RSS

First projects done!

28 Nov
DSCN0410

The old Singer 301A all set up

 

DSCN0411

Ironing station

Sunday I hauled the rest of the Big Stuff over to the studio and now it’s all set up to Get Shit Done. Looking at the back room, I wonder where all this stuff used to be. I also wonder WTF I’ll do with the stuff that’s left. I want to get a bed back there so I can quit sleeping on the fold-out couch* and get some paint on the walls. I have some ideas that I’ll share as they get closer to realization. Just let me say that having all the Crafty Stuff elsewhere is good for my mood.

The first project to be completed is a set of skirts for the table at the craft show this weekend. I haven’t talked about that? Huh. Awana and I are going to have a table Black Friday and Saturday at the Lincoln City Cultural Center’s “Not Quite 11th-hour Santa Holiday Fair” where we will be selling our wares in the hope of de-stashing some of the great stuff we have no room for. We’ll have washed wool and carded batts for spinning, stitch markers, hand knit hats, hand spun/hand knit shawls, handmade soaps, and knitting patterns. I finally found my sewing mojo again, spent three hours hard at it today and whipped up some catnip mice and wool project bags to take. Come on out and see us if you’re in town!

Oh, and Happy Turkey Day if you celebrate πŸ™‚ Also, I finished my 50K words for NaNoWriMo – see the badge to the right => Is anyone else annoyed that people who reach 50K words are called “winners?” I don’t remember that being the case when I did it back in 2005. Also, the badge from 2005 was way better, too. Someone needs to be hired to produce some higher quality graphics. Anyway. 50K written, maybe 50K more to go. I hope to finish in December. Editing will commence in the New Year. Anyone interested in reading and giving me honest feedback just comment or drop me a note. It will take a lot of massaging to make it not shitty πŸ™‚

* It’s no longer the adventure it once was. I woke up Sunday morning with all the teeth on the left side of my mouth hurting. I mean, really hurting. Like I need to get to the dentist ASAP hurting. I need some work, so my thought was that finally everything is going to hell and the dentist will be able to buy a new car just from the cost of my new mouth. Monday I woke up with the upper teeth on the left hurting. Biting down, I can feel what happened – I think I’m grinding my teeth in my sleep. Probably because I’m cold. Another blanket on the bed and the heat turned up a few degrees should take care of it. I hope so – my dentist’s office is closed until December 2…

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “First projects done!

  1. wepoetsshowit

    November 28, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    That’s awesome! Do you have business cards to hand out with your website on them??

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 28, 2013 at 6:18 pm

      But of course. December and January will be dedicated to updating my patterns and website to get all the Stuff listed. So much work to do!

       
      • wepoetsshowit

        November 29, 2013 at 3:42 pm

        Great! I can tell you’re loving it!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 2, 2013 at 2:15 pm

        I am loving it! It was wonderful to sew, unplug everything and close the door, not having to see anything half-finished staring reproachfully at me the rest of the evening as I did things that needed to be done without distraction.

         
      • wepoetsshowit

        December 2, 2013 at 2:26 pm

        How wonderful! I’m truly happy for you!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 2, 2013 at 3:03 pm

        Thank you!

         
  2. Aussa Lorens

    November 28, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    Huzzah on finishing/winning NaNo! And your studio looks amazing– it’s important to have a space to work and create. Sounds like you’re keeping yourself rather busy!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      Busy doesn’t even describe what I am right now, but I couldn’t be happier about it since it’s all stuff that I love to do πŸ™‚

       
      • Aussa Lorens

        December 2, 2013 at 2:28 pm

        That’s the way it should be, how perfect! Okay I’ll leave you alone now πŸ˜‰

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 2, 2013 at 3:03 pm

        LOL! I’m at work, waiting on The Boss to give me a new assignment…

         
      • Aussa Lorens

        December 2, 2013 at 4:37 pm

        That’s never a good feeling, hope it’s something you like!

         
  3. Awana

    November 28, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Please take care of your teeth and don’t become a member of the Gummy Family next door to me…I

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 2, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      LOL! You should do a guest post and tell that story. Too bad your Southern accent doesn’t come through in your typing πŸ™‚

       
  4. Twindaddy

    November 29, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Sofia, I would be more than happy to read over it once you’re finished, but if it’s anything like the snippet you posted earlier this month I doubt much will need to be done.

    Time isn’t something I have an abundance of, so if you don’t mind it taking some time I would be more than happy to help with it.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 2, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      Thanks! The rest of the novel isn’t nearly as polished. I want to massage it a bit (and add the stories that I didn’t have enough time for) before I put it out there for reading, but you’re top of my list πŸ™‚

       
      • Twindaddy

        December 2, 2013 at 2:33 pm

        Yay!

         

Leave a Reply

 
