RSS

A messy desk…

29 Oct

means what? I can’t recall, but it’s good, right? Last night was a busy evening, catching up on all the Cleaning Chores that were neglected while the Soap Marathon 2013 was in full swing (did manage to get the laundry done, though) and it was clear that the desk needed some prompt attention:

DSCN0338No apologies. It was a disaster. I was just too tired to get to it over the weekend. There was some moisture in the cupboards above the desk, so a few things were pulled out and set atop the growing pile while the cupboards dried out. There was a cat in the picture seconds before this shot, but I missed him.

Here it is, ready for NaNo:

DSCN0340I even dusted! I need to find some sort of fancy boxes with lids to hold all the small stuff because that darned cat thinks anything that’s not nailed down is a toy. God only knows what he’s stashed behind the couch!

The more I use this desk, the less I like it. What I really want to do is build another, much like the desk the narc built for me years ago that I left behind (it would not have fit through the door) out of old hollow core doors. Very light weight, but very strong, and pretty, too. It’s on the Project List…

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2013 in Digging Out, Happy, RV Living

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “A messy desk…

  1. The Cutter

    October 29, 2013 at 11:12 am

    So where’d you stuff everything?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      October 29, 2013 at 11:14 am

      I didn’t, really. A few things went back to where they really belong, some things went into the garbage, the loose paper went into the file box (where it should have been put in the first place) and the little bits that have no home went into the green & black box, there to await a more stylish home. I have a little problem with clutter…

       
      • The Cutter

        October 29, 2013 at 11:27 am

        Who doesn’t?

         
  2. Twindaddy

    October 29, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Holy shit, Sofia! How were you even using that desk?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      October 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Depends on how you define “using” ๐Ÿ™‚ The keyboard is in a slide-out tray that is remarkably clutter-free, so I pulled it out, logged on and that was all I did there. I need to be better about putting things away where they belong and not letting them sit on every flat surface. It’s a life-long battle…

       
      • Twindaddy

        October 29, 2013 at 12:44 pm

        Yeah, same here, but I clutter other areas….lol. Priorities, man.

         
  3. Aussa Lorens

    October 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    That is QUITE the improvement. Dang. I’m enjoying seeing everyone blog about their desks ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      October 29, 2013 at 3:36 pm

      It SHOULD be easier to be productive next month if the desk is clean. I dunno. I’ll probably be doing most of my writing at work because I’m a slacker like that ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel the typing goes more quickly if there’s a risk of someone walking in at any moment. Of course, I still have to do my work, but The Guys are so slow that I’ll still be drafting circles around them, even while getting in my 2000 words a day ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I rock…

       
      • Aussa Lorens

        October 29, 2013 at 6:37 pm

        Hahahaha that’s hilarious. I’m glad I’m not the only one with a less than stellar work ethic.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        October 29, 2013 at 6:55 pm

        My work ethic IS stellar, which is why I have to dumb it down so much in order to avoid becoming that bitch everyone hates. I’ve actually worked my way out of jobs by getting things done too fast and pissing people off. What can I say? I’m a people pleaser and I like to be Number One. It can lead to some interesting situations…

         
  4. stephrogers

    October 30, 2013 at 12:08 am

    hahaha that desk looks like mine, and the desk cleaning thing is what I always do when I’m supposed to be studying, because you have to arrange your pencils in colour order, then from smallest to largest, and make sure everything is neat and symmetrical, before you open a text book, right?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      October 30, 2013 at 4:06 pm

      Exactly! Now that it’s all nice and clean, I don’t even want to sit there…

       
  5. Awana

    October 30, 2013 at 1:49 am

    What desk? Sighhhh…………………………..

     

Leave a Reply

 
