RSS

Panic Attack!

12 Nov

I played hooky from work yesterday because I have a cold. My head feels like it might explode, while my nose is constantly running. This morning I was tired after wrestling Lil’ Dude into his prison/my studio when he refused to lay down and just sleep for the love of all that’s holy. He spent the rest of the night trying to open the pocket door, leaving me crabby and not really wanting to go to work.

But here I am, at the office, valiantly blogging through my misery.

The picture was not so rosy five hours ago, however. As is my usual way, I arrived at the office, tied up the dog, turned on my computer and booted up AutoCAD, my cover for all things Internet while being paid to do stuff for others. Imagine my panic when I clicked on the cute little Firefox icon and received only an error message. My computer could not find the internet!

What would I do all day? Work? Srsly? I couldn’t even play some tunes to help alleviate the boredom! It was shaping up to be a really crappy day, so I did the only thing I could think of to do, not having prepared for this sad circumstance: I did my job. Yep. Actual work. For.Hours.On.End. I almost died, I tell you!

And then the local Computer Dude arrived to rectify the lack-of-internet problem and once again I am connected. Sad thing is, I pretty much finished all the work that was waiting on my desk and I have 4.5 hours until I can sneak out the back door and go do something fun. Sigh.

Also, 22K words into my NaNo project I hate the “voice” of my book. It’s all wrong. It came to me in a feverish haze in the dark hours of this morning that I need to write as if I’m telling a story to a group of people who listen, sigh, cry and yell with outrage as the story unfolds. They will ask questions, make observations and serve as audience. December is for editing, so I will continue on, changing the voice in everything I write from this point forward and going back to massage what I’ve done this far next month.

That is all. Carry on.

P.S. Cat posts are not lame – they’re an artful homage to Lil’ Dude and his brethren ๐Ÿ™‚

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in NaNoWriMo, Writing

 

Tags: ,

18 responses to “Panic Attack!

  1. JackieP

    November 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    I feel your pain about NaNo, I’m thinking of changing my voice mid on too. And I have over 25,000 words! Arghhhhh. Anyway. Have you tried putting a ticking clock in the room with Lil’ Dude wrapped in a towel or something. They think it’s something living and calms them down. If you can find a cheap wind up clock. It’s helped with some of my cats. Even when they were almost grown. Something about the ticking soothes them.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      No, no, no, he does not need soothing – he’s up because he napped all f-ing day and is not tired. It’s like the sunlight knocks him out and as soon as it’s dark he comes to life like some evil vampire cat who doesn’t drink blood, oh, no, he drinks up the Zs you’re not getting and they make him more powerful by the minute!

      Are you going to change your NaNo voice, or continue on and edit later?

       
      • JackieP

        November 12, 2013 at 2:53 pm

        hahah, my cats sleep all day and roam all night too. They just don’t wake me up! Sorry.

        I’m going to keep on going then edit the hell out of it. If we try to change everything now we would never get finished on time. ๐Ÿ™‚

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 12, 2013 at 6:18 pm

        I probably wouldn’t wake up, but he gets the dog up and they race up and down which shakes the whole trailer, making sleep impossible. Sigh. I know, right? Not a very big problem to have…

         
  2. Awana

    November 13, 2013 at 12:11 am

    I can only hope that Revy will become as slothful as all my cats were…working at work? What a concept…

    Edit, edit, edit…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 13, 2013 at 8:35 am

      I always do some work…

       
  3. Lynette d'Arty-Cross

    November 13, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Feel better soon! I just got over one, too.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 13, 2013 at 8:35 am

      It sucks. Can’t seem to find a “cold medicine” that addresses all of my symptoms at the same time. It’s almost over. I hope.

       
  4. Krishnan P Nair

    November 13, 2013 at 3:20 am

    so in the office, you spend more time on the net that you do working? This is amazing… This exactly why I started blogging in the first place. Time passes faster with wordpress. Nice to meet a like minded individual.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 13, 2013 at 8:39 am

      The thing is, I work in an office full of men who think that the job we do is “difficult” and/or they’re working The Boss for more hours by dragging their feet. Whatever. I am very good at what I do and have much more experience than they do, therefore I am able to do the job in much less time. In order not to arouse their ire (and envy) I dumb it down enough that I only look like a minor superhero when a deadline looms and they are wringing their hands instead of the Superwoman I truly am. I never miss a deadline and when The Boss comes looking for drawings, why, here they are, just coming off the printer! Ain’t I the best?!?

      I spend the rest of the time blogging, writing, surfing the ‘net and working on my own projects. Wish I could nap, but I snore, so that’s not really practical…

       
      • Krishnan P Nair

        November 13, 2013 at 8:46 am

        You are a very confident person Sofia Leo.
        And yes, I can see how a superwoman can be intimidating for the pesky menfolk. ๐Ÿ˜€
        As for me, the job I do is genuinely undemanding. Incompetence is rewarded. so I fit in very well. even snoring is tolerated, but I can’t sleep horizontally, so…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 13, 2013 at 10:01 am

        Incompetence is rewarded here, too, especially if it’s disguised with knowledge of college football and the desire for hunting trophies :-/

        Being very good at my job has caused plenty of problems with women, too, it’s just that this particular office is full of men.

         
  5. Twindaddy

    November 13, 2013 at 7:13 am

    Write now, edit later. Hope you feel better soon!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 13, 2013 at 8:41 am

      That’s my philosophy at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚ Put a bunch of garbage from old blog posts, e-mails and my previous NaNo project in yesterday for editing next month. Really inflated the word count, but I know 2/3 of those words will go away when I can think straight, so I’m not getting a big head over it.

       
      • Twindaddy

        November 13, 2013 at 9:56 am

        Eh, after you’ve submitted it and get the badge for completion they’ll never know what happened in the editing stages.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 13, 2013 at 9:57 am

        How right you are! It’s clear that 50,000 words won’t be enough…

         
      • Twindaddy

        November 13, 2013 at 10:01 am

        Can’t wait to read it!

         
  6. djmatticus

    November 15, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Congrats on the NaNo progress! I had a similar realization about my own project earlier this week as I was going through what I’d written before my hiatus last week. I’m not all that pleased with how my story is turning out… it seems forced somehow. Not sure how to fix it, but, as you say, editing is for December. So, I’ll carry on for now, and then maybe just rewrite the whole thing next month.

     

Leave a Reply

 
