RSS

Monday Morning Madness

24 Feb

My eyes snapped open before the alarm this morning. I couldn’t breathe. My heart started to race as I tried to drag in some air around a huge obstruction. Raising my hands to my throat, I encountered a mass of fur that wasn’t there when I went to sleep. It felt like a hairy snake and immediately began to purr. Seems Revy decided to sleep across my neck, sprawled out with his belly resting right on top of my windpipe.

This shouldn’t have been possible, seeing as how I’m normally a side sleeper, but obviously the new bed is comfortable enough that I turn onto my back at the same hour Revy decides to start his wake-up routine. Threat of suffocation is, evidently, the latest in a long line of tactics designed to steal my sleep and get kibble into his bowl in the least amount of time. Guess this means I better not drink before bed or maybe I won’t wake up in the morning.

Spring is in the air and it was a very busy weekend. Thursday, Friday and Saturday saw me awake at 0530. Wide awake and listening to the birds outside. Revy is beside himself with joy. Apparently, his training methods are finally paying off and breakfast is being served on time.

I sewed up a bed for the dog, low in the center with a soft, raised edge, something I thought I could use as a training tool to make her be still instead of barking and having a fit when someone approaches the trailer. You know, train her to act like a Real Dog? As you can see, it was not received as planned:

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERARevy finds it perfect – a fort to defend against canine insurgents, a bathing platform and soft bed to sprawl upon after racing around like a maniac. The dog has been exiled to whatever small space she can find:

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA The good news is that the furniture is finally arranged to my liking and the silver insulation has been removed from the windows, letting in the beautiful Spring sunshine. Of course, the brisk Spring breezes now have easier access, but one has to take the good with the not-so-good, no?

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2014 in Cats, Dogs, Happy, RV Living

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Monday Morning Madness

  1. Awana

    February 24, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    What a luxurious cat bed you made! Maybe Sabu just needs a pillow…

     
  2. behindthemask

    February 24, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    The adventures of Revy and Sabu! Never a dull moment. I often wonder how you function on such little sleep.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 25, 2014 at 8:12 am

      The new bed is helping a lot – I seem to be refreshed after 7-8 hours and am actually feeling pretty good. Starting to come out of the sleep deprivation fog. It could be the onset of Spring, though – I always feel good this time of year.

       
      • behindthemask

        February 25, 2014 at 8:18 am

        Whatever it is that’s good and yes bring on spring! Around here it’s -33 but one can hope it will be soon!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        February 25, 2014 at 8:29 am

        Spring seems a bit early here, but the air is definitely warmer, that bite of cold is gone. The trees are budding out and the bulbs are coming up, the daffies almost in bloom. I forgot how nice Spring is here 🙂

         
      • behindthemask

        February 25, 2014 at 8:53 am

        Wow! You really are at spring! Up here winters are longer. This year the snow started in Nov. it probably won’t end until the end of March.

        Last year the snow started in Oct.

         
  3. Twindaddy

    February 25, 2014 at 7:01 am

    That is why I don’t like cats…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 25, 2014 at 8:13 am

      Revy is the first cat I’ve lived with who seems out to kill me. Guess I was spoiled with Good Cats in the past. Sabu does her best to keep him in line by holding him down and torturing him, but early morning she’s in total agreement – let’s get breakfast on the table!

       
      • Twindaddy

        February 25, 2014 at 8:41 am

        Ha! They’re in cahoots!

         

Leave a Reply

 
