RSS

Cat Condo Tenement

19 Nov

Spent way too much time today looking at DIY cat trees online. There are some really handy and creative people out there building furniture for their cats!

I know, right? Again with the cat post. I have turned into one of the Cat People Vagina talks about on her latest post. Or is that IN her latest post? Whatever. I can’t help it – he’s so darned cute and he’s tearing all my shit up. He needs his own house.

This is what I really want:

Ladder

Re-using at its best!

But I haven’t found a used ladder or ladder-like structure to start with. I do have a drawer (not a cute crate – those suckers cost $20 new and $35+ vintage!)

Or how about this cool cat tree –

ST Tree

Clicky-clicky for instructions

Problem is, I have a very specific space whatever I do needs to fit into – behind the slide at the very back so it can stay mounted when I pull the slide in. He can have the whole area, but whatever it is will have to be built very carefully.

After some consideration, 24 Pins, and several (mostly) wasted hours, here’s what I decided to do:

DSCN0401Obviously we received a shipment of copier paper at the office today. Coincidentally, the boxes are Just The Right Size to fit in the designated space. Some time with a sharpie and X-acto knife, and viola! Cat Condo. Er…tenement. What you can’t see is that the boxes are all empty, with holes cut in to make it a maze inside:

DSCN0402Hard to see, I know. Give me a break – it’s dark in there and he was trying to ambush me and grab the camera strap. And then the phone rang. Oh, nevermind.

Revy jumped right in and began to rip it up. The whole mess was swaying dangerously so I added some packing tape to steady things up a bit and Bob’s my Uncle!

If this arrangement works well, I’ll be “improving” the “building” with Real Materials and some sort of mounting system to keep everything in place. It also needs to be off the floor a couple of inches to allow air to circulate underneath.

Hopefully Revy will enjoy his private condo tenement enough that he’ll quit tearing up my shit.

 
32 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2013 in Cats, RV Living

 

Tags: ,

32 responses to “Cat Condo Tenement

  1. Becki Duckworth

    November 19, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    Haha I am a crazy cat person. My dear Simba and Nalla both passed away last year at age 16. I still have Kira left who is 21 pounds and Himalayan/Persian , she is a great girl. I love the ladder idea, Good luck with the treatment. Can’t wait to see the final product. Post pics when you are done.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:51 am

      I’ll keep y’all in the loop. The last cat I had was much more lazy and if she could find a sunbeam to nap in, all was well. Revy is turning into quite the gymnast, always looking for new ways to piss me off. He has grown to like getting sprayed with water, so I need to get a dart gun or something…

       
      • Becki Duckworth

        November 20, 2013 at 8:01 am

        Cats all have such different personalities, they are hilarious. Wow usually the water works.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 8:52 am

        I’ve had one other cat who didn’t mind the water bottle. She didn’t mind anything, actually – she was Full of Love for life and all creatures, even dogs. Nothing would change her mind if she wanted to be your best friend. She liked to wander, though, and was hit by a car. Poor Sasha!

         
      • Becki Duckworth

        November 20, 2013 at 9:05 am

        Oh no poor Sasha… I have only had indoor cats due to the fear of them being killed outdoors.

         
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 19, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    You’re very clever!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:52 am

      Some days I can be 🙂 The idea came from a fancy cardboard box module set (Catty Stacks at $15 per “cube”!) that just isn’t the right size for my space. Necessity is the Mother of all…or something like that…

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        November 20, 2013 at 8:13 am

        I guess so, but what a great idea! You’re one skilled lady in all that you do!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 8:53 am

        Why, thank you! I never post the disasters on the blog 🙂

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        November 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

        I’d still see you as skilled!

         
  3. suzjones

    November 19, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Very creative. We have a cat tree that the Diva uses on occasion. Lately she’s taken to sleeping behind curtains, on window sills and on the mini trampoline. Her favourite toy at the moment is a plastic bag from some specialty store that makes a lot of noise when she climbs inside it.
    Doesn’t take much to amuse them.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:54 am

      I thought about getting one of those crinkly cat caves, but I’m pretty sure the dog would like it just as much and it wouldn’t stand up to the stress of 50 pounds of dog pouncing on it 🙂 I wish I had windowsills for him to perch on – that’s a project for the future as RV walls won’t hold much weight.

