RSS

Blackheart Rum

23 Nov

blackheartrumI’m not a big connoisseur of booze, but I do love a rum & coke. Being out of rum and in a new town, I went over to the local liqueur store to see what was on offer. They didn’t have my usual brand of rum so I picked up a bottle of Blackheart Spiced Rum instead. I’ve never had spiced rum, but the label was cool enough to warrant a try. What? How else do you decide what booze to by if not by the graphics on the label?

Lemme just say that this stuff is yummy! I like the hint of vanilla – makes it go down easy and before you know it I’m swaying on my chair, singing along to YouTube videos while working on my NaNo project. The words are just flying out of my fingertips! The letdown is a bit of a bummer and my stomach doesn’t like ice cream after rum, so that’s a drag, but otherwise it’s all good.

Rum & coke before bed. Life is good!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2013 in Food & Drink, RV Living

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Blackheart Rum

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 23, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I’m a rye and ginger gal! Sweet dreams!

     
  2. overitblogdotcom

    November 23, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    Sometimes you just have to let loose with Rum and Coke and some tunage!

     
  3. Twindaddy

    November 23, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Drunken prose! Yay!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 24, 2013 at 6:20 pm

      December is for editing 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        November 24, 2013 at 6:34 pm

        Yes, yes it is.

         
  4. Pippa Pirrip

    November 24, 2013 at 7:26 am

    Judging by the label, I thought it was Sailor Jerry’s (my favorite rum) there for a minute- I’m very surprised to see they’re not related! You’ve reminded me of something very important: I need to buy some wine, tis the season to be mulling my booze.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 24, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      Sailor Jerry’s was near it on the shelf – the narc is a “sailor” so that was a no-go. But badass female pirates? I’m in!

       
      • Pippa Pirrip

        November 25, 2013 at 4:52 am

        Ugh, I hear you there! I’m not sure I’ll ever get over things that were “his” and I’ve been out for 7 years now. But still, the smell of Pantene shampoo can send me wrought with panic to the dark side of the moon.

        Badass pirate bitches for the win!

         
  5. Aussa Lorens

    November 24, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Haha, I love it! This time of year makes me want to drink so much more liquor than in the spring/summer. I’ve not tried spiced rum before either… but I TOTALLy base my booze purchases off the label, duh!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 24, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      Me, too, except for Margaritas – they’re good on a hot Summer night.

       
  6. Jana

    November 24, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I’m not a drinker (the only alcohol I imbibe is in fru-fru drinks like daiquiris & lava flows, where I can’t taste the liquor — yes, I’m a lightweight). However, my husband loves wine…and I like buying wine…so I often bring home a half dozen bottles for him…all picked out due to the cool picture on the label. Sometimes he’s not as excited as I am.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      LOL! It’s the thought that counts, right? 🙂

       

Leave a comment