RSS

WTF?

17 Nov

I’ve been putting Revy’s water bowl in the shower because he likes to use his paws to empty it all over the counter* and I can only take so much of that nonsense before I think up some clever way to foil him. This requires that I leave the shower door open about 3″ to allow him access. He loves to play in the water left after my shower and so far it’s been working out just fine.

I got up this morning, took the dog outside, fed dog and cat and opened the shower door to start the water for my morning shower. Imagine my surprise to see a big, yellow puddle in there! Yeah. He has decided to use the shower for his own personal urinal.

Hopefully a new solution will occur to me as I sleep because I can’t tolerate cat piss in the shower. Sigh.

* He likes to empty Sabu’s water dish this way, too. I spray him with water to make him stop and he runs away. I have to refill the dish because Sabu, even though she will happily eat the “roca” out of the litter box, WILL NOT drink out of her own water dish after Revy’s foot has been in it. WTF?

 
23 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2013 in Cats, Stuff that Pisses Me Off!

 

Tags: ,

23 responses to “WTF?

  1. Twindaddy

    November 17, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Pets are eerily similar to young children.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      They are! Thankfully they mature more quickly and there are (usually) fewer messes to clean up before they grow a brain and start behaving like they’re domesticated 🙂

       
  2. overitblogdotcom

    November 17, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Water dries and doesn’t stink, Can you just put a towel under his water bowl?
    My kitty just got to my new apartment, I’m sure I’m going to have some stories to tell too!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      Ah! You are forgetting that I live in a tin box where condensation is a problem this time of year. It’s bad enough that I have two bowls of water just sitting there evaporating into the air without the added bonus of wet carpet, rug, towel, whatever. Also, he is able to spread the water a remarkable distance from the dish, covering wall, window, and whatever happens to be sitting close by. Maybe it’s his super power?!?

       
  3. 1jaded1

    November 17, 2013 at 9:15 am

    Kitty is marking it as his territory. Sorry, you ahem opened that door. Don’t know how to reverse that pattern, except close it.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Why in the world would he need to mark his territory, though? He was using the litter box just fine until he decided not to. I’m afraid to close the shower door now on the off chance he finds a “better” (and more difficult to clean) place to mark…

       
  4. goldfish

    November 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

    I so love that you have a tag called “Shit that pisses me off!” 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks! So very many things under that tag… 🙂

       
  5. JackieP

    November 17, 2013 at 9:26 am

    My male cat used to love to play in his water and get the kitchen soaked. He grew out of it. Nothing much stopped him. Still have to keep the toilet seats down or he is playing in that water. The idea of a towel or mat under the bowl makes sense. I put a mat under my cats water dish. Worked like a charm. Eventually I could get rid of it. As for his peeing in the shower, my female cat would shit in my shower when she got mad at me. So you got a better deal then I did. hahaha.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      If he only sprayed the water DOWN, that would work fine, but he sprays it in all directions! I would have to line a big box with towels or something to contain the water. Nothing at all stops him but removing all sources of water! Little shit. I do hope he gets fat and lazy soon – this stage is no fun at all!

       
  6. Jenny

    November 17, 2013 at 10:31 am

    Sashamio does the same thing! Puts his paw into the dish and knocks it over all the time, not sure he is doing this because he can’t “See” the water or what so I have to have a towel on the floor in front of the water dish all the time. Does Revy jump up on any counters? Can you leave water in a sink stopped up? Little devils aren’t they!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      He does jump on the counter, and he gets sprayed with water when he does because he can’t just sit up there and look pretty, oh no, he has to knock things over or dig in the plants. I don’t want to leave water in the sink because it will just encourage him to do it more. He just seems to be fascinated for some reason.

       
  7. domingosaurus

    November 17, 2013 at 11:28 am

    My cat Vader loves to play with her water dish until it’s all spilled out onto the floor. Then her and her brother Spaz are left at home all day with no water, while I am at work She would not stop. So I placed their water dishes and food dishes on a wooden board, and attached velcro tape to the bottom of the dishes, attaching the other side to the board. I have to replace the velcro tape every few months, but it works perfectly.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      He doesn’t tip the bowl, just scoops all the water out. It’s crazy! Has Vader outgrown her water habit? Please, give me some hope here…

       
      • domingosaurus

        November 18, 2013 at 12:36 pm

        I’m afraid not. I continue to keep her bowl firmly fastened to the board. Luckily, when she realizes she can’t budge the bowl, she just drinks from it and moves on. Neither of my cats are scoopers! (yet.)

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

        Tipping is easier to deal with, IMHO 🙂

         
  8. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 17, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Never ending adventures of Revy and Sabu…lol

     
  9. djmatticus

    November 18, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Silly, silly.
    We tried to use sprayed water to discourage our two cats from certain behavior… that didn’t work, they both liked being sprayed, so we basically were rewarding them for doing things we didn’t want them to do. Oh well. We’ve come to some semblance of an understanding, and we basically had to child proof our house before the Little Prince ever arrived.
    Sorry I don’t have a good idea on how to keep the kitty from peeing in the shower. Ours have only ever used their litter boxes. :-/

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 18, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      He does seem to like being sprayed, just not in the face. He turns away and hunches down until I stop and then goes on about his naughty business until I pick him up and put him down somewhere else. He’s very determined to have his way, but then again, so am I 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
