RSS

Snow Day :-)

06 Feb

The weathertards have been predicting today’s “weather event” for almost a week. Everyone with any sort of connection to the outside world knew that frigid temps with moisture would be moving into the area the latter part of this week, most likely Thursday. The news has been blasted on radio, TV, social media and a million other online sources.

Right this moment a local “news” reporter is interviewing a Darwin award contender who is wearing a thin coat and has no gloves or hat, shivering at a very crowded bus stop while waiting for his ride home. Dude is clueless. Really? The reporter asked him if he expected “this” when he left home this morning. Dude says, “No. Not at all…” Srsly? At least he’s not driving!

Even if you spent the last week in a media blackout, not speaking to anyone at all, away from all places where people gather, one step outside should have warned you that something was afoot. The freezing of your nose hairs, the lowering steel gray sky, the absence of heavy traffic where once there was a jam, the lack of birds in the sky, something!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAThe snow had started and a scant inch was on the ground when I left for work this morning. The difference between me and That Guy? I knew my work day would be cut short and I went prepared for pretty much anything.

I would have stayed home but The Boss got back from his Hawaiian vacation today and I knew it would be a good idea to check in with him and make sure my projects were running smoothly. All is well and I joked with him at about 0800, asking how much snow had to be on the ground before he sent us all home. “Whenever you feel uncomfortable about staying…” was his answer. Okie-dokie! I am Miss Dedication today! He called the game by 1115 🙂 Even if he hadn’t, I could have abandoned my car to the tweakers and walked home.

Note to my co-worker who should know better: Dude. Get some chains for your car or stay home.

Being of above average intelligence (obviously) I went to the grocery store last night, before the snow started to fly, and stocked up on perishables so I wouldn’t need to leave Towanda at all should staying in become necessary. I’ve got rum, pepsi, chocolate and assorted other foodstuffs that are healthier. Let it snow! I’m ready.

If the office is closed tomorrow I will stay home and cook up a pot of spaghetti sauce and finally get the vacuuming done. Mo told me Wednesday she will not be opening the yarn shop Friday or Saturday so there’s no good reason for me to go over to the Studio. She lives quite a ways out of town and at a higher elevation – her alpacas will need her if their water freezes up.

Sabu is over the moon with all the white stuff, capering about like a puppy, getting snowballs in her feet and refusing to shake off the flakes until she gets inside. No matter – the dehumidifier is running and all is well.

The outside temp is 20* F at the  moment and falling. A light snow is falling from a surprisingly light sky. The one thing I love about a good snowfall is how it lights up everything, even at night. It’s quite pretty, actually. I may change my mind about the beauty if the water pipes freeze up, however. The furnace is set at 60* (Awana just shivered 🙂 Being from Mississippi she does not handle this kind of cold well) and it’s warm enough inside, sitting on the couch under the newest quilt with a cup of tea, waiting for Under the Gunn to come on. Life is good!

Be warm and be well, everyone!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2014 in Crazy, Dogs, RV Living, Weather, You're kidding

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Snow Day :-)

  1. Awana

    February 6, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Hey! Only 4 inches over here, but enough trouble for me–yeah, I couldn’t get the inside temp above 67, but hey!!! I am not frozen up! Yay for the Artic Package! However, the water hose almost froze up when I fell asleep after I got home, so run, run, Rhonda with the water! Yikes!! Glad I added that extra insulation. WEll, hopefully the bad part will end before the coffe milk runs out, but then it will be toast and tea with the knitting until all is well again! You know, life is good, even though I have to be reminded of it from time to time. Did you remember the towel on your window??? I got to work in record time despite the weather!

     
  2. Twindaddy

    February 7, 2014 at 6:40 am

    Rum! You got the essentials. Anything more is a bonus.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 7, 2014 at 7:14 am

      Got my priorities straight! Oh, canned cat food and dog kibble are stocked up, too, just in case they fear they won’t ever get another meal as I’m passed out on the couch in a rum-scented haze…

       
      • Twindaddy

        February 7, 2014 at 7:17 am

        Mmmm……rummmmmmmm

         
  3. Gail

    February 7, 2014 at 9:19 am

    I love reading your post… Thank you 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
