RSS

Dry, Frozen Wasteland

09 Dec
DSCN0457

Pretty, no?

Here we are at Monday again. The pond at the park is frozen over. The ducks have moved elsewhere. The squirrels are capering about like maniacs, making any walking with Sabu a tug-of-war adventure. All doors but the front passenger door on my car are frozen shut.

Friday I did not leave the water dripping when I went to work. I would only be gone 5 hours or so and I was worried that the drain would freeze and I’d come home to water all over the floor. Big mistake. The water line to the kitchen froze, but it was fine as there was still water to the bath sink and toilet. Not HOT water because the hot water tank is up by the kitchen sink, but it was water.

I awoke Saturday morning because I was cold. Had Mr. Right Toasty deserted me? Were we to have only three nights of blissful slumber before he failed? Do I still have the receipt to return him to the store? I was sorely disappointed because I thought it was True Love between us – he would get plugged in at bedtime and keep me warm and happy all night long and in return I would care for him, carefully folding him and storing his cord in a safe place until it was time for him to do his job again.

Before I started to cry at the injustice of it all, I realized my nose was cold. Ears, too. Mr. Right Toasty doesn’t warm those parts, and now that I thought about it, the furnace wasn’t coming on. Shit! Ran out of propane. Sigh.

No worries – the nearest place to purchase propane is less than half a mile away and even if my car wouldn’t start, I could load a tank onto my hand truck and walk that far. It wouldn’t be fun, but it could be done. Checked the outside temp. 17* F. Inside temp? 42* F. Not good. I’m really, really, OVER Winter already!

There was some drama after filling the propane tanks, but it all turned out well in the end.

The water situation, however, remains dire. It’s a long story that I posted over on Travels with Towanda.

The Crazy Knitting Project continues, although the going is slower than I had hoped. I don’t think I’ll make the deadline. All this Winter Crap is just exhausting.

Work is slow today, for which I am thankful as I spent the night only half sleeping, listening to the furnace cycle on and off and the various creaks and moans of the trailer as it slowly turns into a block of ice. If everything thaws without incident it will be a miracle. As it is, there are some areas that will have to be attended to ASAP because I think I have a couple of leaks. Sigh. I wanted adventure, right? I tell ya, I did not plan on freezing my ass off this Winter, wondering when the floor was finally going to fall through the forward slide.

Fun times!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2013 in RV Living, Stuff that Pisses Me Off!, Weather

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Dry, Frozen Wasteland

  1. Melanie

    December 9, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Yuck!
    I agree, winter sucks. It’s one reason I like the South.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      I want to live where it gets cold enough to wear wool, but this is insane!

       
      • Melanie

        December 9, 2013 at 1:40 pm

        Yeah, no, you couldn’t get away with much wool here. Maybe without a coat, but probably only in late December and some of January.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 9, 2013 at 2:06 pm

        I can’t even imagine…

         
  2. Twindaddy

    December 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Think of all the character you’re building, though.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 1:06 pm

      I already have enough character to put on a 10 act musical extravaganza all by myself 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        December 9, 2013 at 3:56 pm

        Pics or it didn’t happen.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 9, 2013 at 3:58 pm

        Still looking for funding… 🙂

         
      • Twindaddy

        December 9, 2013 at 5:55 pm

        Excuses.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 9, 2013 at 7:51 pm

        LOL! I have many at the moment 🙂 My life is full, but the musical project will rest quietly on the back burner…

         
      • Twindaddy

        December 10, 2013 at 4:13 am

        I’m bummed out now.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 10, 2013 at 8:12 am

        Sorry 😦 I’ll try to come up with something else to entertain you 🙂

         
      • Twindaddy

        December 10, 2013 at 4:14 pm

        Okay….:(

         
  3. pixiegirlkc52

    December 9, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    winter you foul cold hearted mistress…a mighty battle will be fought. I wish you victory!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 7:50 pm

      Thank you for your support! Outside temp is 27 at the moment and it feels like a heat wave 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
