RSS

Check your splitter

16 Nov

I spent 45 minutes on the phone yesterday afternoon with Comcast trying to solve my internet problem. I talked to five people, four of whom could not help me and transferred my call to Voice Menu Hell. Anyone tried to get a real person at Comcast lately? Wow their service sucks!

Anyway. Guy #5 was able to ping my modem and tell me that it was timed out. I told him that I was able to see the cable TV, but the internet light was off. He asked me a bunch of questions, but I, not being a complete idiot, had already run all of the troubleshooting processes (twice) and no new information would be forthcoming. There was no outage in my area and he thought a “field call” would need to be scheduled to fix me up. Well, crap! That would require that I finally finish the vacuuming, put the dog in the car and the cat in his cage and do the dishes – I was not looking forward to that at all.

And then he asked the magic question: “do you happen to have a splitter on your cable line?” Of course I did because there are two boxes and only one cable in (standard, right?)

“What color is it?” he asked.

“Silver – it’s the one you guys gave me when I signed up.”

“There’s your problem! You need the gold one, and make sure it says more than 1000 mhz on it and you should be good to go. Sometimes they just quit working. I’ll be honest and admit that sometimes they don’t work at all. Get the gold one and you’ll be online again. Is there anything else I can help you with today?”

Plugging the cable directly into the modem box resulted in an internet connection, so I figured I’d just go buy a new splitter, hook everything back up and be on about my business. Easy-peasy! I recommended he add “check your splitter” to the troubleshooting instructions in future so people would check that first before they sent out a technician and he said he’d put in the request.

The gold splitter ($16.99 at Radio Shack) is not working as advertised. Turns out I can have either TV or internet, but not both at the same time. What a PITA! I don’t have time today to mess with it, but if anyone is interested, I’ll report back on the final solution if there is one. Sigh. I know – First World problem, right? I am such a whiner!

Here’s a random kitten pic:

DSCN0083

Awwwww…He’s grown up so much!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2013 in Cats

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Check your splitter

  1. desperationchronicles

    November 16, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Hmm apparently this is the week for repairs and sickness. I feel your pain about having any repair people around with the animals. It becomes a circus act and I avoid it all costs.

    Guy #5 is right in that the splitter can totally screw up the signal. Back in the day when I had Verizon they put one on there, it worked for a month then scrambled everything. I took it off and problem solved. In your case I am confused why you even need it. When you get time, how about the model # of the modem,a picture of the current set up coming off the modem?

    i am stuck inside again today as without a covered spot, the rain has prevented me from fixing the vehicle AGAIN. We are on day three now.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      The modem is an Xfinity model and it only has one place to plug in the cable from the pole. There’s a separate box for the cable TV, and since both need to be plugged in and there’s only one cable coming out of the wall of the trailer, I don’t see how else to hook it up…

       
  2. Twindaddy

    November 16, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Why do you have to pay for the splitter since they provided a faulty one?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      Because their office was closed so I couldn’t go in and demand a new one. Since the Sooper Dooper Gold Model doesn’t work either, I’ll take it back and get another from Comcast on Monday. Sometimes technology sucks!

       
  3. BaxterBiscuits

    November 16, 2013 at 9:41 am

    My opinion on Comcast customer service, technical, support, and worst of all, sales … boooooooo!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      They are WAY better than the only other option, which is CenturyLink. I’ve used both in this area in the past and Comcast won by a landslide, but it’s plain to see that they’ve gotten too big for their britches again.

       
  4. TK

    November 16, 2013 at 10:49 am

    I have comcast and had an issue with my modem when I first signed up for their their service. My experience was different because the first person who picked up was able to help. I had to buy a new modem because the one I had slowed the wireless down to nothing.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      I’ve been on the same service, with the exact same setup since early June and haven’t had any problems until now. Maybe I need to get all fancy and get a tailgate satellite dish so I can have service no matter where in the country I am, but I don’t want to shell out the big bucks for a system yet.

       
  5. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 16, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Bummer!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      It sucks, but in the grand scheme of things it’s only a minor irritation. I have to cling to that 🙂

       
  6. 3kids2cats1divorce

    November 16, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    I love your random cat pix…just in case you wondered, since I don’t speak much tech. 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 16, 2013 at 6:43 pm

      Thanks! I have many, many more. I’m thinking I’ll dig some out of the archives and share their stories next week because I’ll be a bit busy with Life…

       
  7. Awana

    November 17, 2013 at 10:15 am

    …and this is why I don’t have Internet at hone–too many issues–I will have to remain a Neo-Luddite for now–I just can’ t deal with it. Just can’t deal with it….and I am as stupid as you are smart about it..

     

Leave a Reply

 
