RSS

Moving In

18 Nov

The call finally came on Saturday just before noon – my new studio space upstairs from the yarn shop was finally move-in ready! I was over the moon. Being the sort of person to get cart before horse, the car was already loaded to the gunnels (mixing metaphors just for fun πŸ™‚ ) and Sabu and I set off.

Bridget is set up in her corner:

DSCN0398Two trips from Towanda, up 20 stairs (one by one because they’re heavy,) around two corners and the bins are installed the walk-in closet, lids open and Febreeze liberally applied to (OMG I hope!) get rid of the smell of the narc’s house:DSCN0400Whew! There’s more, but there was only time for a few pics as Awana and I were off on the next adventure (Jo-Ann’s, St. Vinnie’s and lunch) before the rain started to fall. This is a very good beginning to being set up to sew whenever inspiration strikes and being able to leave projects laying about without worry. Sigh. This makes me so very happy!

I have a fondness for vintage sewing machines – this is the first to move into the new space, a classic Elna Transforma:

DSCN0399This machine is small in size, but weighs a ton! It has a case that folds out into a “table” that looks to be impossible to use. No foot pedal with this one – the wire looking thingy in front there folds down over the edge of the table to be operated by your knee. It needs a little rubber wheel replaced (wheel and instructions are inside the case – just haven’t found the time yet) and a good cleaning & oiling and she’ll be up and running.

This particular model (if y’all are interested, and I understand if you’re not – it’s an odd love, I know) has a module that the sewist could order and have installed at their local sewing machine repair shop that enables you to make fancy stitches. This machine, alas, it the very basic straight stitch version, although if I could find the module it could be installed (I hear it’s a real PITA) if there are any OSMGs (Old Sewing Machine Guys) in town. A project for another day!

For now, I’m so happy I can breathe in Studio T at home and projects can finally move forward inside the Starting Over Designs studio πŸ™‚

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in Fiber Arts, Happy

 

Tags:

19 responses to “Moving In

  1. JackieP

    November 18, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Yea!!!!

     
  2. overitblogdotcom

    November 18, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    So Awesome! I used to sew crafty stuff and hopefully when life slows down one day I can start again.
    Isn’t it weird how the smell of the Narc’s house lingers,,,,ewwwww,,,,,I have had my windows open and I probably should have bought febreeze stock just saying,,lol.
    Enjoy your new space!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 6:49 pm

      It’s no surprise the smell lingers – he refused to heat “my” space and everything had to be stored in boxes or plastic bins and I haven’t had the space to get everything aired out. I get mad every time I open a box and smell that smell…

       
  3. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    Doing a happy dance for you!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 9:02 am

      Thank you! I’m pretty busy happy dancing over here, myself πŸ™‚

       
  4. suzjones

    November 18, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to have your own creative space?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 9:03 am

      It is fabulous! I’ve been waiting for years for this to happen. The narc promised me my own creative space and always reneged on the deal, so this feels doubly fabulous because I made it happen all by myself!

       
  5. Aussa Lorens

    November 18, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Oh, that is so exciting! I’m so happy for you!!! And that sewing machine is impressive. Man, I ripped the slit of a dress up as far as my arse and I totally need to sew it this week… as soon as I find a needle. And thread. And learn to sew.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 9:12 am

      The machine was a gift from a friend who had it laying around for some reason. Hmmm. I’ve forgotten the details now that I try to recall how I got it. It’s in great shape, just needs the little rubber wheel that makes everything move replaced and I already bought it along with some bobbins. All I need is some time and she’ll be up and running.

      Good luck with your dress. If we lived closer I’d tell you to bring it over and I’d take care of it for you πŸ™‚

       
  6. Jenny

    November 18, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    don’t worry about the smell just rejoice that you have your little craft room and be content creating beautiful things~ congrats!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 9:13 am

      The smell will dissipate, I know. The creative energy already filling up the house is intoxicating and I can’t wait to get started on some projects πŸ™‚

       
  7. Doggy's Style

    November 19, 2013 at 4:11 am

    Yay for you!
    My grandma has a sewing machine like that.
    For me it’s very relaxing to “sew”, I would just grab a piece of cloth and run it through the machine just for the sake of it. Needless to say my grandma wasn’t happy.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 9:14 am

      I grew up knowing that sewing machines are tools – never got to just “sew.” The motion and sound of a spinning wheel works the same kind of magic – I can sit out on my patio, spinning away, and pretty soon there is a group of men from the park standing around, mesmerized by the process. Like the Pied Piper or something.

       
  8. Twindaddy

    November 19, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Hooreh! Congrats!

     
  9. Fat Bottom Girl

    November 19, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    I finally parted with an old Singer cabinet model that belonged to one of my grandmother’s. Such a great machine, and almost every time I sew I wish I still had it! Best button holes ever!! πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 19, 2013 at 3:31 pm

      Those old Singers with their buttonholers are The Best! I still regret letting a 15-91 go, but another will come up if I keep searching – they’re everywhere for not a lot of money.

       
  10. Awana

    November 19, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    I am glad you are in your space, too, because it’s out of my space! Ha, ha! Ready to come play in your space! Or–be put to work. It’s all good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
