RSS

Can I get a nap?

09 Jan

Minus the Holiday music, this what nighttime sounds like around here –

I wish I was kidding.

I thought this little problem had been solved when I chanced upon an unlikely combination of a little wood crate atop a plastic bin placed in front of the back window where Revy eats. He moved right into the crate and laid there all evening and into the night, patiently staring out the window. He allowed me to sleep through the night and I awoke Monday morning refreshed, sense of humor restored.

I may have shared my cleverness with a couple of people out of sheer joy caused by having an uninterrupted night’s sleep. Obviously that was a BIG mistake.

Monday evening shaped up to be much like Sunday and I was hopeful of getting more hours of peaceful slumber. Revy had been up torturing the dog and then retired to his crate in the back room and I settled down for a long night’s sleep, smug at how the whole Revy Issue had been resolved.

I finally gave up on sleeping at 0500 Tuesday morning. Revy’s evening napping had paid off and he was ready to Par-Taaaayyyyy! Fuck.

Tuesday evening I tried to wear him out, even encouraging Sabu to chase him around a bit. He retired to his crate in the back room, cozy and content.

I finally gave up on sleep at 0415 Wednesday morning. The whole trailer reeked of the vinegar water I’d been forced to spray as that damned cat jumped on the counter; tried to uproot the plants; clawed on the screen door, ottoman, storage baskets, rug and couch; fished my shoes out of their hiding place so he could rip the insoles out; splashed his water bowl in the bath sink and took everything small enough for him to carry out of the kitchen sink, stampeding it into the back room.

Last night I locked him into the back room when he wouldn’t settle down by 2300. He banged the door, howled and knocked shit around all night long. All night. I don’t know if I got more or less sleep. I did not get out of bed until the alarm went off, however, hopefully not rewarding him for his bad behavior with breakfast.

He may find himself outside in the rain if I don’t get sleep soon.

Just shoot me now.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Cats, Crazy, Stuff that Pisses Me Off!

 

Tags: , ,

21 responses to “Can I get a nap?

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 9, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    Oh my goodness, I would go nuts!

     
  2. djmatticus

    January 9, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Poor kitty. Just wants someone to play… all night long. Our cats used to do that too. But, now they both settle down and sleep most of the night through with us. So, there is hope.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 9, 2014 at 2:31 pm

      He gets plenty of play time in the evenings. Really. He takes a nice nap from 8-10 PM and then is raging all night long. Weekends I try to keep him up during the day, but when he’s worn out he just collapses and there’s no getting him going until he has a nap. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a kitten. How many years before he gets fat and lazy?

       
      • djmatticus

        January 9, 2014 at 2:39 pm

        Soon. Very soon. You’ve only got a couple years to go. Don’t worry, eventually you get used to the sleepless nights. Well, I did anyway, but I never slept that much to begin with.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 9, 2014 at 3:03 pm

        A couple of years? I don’t know if he’ll survive that long. The only thing I love more than a good night’s sleep is bacon, and he’s not bribing me to lose sleep.

         
      • djmatticus

        January 9, 2014 at 3:09 pm

        Hahahaha.
        I’d lock him up and then put ear plugs in. We did that a couple times when Belle was at her worst.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 9, 2014 at 3:16 pm

        Ear plugs! That might work! Thanks for the idea. I think I have a pair floating around somewhere…

         
  3. overitblogdotcom

    January 9, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Poor Revvy and his momma. Our Leo cat is just over a year and he gets up every morning at 4am to chase my older cat EVERY.SINGLE.MORNING.
    And every single morning I get up at 4 am to pick up my older cat and lock her in the bedroom with me and go back to sleep.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 9, 2014 at 2:32 pm

      Don’t feel bad for Revy – he has everything he could ever want, including a sleepy servant to get his breakfast at o’dark-thirty.

       
  4. Twindaddy

    January 9, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    I wish I had some helpful advice for you, but I don’t do cats…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 9, 2014 at 2:59 pm

      Sigh. No one really does – each one is a unique evil overlord…

       
      • Twindaddy

        January 9, 2014 at 3:00 pm

        That’s been my experience, too, which is why I don’t have them. That, and the twins are allergic.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 9, 2014 at 3:02 pm

        My last cat was wonderful, but female, as have been all the other Really Cool cats in my life. Hate to be sexist, but male cats are a special kind of evil.

         
      • Twindaddy

        January 9, 2014 at 3:03 pm

        Ha! How convenient…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 9, 2014 at 3:05 pm

        Coincidence? I don’t think so…Of course, it could just be that I relate to female cats and their inherent crankiness while the boys are just happy and exuberant, which sets my teeth on edge.

         
      • Twindaddy

        January 9, 2014 at 3:06 pm

        Boys like to play, that’s for sure.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 9, 2014 at 3:16 pm

        I have no problem with the play, just his timing – I confess I’m not at my best at 0230…

         
      • Twindaddy

        January 9, 2014 at 3:20 pm

        Me either. Not any more.

         
  5. Awana

    January 10, 2014 at 2:44 am

    I suggest knock-out drops…for the cat…I really thought that lookout post was going to work…as a night-shifter, I have ear plugs and headphones when the going gets tough…

     

Leave a Reply

 
