RSS

Holiday Crazy

26 Nov

The Holiday Crazy has begun! I don’t mean the Holiday displays in the stores, or on the streets, or covering the public park here in town. No. I speak of that special brand of Holiday People Crazy.

I’ve written before about the narc’s dysfunctional family, and this little gem in my inbox this morning is just another example:

Hi [Sofia],
I wanted to wish you a good Thanksgiving and hope that all is well for you and that hopefully we could keep in touch.
Huh. In the past year she has sent me exactly one email. She has made no effort to get to know me at all in the 11.5 years I was living with her brother, and now she wants us to stay in touch? Wasn’t my lack of reply to her last note a clear message that I don’t want to be in contact with her? WTF is she thinking? Why would she think I would respond to her? The narc and I broke up and he is keeping his insane family – I have no use for them. Gaaaahhhhh! Just leave me alone, already!
As for T-Day for my family, Mom has to work and both she and Sis have to be at work early the day after, while I have a very early morning drive to make, so we’ve postponed it until a more convenient time. Yeah, we’ll be having the best Holiday ever, not driving (sorry, Mom!) or sweating about arrangements, getting together on a day the world isn’t going crazy. I plan to have a nap and make final preparations for the craft show, hopefully getting the car loaded for the o’ dark-thirty departure time on Friday.
You wish your family was cool like mine 🙂
P.S. Not sure what the internet situation will be on the weekend, so I’ll be scheduling a couple of posts to publish and keep my NaBloPoMo streak going.
 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2013 in Crazy, Holidays

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “Holiday Crazy

  1. El Guapo

    November 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    Have a great holiday – you, the pets, and your real friends and family!

     
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 26, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    You make me giggle have a great Thanksgiving whenever you choose to have it. Narcs just don’t get boundaries. My sister just contacted me out of nowhere to wish me a Happy Birthday. What part of not having any contact with her, means, contact me…lol

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

      Elaine is not a narc, but she is a supporter of narc behavior. Their dad is the narc who started the cycle for them, while their mom was the victim, although to hear M tell it his mom was worthless and his dad did everything for her. Whatever. Elaine just makes my skin crawl with her dysfunction and I am happy and relieved that I don’t have to spend any time with her this year.

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        November 27, 2013 at 11:34 am

        I understand, my mother is victim to my father. I’m so glad you don’t have to go there as well!! Have the best year ever without them!! Happy Thanksgiving!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 27, 2013 at 11:55 am

        2013 has already been the Best Year Ever – I don’t know how it could get much better 🙂

         
  3. JackieP

    November 26, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Um, that’s what makes them narcs my friend. Family included. His anyway. 😉 Have a great holiday no matter what you do and be safe and happy.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

      You have a great Holiday, too!

       
  4. Twindaddy

    November 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    Where you heading? Happy Thanksgiving!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

      Driving over the Coast Range to Lincoln City for a craft show where (hopefully) I will sell a bunch of stuff to make room for more stuff…uh…breathing…You have a great Holiday, too!

       
      • Twindaddy

        November 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

        Yay! Have fun!

         
  5. Awana

    November 26, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    Of all the things I could say, the blog title of “Holiday Hell Lift-Off” just sums it all up. I had enough long ago of the knee-jerk, disjointed, out-of-nowhere greetings from family. It makes me even more depressed and sad and crazy than I already am to be treated as cruelly as I have been in the past, and receive a bubbly card from the same people…or a Hallmark card from my mother with “love” underlined when we never said such gushy things….EVER. I feel that having been alone and away from all of it for so long has made ME a real person, but the holidays come along and the strength to get through it is more than I can muster this year. Though…being dead emotionally is causing some problems. I am now getting blasted at work for being “humorless”, “mean”, and “negative” , even though I just don’t have much verbal ability left, and I rarely see anybody. It’s a world I cannot figure out…the abuse never ends.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 27, 2013 at 11:56 am

      Too bad you have to spend Turkey Day at work with your abusive co-workers 😦 Next year we’ll make better plans!

       
  6. Expat

    November 27, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Fun isn’t it? My ex PD semi-narc husband’s family used to send random cards in the mail (after moving with no forwarding address – his dad was high up in the police force and admitting to using the computers to check various things on me) and he still stalks me online after five years of no contact. (I get notifications that he’s looked at my linked in profile, tried to friend me on FB etc) Granted the sister doesn’t sound as loopy, but if you can try fixing it to where her email address is blocked or filtered to the spam box/deleted. It will save you a lot of headache. Eventually *god I hope* these people give up….

    Hugs to Awana – I hear you… holiday time is the worst. Every commercial seems to show some sort of family hugging or hanging out together while drinking their pepsi or eating whatever. It really is a reminder to some that they are without a family. I’ve been famililess for 16 years. Not to say my family was really loving or a prize, that’s just when I had to go no contact. I’ve had to go no contact with my exh and his family as well. Now with my new dh they are a bag of mess as well. It’s not easy. If you can try to stay busy to keep your mind off things. I know it helps only so much…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

      Awana will be plenty busy! She has to work until 0700 on Friday and then blast up the Coast to a craft fair Friday and Saturday all day. She works 8 nights on, 6 off, so it will be a real test of her endurance this year. We just hope the dry weather holds out so the drive isn’t too nasty.

      I don’t think the narcs give up until they find a new victim, and even then they sometimes come back because the Ego Kibbles you gave them were so good. If I were Queen of the Universe for a day, lemme tell you I would right some of those wrongs!

       
  7. Expat

    November 27, 2013 at 1:33 am

    I meant to put PA not PD… oh well, you get my drift.

     

Leave a Reply

 
