RSS

A little slice of life ’round here

20 Jan

Getting used to the “new” camera. Strange that it can shoot video in low light but not stills, but that’s a post for another day. This is what the evenings look like around here –

After they’re done wrestling I go around and pick up all the stuff they knocked down. Sigh. It’s a bit wearing, but it’s also a lot of fun to watch. They’re the very best of friends and I wish they could go outside together to really rip it up.

Today marks my one year anniversary! At 11:45 AM on January 20, 2013 I drove away from the narc’s house with the last of the stuff I couldn’t live without. I have lived one year under my own roof without the influence of the narc on my everyday routine. The video above would not have been possible while living with the narc, as joy was not permitted unless it was his own.

So many wonderful things have happened over the past year and I have been so blessed in every way. The narc was truly a millstone around my neck, holding me back from using my full potential to create the life that would enable me to be happy and fulfilled.

To all of you in abusive relationships: there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Be brave. Throw off your shackles and walk into the light. It’s hard. It sucks. It’s scary. But it’s worth every hardship to live a life free of abuse.

Life is good! 27 irons in the fire, all of them glowing brightly, lighting my path to happiness. Thank you all for joining me on this journey 🙂

 
27 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Cats, Crazy, Dogs, RV Living

 

Tags: , , , ,

27 responses to “A little slice of life ’round here

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 20, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Happy narc freeaversary!! Is that you playing the violin in the video?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

      The song is a recording of “Sheebeg and Sheemore” played by my fiddle teacher. I can play this song, but not while filming 🙂 Now that I have video capabilities once again you can look forward (!!!) to some fiddlin’ vids when the weather improves 🙂

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        January 20, 2014 at 11:27 am

        That’s so cool! I will look forward to the fiddlin vids!!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 30, 2014 at 8:16 pm

        Just as soon as life slows down a bit.

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        January 30, 2014 at 8:42 pm

        😉

         
  2. Pippa Pirrip

    January 20, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Happy Anniversary!

     
  3. Kim13

    January 20, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    Happy anniversary and congrats! You are so brave, so strong…you encourage me every day. What an amazing life you have now! Hugs 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      I do have an amazing life and I’m grateful every day. Even on those mornings the cat is racing around making me crazy 🙂

       
  4. Twindaddy

    January 20, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Congrats, Sofia. You are awesome!

     
  5. Ann Koplow

    January 20, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    Congratulations, and I enjoyed watching this video of your two furry friends and listening to the fiddling, too.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      Thank you for stopping by!

       
  6. aislinmuirhead

    January 20, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    Yay You! Big congrats!

     
  7. Jenny Sheppard

    January 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Congrats on one year of Bliss, this month marks 30 yrs since the death of my stillborn daughter and my Narc walking out on me the day I came home from the Hospital and reality slapped me in the face to start my new life without the two of them. There IS a light at the end of the tunnel for sure. I am proof of that for sure. I look back on how I let him control me and never having a voice, how he flaunted his affair in my face, the pain of losing a child and having to make all the arrangements myself. He didn’t even go to the grave let alone put one penny towards her burial and he told my oldest daughter last month he never wanted that baby ( it wasn’t part of his plan when he left me) ….guess that answered my question if he had ever put flowers on her grave- NO!! He verbally and physically abused me but the emotional abuse really took it’s toll thinking I was not a worthy person. I look now and see how rich my life is now without all that drama and that horrible person. I took 10 yrs to get my priorities back on track and be a better person, confidant with myself and have a better life, a better mother before I agreed to be a wife again. My new husband was total opposite of my Narc. Feels good that when he walks in the door I am not scared, if I want to stay up all night and be artistic he does not mind and lets me sleep in. He lets me do what I want and does not flip me crap if I don’t want to clean the house or whatever like the Narc did. Recently my daughter said my X was mad on the phone with her and said I have been a Negative & Vile person for 30 yrs. The old me would have been hurt he could say such a thing but the confidant person I am now just laughs because his daughter has finally figured out what her dad is and put her foot down and said stay away from her kids because NOONE was going to hurt her kids!!! The circle of abuse is breaking and I am so proud of her standing her ground to protect her kids so THEY do not become bullies, daughter made it clear her son will not abuse women and her daughter will not let anyone push her around!! X husband but more than likely his wife is haunted that their dirty deeds are now coming to the surface and THEY do not want the grandkids to know the real truth!!
    It’s called Karma!! I also think it was because last Sept I told the X-husbands wife off and she is still steaming that I told the truth about her ( felt good to finally have a voice and say what I have wanted to say for 30 yrs!!- felt good actually LOL) X and his wife are true Narcissistic people and I am SO glad I do not have to deal with them anymore!! I have a gut feeling my daughter shares the same feelings now that she truly understands Narcissistic people.

    Life is too short to be unhappy and if we have to recreate our lives to find that happiness then the pain of starting over is worth it when we find total bliss in our lives.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:18 pm

      You’ve hoed a hard row, Jenny, and it hasn’t done anything but make you shine! You’re an inspiration and proof that I can have a better life far into my future 🙂

       
  8. El Guapo

    January 20, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    Love the view of a relaxed household one year later!
    And glad to see you’re rocking (fiddling) on!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      We are pretty relaxed around here now. No worries and lots of music.

       
  9. Awana

    January 20, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    Hey! THanks for lettin’ me be a part!! Guess I didn’t know it at the time, but it has been great for me, too!! I have learned a lot; some of it I wish I could unlearn, but there ya’ go…onward and upward!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      He who stops learning, dies. Your time is coming and you will be free, too 🙂

       
  10. Aussa Lorens

    January 21, 2014 at 6:36 am

    This is awesome! Congrats on the full year– it only gets better and better.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 30, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      It does get better and better. Hard to even remember clearly the crap of 2012!

       
      • Aussa Lorens

        January 30, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        Giiiirrrrl my two year is in a couple days. Huzzah!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 31, 2014 at 9:45 am

        Conga-rats! Will you do anything with that old cello in celebration? 🙂

         
      • Aussa Lorens

        January 31, 2014 at 9:48 am

        Ha! I should…. I could fix it and then play a celebratory song.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

        There ya go!

         

Leave a Reply

 
