RSS

Nuttier than squirrel poo

04 Nov

If you knew me IRL you would understand that my entire life is about poop and hair and their management.

Sabu is not as refined in her tastes as I wish she was. Last night she demonstrated a lapse in judgement so profound I almost laughed.

There are several walnut trees in the park. Where nut trees are found, squirrels can often be found, and such is the case here. Sabu has a red hot burning hatred of squirrels and if she were ever to get off her leash there would be blood running in the streets, provided she could catch one of the little bastards.

Where there are squirrels, there can sometimes be found squirrel poop. Yeah, I just said that. Sabu has a very strong desire to do one of two things when she encounters poop of any kind: roll in it or eat it. Neither option meets my approval and mostly I’m able to drag her away before she befouls herself.

Last night we were out walking after dark and she managed to snarf down a treat of something before I could stop her. She was so proud of herself! She strutted all the way home with a smile on her face and a spring in her step.

After we got inside and were settled in to write and listen to an old episode of Dexter, she horked her “treat” up all over the carpet. She was not ashamed and would have eaten it up again (yes, she is just that gross) if I hadn’t stepped in with a wad of paper towels. Gak!

It could have been nothing but squirrel poo, as it was full of nut shards and Sabu does not care to eat walnuts and even if she did, OMG I am just going to stop there.

If you were wondering, yes, squirrel poo does indeed contain nuts.

You’re welcome.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Dogs

 

Tags:

18 responses to “Nuttier than squirrel poo

  1. overitblogdotcom

    November 4, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    OMG,,,thanks for that tidbit of knowledge I’ve always wondered about that and now I know!

     
  2. JackieP

    November 4, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    hahaha. Dogs are well….dogs. Enjoy! (snicker)

     
  3. Twindaddy

    November 4, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    Dude, I just ate. C’mon!

    Side note: I love the word befouls. I chuckled at that.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 4, 2013 at 3:18 pm

      Crap! Uh…sorry, dude. Didn’t mean to influence the direction your most recent meal is traveling.

      If you could see how quickly my white dog can turn herself green by dragging herself across a damp lawn that is liberally coated with duck poo, you would find befoul to be the best description. Lesser words are just not up to the task.

      Also, wet wipes will not remove duck poo from dog hair. Removal requires warm water and lots of soap. Green-ish stains may remain for some time, hence the lack of recent dog pics on this here blog – gotta stage her so the stains are on the back side and not visible in the picture. Now you know.

      Yeah, it’s a laugh riot over here 🙂

       
  4. Twindaddy

    November 4, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Thanks for the visuals. Not gross at all…

     
  5. Krishnan P Nair

    November 4, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    LOL. This was not an insight I thought I would achieve from wordpress. Just goes on to show how much I am yet to learn. About poop and stuff. BTW, I had a guy called sabu who took classes at a film school I attended very very briefly.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 4, 2013 at 3:53 pm

      I hope he didn’t eat every foul thing he saw on the street…

       
  6. Pippa Pirrip

    November 4, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Dogs are inherently gross, no denying that. I’m lucky in that Bexley doesn’t have any interest in doing more than smelling poop (her own or otherwise) and she’s never rolled in anything gross. However, her special habits include attempting to eat any gross piece of discarded food she might find outside while we’re on a walk and chewing out the crotch of my panties if she manages to weasel her way into the laundry basket (which I have learned to keep closed up in the closet.) She’s a dog, dogs are gross, but I love her anyway!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 4, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      I’ve had dogs that weren’t gross. This one is just over the top with the gross. And she doesn’t even care! It’s like she’s TRYING to gross me out every minute. Gaaahhhhh!

       
  7. Aussa Lorens

    November 4, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    Bleh– I just read the bloggess’ post on her cats vomiting, and now this! Oh well I suppose it’s a part of all our lives… I always kind of hope my dog will eat her vomit so that I don’t have to clean it up. Yes, I know this makes me a terrible human who should not be trusted with pets.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 4, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      Hey! A dog that cleans up after itself is a great thing, but this particular mess would likely have gone round and round, making more stains on the rug, so I had to intervene. Besides, the smell was terrible! Oh, sorry. More gross 🙂

       
      • Aussa Lorens

        November 4, 2013 at 8:13 pm

        An inevitable karmic poop cycle! Ah!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        November 5, 2013 at 4:03 pm

        No one needs that, so I cut it off before it could get started. Does this make me a fortune teller?

         
      • Aussa Lorens

        November 5, 2013 at 4:30 pm

        It makes you the master of your own destiny…

         
  8. Doggy's Style

    November 5, 2013 at 7:21 am

    Isn’t it lovely how they always manage to bark on the carpet. Mine comes from the other end of the house to barf on the only spot where carpet is, the livingroom. It gets me every time.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 5, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      There’s not a whole lot of non-carpet at the moment, but I hope to change that come the drier weather of Spring. Stay tuned…

       
  9. Awana

    November 5, 2013 at 11:19 am

    My only adventure in babysitting involved a dog and its constant hacking…lesson learned. But, cats can hack it up just as gross and just as on target–the carpet!!!! Sigh….good luck….

     
    • Sofia Leo

      November 5, 2013 at 4:05 pm

      So far Revy has not shared with us. I fear that if it happened and I wasn’t Right There, Sabu would clean it up for me. Gack!

       

Leave a Reply

 
