RSS

Clever or Diabolical?

09 Nov

Cats are supposed to be crepuscular, that is, they are most active at dawn and dusk. Logic dictates that in the Northern hemisphere at this time of year, Revy should be raging around the house from 5-7 PM and 6-8 AM. Revy, however, is on a different schedule: Hell on Sleep.

He naps during the day, rousing for his meals, taking a hard nap from 6-8 PM and then begins raging around the trailer. This first fit lasts until 10:00 PM when he settles in and appears to be ready to sleep through the night. This is a ruse! He’s up at midnight and riots on until the alarm goes off, or earlier if he can harass me into getting up. After breakfast, he’s ready for a nap. I, of course, have to go to work, groggy and cranky.

I’ve resorted to locking him in the back room at night so I can get some uninterrupted sleep. If I don’t get enough Zzzzs, my usually sunny disposition suffers and no one needs that!

Last night Revy crossed over a threshold that all kittens must: he learned to open the pocket door that separates him from the raving 2:00 AM lunatic he lives with. It was inevitable, I suppose. Keep a curious and determined cat from his goal and all kinds of hilarity insanity will ensue.

DSCN0363

Meow

Awake-at-two-AM-kitteh isn’t even a little bit sorry. It’s a good thing he’s cute or he would be outside in the rain. I’ve managed to catch a cold and am not in a humorous frame of mind. Drugs. I need more drugs.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2013 in Cats

 

Tags:

12 responses to “Clever or Diabolical?

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    November 9, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    You’re more patient than I. I hope you feel better soon.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 10, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      Feeling better today, but thinking of taking tomorrow off work anyway 🙂

       
  2. overitblogdotcom

    November 10, 2013 at 2:21 am

    I too am awake,,,have been since 2 as well,,the kids kitten is on the same schedule as your kitten, between having to sleep on a couch, the kitten running around the house attacking the other 2 cats, and the dog panting beside my ear,,,,I have decided after 4 hours of sleep to cave and get up. At least until that stupid kitten decides it’s time for a nap.Grrrr…….

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm

      And there’s no reasoning with them, either! Even if I spend an hour or more playing with him, he won’t change his schedule. You would think he’d be worn out, but no, not so much.

       
      • overitblogdotcom

        November 11, 2013 at 3:39 am

        Lol, and then later in the afternoon you look at them snoozing away and think awwwww sooo cute!

         
  3. Aussa Lorens

    November 10, 2013 at 10:04 am

    Haha– I want to add a kitten to my life but I always see references to how they run around the house all bat-shit-crazy in the middle of the night! My dog will sometimes pace around my room and do a shiver/shake where she jingles all her tags and the sound transforms me into this hateful beast of non-animal love…. Not sure how good of an idea it would be to add a cat to that mix but it’s still just a wee bit enticing…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm

      The crazy stage doesn’t last too long, and if you live in a place where it’s safe to let kitty outside, it’s certainly easier. I don’t have that luxury and my space is small, so it might not be as bad as it seems sometimes. I’ve found that the dog and the cat will play together and torture each other, which takes a bit of pressure off me 🙂

       
      • Aussa Lorens

        November 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm

        Haha I like the idea of another animal coming along and torturing my dog… She is generally the torturer, adorable though she may be…

         
  4. huntmode

    November 10, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    I have one of these little terrors, too – a shock to the system since I had grown used to my previous cat, a 13 lb that never fussed and the bravest cat I’ve ever known. This little guy – he was a holy rumbus magnet and yet…. and yet… he and I have grown to an understanding. Good luck with the growing season!

     

Leave a comment