RSS

Holiday Cheer

30 Dec

I’ve been AWOL for the last five days, doing all that Holiday Stuff that’s so popular this time of year. Awana came over to spend a couple days with us. Here you see her spinning and trying to enjoy a piece of toast. Sabu was doing her best to get that last bite for herself, but Awana was oblivious:DSCN0477

 

Awana is one of those people who hasn’t lived with pets for some time and is either unaware or has forgotten what it’s like to eat anything with a critter in the house. She is able to leisurely have a bite of toast, set it down, drink a sip of tea, talk awhile and pick the toast back up, confident that it will be right there under her questing fingertips when she’s ready for it again.Sabu (mostly) doesn’t steal from her. Yet.

I, on the other hand, must grasp my food to my chest, balancing a tea cup on my lap (setting it on the table is an invitation for getting it knocked over,) taking quick bites and swallowing fast, before dog or cat manage to knock something free and gobble it down before I can rescue it. Revy is always at my elbow, or even trying to climb onto the plate if there’s chicken or ham involved, and Sabu is forever leaning on my knees, bumping my arm or leg with her nose to get me to hurry up and get to the last bite already! She always gets the last bite and is not at all patient about waiting for it. It can be exhausting, I tell you.

DSCN0479On Christmas day we drove up to Portland to my Sister’s house for lunch and catching up. Sadly, most of my pictures turned out awful (I truly hate my new camera and moan about the one that was stolen each time I bring out the POS) but there are a few that are fit to show.

 

DSCN0480Sis’ tree. Cool, yes? It was much prettier IRL. It disassembles and goes into a box after The Season. Easy-peasy!

DSCN0484This is Maya. She is an odd cat. Very interested to see what you’re eating, but not at all interested in having a bite. It’s like she needs to know for the sake of knowing.

The quilt was well received and we all settled down for taco soup, which was fab-u-lous! Even better heated up the next day!

A couple hours of visiting and we were off to the dog park and to take Harley home. Turns out The Boy did not have many clothes fit to wear in public (at least by Mom and Grandma standards) and so I insisted that I would be back on Friday to take him shopping. And for a haircut.

Sadly, it was unnecessary to humiliate him by forcing him to try on clothes and model them for me at the crowded store – I had five pairs of new jeans in The Stash (don’t ask) that fit him perfectly. We did venture out for some thrifting and food shopping as well as a haircut. Another trip to a dog park and Sabu and I headed home.

Awana was gone, so the beasties and I started in on another project and cleaning house. I spent a couple hours Saturday and Sunday in the Studio working on a scrappy quilt that is now ready for tying and binding. The trailer is clean, the plants are behind a new protective barrier that looks slightly less White Trash than the cardboard I was using before, and I even managed to do some cooking for lunches this week. Sabu got to go to the dog park six days in a row. Lil’ Dude got some new clothes – more about that in another post 🙂

All in all, it was a very happy and productive five days off!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2013 in Family, Friends, Happy, Holidays

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Holiday Cheer

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    December 30, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Sounds wonderful! Happy New Year!

     
  2. Lynette d'Arty-Cross

    December 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Happy New year – all the best for 2014! And btw, great tree! 🙂

     
  3. Awana

    December 30, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    Wow..I look like I am awake, which I was not for most of the time due to my sadistic job….Yes, I was oblivious, obviously!!! Poor Sabu; I really have to remember to treat her for being so patient—love that tree!

     
  4. The Cutter

    December 31, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Maybe you’re too hard on your camera. Those pictures look pretty good.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 31, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Ha! Thank you for your kind words, but those are just the few that turned out okay enough to post! Just bought a camera/camcorder on eBay much like the one that was stolen so hopefully the quality will improve and there might even be videos in the future 🙂

       
  5. Twindaddy

    December 31, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Sounds like you had a good time. Yay! You deserved it! Happy New Year, Sofia!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

      It was a fabulous time! Life keeps getting better and better and y’all are probably getting tired of hearing about it 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        December 31, 2013 at 2:35 pm

        Naw…at least someone’s having a good time.

         

Leave a Reply

 
