RSS

Just like we’re friends or something

25 Sep

Had a new e-mail from the narc when I checked after my second nap Sunday evening:

[his pet name for me,]

Jim has two cats that moved from his neighbor’s to his house. One is a big male and the other is a tiny female. His wife is allergic to cats, so they both live in the garage.

Recently the little female was caught killing a bird in their bird feeder (what do they expect?), so it has been decreed she must go to a shelter. She is the sweetest little thing, so I told him I’d take her rather than send her to the pound.

If you think you might want this kitty, you should contact Jim. I will take her otherwise, though the princess Pookie will not like it one bit. She is coal black and smaller than Pookie.

[Jim’s e-mail address]

love you,

m

Really? I went NC on June 20. He has not heard my voice or received an e-mail reply to anything in over three months and now he’s sending me this? Like I’m just going to forgive and forget?

Oh, sure, I can contact Jim about the poor kitty and leave the narc out of it completely, but WTF is he thinking by even sending me this?

Wait. I know exactly what he’s thinking:

  • Appeal to her soft heart with a sob story about a cat and she’ll open the lines of communication
  • Insert something about poor little Pookie and how unhappy she will be
  • Make sure the message is “from” someone she’s likely to respond to
  • Put in something about the nature of cats and how they’re unfairly demonized
  • Don’t forget to sign it with “love” to let her know all is not lost

What a bunch of crap! I do tend to respond under these conditions, but not to him, and not to someone who might report back to him about me or inadvertently give away information I want to remain private.

Loser! Nice try, but it ain’t gonna happen!

On an unrelated note: took Lil’ Dude in for his procedure. Left Sabu in the car while I took kitty into the vet’s office in his carrier. Got him checked in, signed up and went back out to the car. Sabu was very concerned that I returned without her little buddy. She’s been giving me the stink-eye all day. Except during lunch, when she was begging for bacon! off my panini. Will report back when Lil’ Dude is home and the meds wear off πŸ™‚

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

22 responses to “Just like we’re friends or something

  1. JackieP

    September 25, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    I’m so glad Sabu has a little play mate. πŸ˜‰ Maybe not so good for you at 3 or 4 am but Sabu and lil dude is happy. πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 2:22 pm

      It was love at first sight, but I didn’t realize quite how much Sabu is concerned for the kitty. It will be interesting to see how she reacts when he comes home reeking of the vet’s office…

       
  2. JackieP

    September 25, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    PS: didn’t mention the narc because he ain’t worth it. πŸ˜‰

     
  3. Twindaddy

    September 25, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I thought you blocked his email addy?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 2:24 pm

      Yup. I did block him. And I blocked him again. And again. And double-checked that he’s still blocked. Verified that he’s sending from the same address as the one I blocked. Evidently Gmail has decided to let his notes come through. I have no way of knowing if I get them all or only some of them. Whatever. All I feel now is a flash of annoyance and a question, “Is this good blog fodder?” πŸ™‚

       
      • Twindaddy

        September 25, 2013 at 2:34 pm

        Lol. You could always change your email…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        September 25, 2013 at 2:44 pm

        I did, actually, but I have a lot of Stuff that goes to the “public” addy…

         
      • Twindaddy

        September 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

        Oh…then I got nothing.

         
  4. Awana

    September 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    This is so scary.Just look how insignificant you are…until you are there.

     
  5. Melanie

    September 25, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Wow. He went low.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      You think so? I suppose next he’ll be telling me all about HIS medical problems? Whatever.

       
  6. Jenny

    September 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Ignore Ignore Ignore……just keep having fun with Sabu and lil dude. Weather in Newport was WET WET WET, between the rain showers we went to the Newport Cafe’ twice, Nye Beach, shopped till we dropped through Oregon and now enjoying the sunshine ( but COLD at night) in Winchester Bay.
    Missed getting to see you 😦

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      Next year for sure! πŸ™‚

       
  7. Lynette d'Arty-Cross

    September 26, 2013 at 4:17 am

    That’s exactly what they do … glad you didn’t fall for it. πŸ™‚

     
  8. 1jaded1

    September 26, 2013 at 5:49 am

    Scarily, that is how they work.

     
  9. carlisdm

    September 26, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Yes, heΒ΄s totally trying to get your contact details through another person. HeΒ΄ll probably go lower than that so expect more disguised plans to get to you…but I know that you wonΒ΄t fall for them..

     
  10. djmatticus

    September 26, 2013 at 9:44 am

    How very sneaky of him. Good job seeing it for what it is. i’d wonder if the story about the cats is even true…
    Hope Lil’ Dude’s time at the vet goes smoothly. πŸ˜€

     
  11. myahava

    September 26, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    Still wish my dog and cat would get along. No hope yet. It’s been 2 years.

    wow, good at Analyzing that e-mail there. ha ha. It would;ve fooled me most likely. πŸ˜›

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 26, 2013 at 2:51 pm

      They were friends at first sight. I don’t know if Revy had ever seen a dog, but he had no fear at all and Sabu was surprisingly gentle. Well, there was that incident with the Dreaded Red Dot that I thought spelled the end of the kitten, but all is well and I only get it out when Sabu is outside.

       
  12. Becki Duckworth

    September 27, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Wow, any means…. they are so full of themselves.

     
  13. Jenny

    September 27, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    So I assume Sabu is no longer depressed now that she has a friend to play with. Hooray Sabu is a Happy Camper! πŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