       
  4. Doggy's Style

    November 20, 2013 at 2:35 am

    Cats love boxes, I think you did the right thing.
    Hope he leaves your stuff alone.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:54 am

      Hahahahahahaha! All my stuff is belong to him! I have to put tight-fitting lids on anything I want to keep away from him – he’s like Houdini!

       
  5. myahava

    November 20, 2013 at 7:39 am

    Looks like you can just take a step ladder and paint it. 😛 Not a bad idea.
    I spent 80 bucks on one of those carpet things for my cat. the most she has done is sit NEXT to it. My girls love to use it as a place to put their toys. lol

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:56 am

      I gotta find a used step ladder and crates & shelves the right size. At least now I know what direction I want to go in. There’s a window behind the curtain that he can nap in when the sun shines, so I think he’ll be happy. I hate the store-bought carpet towers – they always seem dusty and they offgas horribly for a long time – not something you want to have in an RV. The narc’s cat, Pookie, loved her home-made carpeted platform, but it sure looked like hell after a few years.

       
  6. colemining

    November 20, 2013 at 7:43 am

    I love the ladder thing! My cats spend far more time on the dining room table or in the bathroom sink than in their luxurious kitty condo. The box maze idea might tempt them though…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 7:57 am

      It’s easy and free 🙂 He’s just going to tear it up, anyway, so why spend Big Bucks while he’s still a kitten? Hopefully he will mature into something more like a cat and less like the Tasmanian Devil soon…

       
      • colemining

        November 20, 2013 at 8:03 am

        One always lives in hope- although mine are 4, 7 and 9 and have yet to completely lose the Tasmanian Devil tendencies…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 8:53 am

        Revy is a new kind of cat for me – way more boisterous and single-minded than others I’ve had. I’m just thankful that he and Sabu get along so well – if they hated each other life would be intolerable.

         
  7. djmatticus

    November 20, 2013 at 9:10 am

    Love it!
    Fingers crossed that Revy starts treating your stuff a little nicer. But… it seemed like every time we got our cats something specific for them to scratch at and explore and play with, they happily did so, but continued to claw at everything they weren’t supposed to as well. Silly kitties.

     
  8. Twindaddy

    November 20, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Perhaps I missed it, and if so I’m sorry, but what are you going to be doing in this studio?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 20, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Ah! I am a Fiber Artist. Oooohhh, what a fancy name 🙂 I take wool freshly shorn from a sheep (or alpaca, rabbit, goat or other hairy creature) and turn it into stuff. I spin it into yarn and then design and knit stuff.

      The studio I rent will be used primarily for sewing (quilting, household stuff, clothes, furnishings, etc.) because what with all the wool I have no room to pull out the ironing board, cutting table, sewing machine & serger, etc. It’s a safe, dry place to store The Stash while it awaits its turn at the top of the project queue. There’s enough room that I can lay out projects and so several things at once with no canine or feline interference. And also get input from the ladies who frequent the yarn shop.

      Consider it my own little Fiber Vacation pad 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        November 20, 2013 at 11:11 am

        Cool! Are you going to be selling the stuph you make?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 11:16 am

        But of course! I’ve published a couple dozen knitting patterns and will be updating them for sale on the new website after the T-day holiday. Just haven’t had time to do any website work yet. I plan to sell finished goods, too, but everything is on hold until after the craft sale next weekend. Long story 🙂

         
      • Twindaddy

        November 20, 2013 at 11:17 am

        Cool! Good luck! Will you link here once it’s up?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 11:19 am

        I will link here, but most of the chatter about it will be over on the Starting Over Designs blog. Prolly should put up links here, too…

        No! No computer distractions until NaNo and the craft show are over!

         
      • Twindaddy

        November 20, 2013 at 11:19 am

        Oh, sorry. Get back to writing!!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 20, 2013 at 11:22 am

        Actually I’m at work. So, yeah, I should get back to writing 🙂 And lunch – bacon/cheese/tomato panini, but I won’t photograph it 🙂

         
      • Twindaddy

        November 20, 2013 at 11:33 am

        Oh…that sounds good.

         
  9. stephrogers

    November 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I love the boxes. I need to make that for my cat. Cats love boxes

     
  10. Sherrie M Walsh

    December 14, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Yes, I’m one of those crazy cat people. I love my kids. I’ve had seven cats (inside) a while back, but only have one now and feel that I want more. Unfortunately, Annie is a one cat person. I enjoy seeing her run around – to the end of the room and then jumping to the top of her car tree. Trees are a good idea. http://www.kittyplays.com.

     

Leave a Reply

 
