RSS

Playing Fetch

11 Nov

It’s all cats, all the time around here because Revy won’t have it any other way. The other day I bought him a cute little fuzzy mouse with a tail made of feathers. It has beads or something inside to make it rattle. He was over the moon with joy! After ripping out the feathered tail, he tossed it in the air and pounced on it for hours.

And then he invented a new game. He brought the little mouse to me and dropped it in my lap. I tossed it into the other room and he raced after it, bringing it to me again. He played fetch for over an hour, joyfully leaping after his little toy and dropping it in my lap or on the couch like the best Labrador.

DSCN0349Sabu was totally disgusted by his antics and tried to deter him by leaping upon him and holding him down while fake-growling and nibbling on him, but Revy simply played possum until Sabu was done and ran after his toy, eager to resume the game.

It’s his favorite thing now and he woke me up at 0500 today, toy in mouth, eyes wide with glee. I’ve created a monster!

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2013 in Cats

 

Tags:

19 responses to “Playing Fetch

  1. Kim13

    November 11, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    I had a cat who loved to play fetch with milk bottle lids. She would also come and drop it in my lap, demanding play time!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 11, 2013 at 6:03 pm

      My old cat did the same with the milk bottle rings and hair ties. Now that the milk jugs don’t come with rings (at least they don’t here) I don’t have any to try it with. As long as he’s having a good time, I’ll continue to play. Just not at 0500, thankyouverymuch!

       
      • Kim13

        November 11, 2013 at 6:05 pm

        LOL πŸ™‚

         
  2. Lynette d'Arty-Cross

    November 11, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    What a sweet kitty – gorgeous!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you. He’s convinced he’s All That and a bag of chips and will appreciate your complement πŸ™‚

       
  3. 3kids2cats1divorce

    November 11, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    So adorable! One of my cats likes to steal the sponge from the kitchen sink and drag it under my bed. Took me an embarrassingly long time to figure out what was happening to all the sponges! Of course, sponges don’t make much noise or require anything from me at 5am.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:11 pm

      They are sneaky, aren’t they? He does like the scrubby thing, but only the new one that’s stashed under the sink – he doesn’t like the smell of my lavender dish soap. In a plastic tub with a tight-fitting lid because I got tired of fishing it out from behind the couch πŸ™‚

       
  4. 1jaded1

    November 11, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Yep, it is all about the cats…until they don’t want to be bothered!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:12 pm

      You got that right! I’m eagerly awaiting the day he just wants to nap and be left alone – that’s when I’ll pull out the party hats and start taking pictures πŸ™‚

       
  5. JackieP

    November 11, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    My female cat likes to play fetch. Till my dog Sam takes the toy away. πŸ˜‰

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:12 pm

      I thought Sabu would take his toys away, but she seems repulsed by them and won’t pick them up. She would rather pounce on him, hold him down until he stops struggling and then move on.

       
      • JackieP

        November 12, 2013 at 2:54 pm

        The cat is Sabu’s new toy! haha. I can just picture it. πŸ™‚

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 12, 2013 at 6:19 pm

        Actually, Sabu is Revy’s toy – he loves that silly dog way more than a cat should. He also loves dirty wool socks, one of which is being dragged and massacred right this minute.

         
  6. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 11, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    uh oh!

     
  7. Awana

    November 11, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    You just need to get on the “agricultural” clock–early to bed, so you can “early to rise”! Ha, ha–problem solved! Revy really IS a poster kitteh for cuteness!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      Right. He’s up long before dawn and there just aren’t enough hours in the day for me to get to bed early…

       
  8. Lee

    November 12, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Uh oh! You’ve gotten to the “cat post” phase! πŸ˜›

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      LOL! I’ve always been at the “cat post” phase πŸ™‚

       
  9. H. Stern

    November 13, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I thought my Moe was the only one to do this!! Glad to her there are likeminded kitties out there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
