RSS

Kitty Update

26 Sep

Yesterday AM I packed kitten in his carrier and took him to work with Sabu and I. He had to wait in the car because he wouldn’t stop screaming to be let out.

When the vet’s office opened, we all drove over and I went in with kitty-in-a-box and came out empty handed, which freaked Sabu out. She sulked all day, I guess thinking I’d gotten rid of her little pal.

Lil’ Dude’s procedure went well and he got his shots during the visit. The vet figures he’s about five months old. She told me that he should, “be kept quiet for a few days,” and I promised to do my best. He didn’t look all that perky, so I thought he might be slow from the anesthesia for awhile. Ha!

Sabu was overjoyed to see her little friend again and he set up a howling that didn’t stop until we got home. Yeah. The drugs had worn off and he was feeling feisty. As soon as I opened the door to his carrier, he came bolting out and Sabu immediately pounced on him. The Game was ON!

I tried to explain to both of them that Lil’ Dude was supposed to be in recovery and needed to be mellow for a few days but they couldn’t hear me over the sound of their thundering feet.

I caught the kitty to examine his incisions so I would know what to look for today if anything was going wrong and he slithered out of my hands as quickly as he could and made a leap for the curtains. He fell right back down because one bonus service the vet offers is to clip kitty’s toenails when he was sedated. He tried twice more before giving up and racing for his food dish.

The vet recommended giving him reduced rations last night in case he was a bit nauseous after his surgery but he would have none of it, screaming until his dish was filled to the level he has become accustomed to.

The vet also told me that he should remain dry for the next few days – no baths (as if!) but he was in the shower as soon as I opened the door this morning for his usual I don’t even know what ritual in there. Hopefully he didn’t get any water into anything vital because he was not about to let me check, much dry him off if necessary.

If I hadn’t seen the incisions for myself I wouldn’t believe that he’d had surgery. He’s certainly no more mellow because of it. It’s business as usual, a riot every minute.

I can’t wait until he’s big enough to fit into his harness and we can go for walks – that will make them stare!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2013 in Cats, Dogs

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Kitty Update

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    September 26, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Ahaha if only we could recover from surgeries that easily!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 27, 2013 at 9:43 am

      I guess it’s not really much of a “surgery,” more like maybe a mole removal or something. He was sedated, but not intubated and he only has two little slits about 1/8″ long where his little testicles were sucked out of his ball-sack.

       
  2. JackieP

    September 26, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    It never slowed down my male cat either. He was jumping and eating and doing whatever cats do. Never hurt him. My female was a bit slower, cus it’s a bit more invasive. He’ll be fine. 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 27, 2013 at 9:45 am

      He seems to be totally unaffected by his visit to the Vet Spa: running around like nothing has changed, harassing the dog, who is confused when I tell her to be a little gentle with the kitty. I gave up last night – let them be however they’re going to be and if Lil’ Dude gets sore maybe he’ll just take a fucking nap for a change :-/

       
      • JackieP

        September 27, 2013 at 10:42 am

        They know when to slow down, it’s a natural instinct. 🙂 Just feel sorry for ya because you can’t get a decent sleep.

         
  3. Awana

    September 28, 2013 at 7:58 am

    …but the payoff is so great!!!! That kitty is a gift!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
