cat. One is a princess the other a goffer. I tell you animals are funny and frustrating at the same time.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:13 am

      It IS totally hilarious. Unless you live here. Then it’s annoying. Cute, but annoying.

       
  6. Awana

    March 13, 2014 at 10:17 am

    They own you, bitch…you are so doomed…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 13, 2014 at 10:21 am

      I am…Those Cute Moments make the pain recede. Mostly.

       
  7. djmatticus

    March 13, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Aren’t kitties the best?!
    Luckily, our two cats haven’t ever been picky about what they ate. Thank goodness for small miracles.
    Oh my. What a mess… I guess she’s got you trained not to run out of the PKC, but, now you’ll have to wonder if she is eating all her food anyway or sharing it with the dog… Or… what else she is sharing with the dog…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 14, 2014 at 8:52 am

      He and the dog are Best Pals so I’m sure he “shares” much more than I know about. I do try to keep the litterbox inaccessible, though 🙂

       
      • djmatticus

        March 14, 2014 at 8:53 am

        Ew.
        And, smart.
        Happy Friday!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 14, 2014 at 8:56 am

        Yeah. Sabu is That Kind of Dog. Gag! Happy Friday to you, too!

         
  8. Twindaddy

    March 13, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Cats are divas, I’m telling you…

     
  9. Pippa Pirrip

    March 13, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Have you tried mixing the PKC with something else? Or are you just going to give up & accept his wishes? (I’ve given into far worse demands from my dog- you won’t get any judgement here!)

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 14, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Of course I mixed the new and old foods. He picked out every piece of the PKC, leaving the unacceptable food behind. Sigh. I’ve caved. He can have whatever kind of food he wants and I will be very careful to keep it in stock 🙂

       
      • Pippa Pirrip

        March 14, 2014 at 3:21 pm

        I LOLed, I was wondering if he was a picker! That’s hilarious! (for me, since I’m not the one dealing with the mess!)

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 17, 2014 at 7:42 am

        It IS pretty funny. If you don’t live here…

         

Leave a Reply

 
