RSS

Last Weekend

24 Sep

On Saturday I traveled up to Portland (1.5+ hours by car) to help Roxy hand out samples of her vegan dog biscuits at VegFest 2013. She’s a sweet older woman who has a heart of gold, but damn! She steps on my last nerve some days.

She requested that I meet her at the house of her long-time friends no later than 0830. Fine. I got up at 0530, made the long drive and arrived on time. My first clue that the day was not going to go according to plan was when I knocked on the door and saw a woman in a bathrobe approaching. Sigh. It was Roxy’s friend, and no, she was not yet dressed for the day. Turns out Roxy was not dressed either, and was in fact still doing her morning yoga. She also hadn’t eaten breakfast yet. WTF?!?

I had to make small talk with her friends for nearly an hour before Roxy was ready to drive to the convention center. I sucked it up and behaved like an adult, concealing my irritation as best I could. I mean, really – if she knew she wouldn’t be ready until 0930, why did she make a special point to request my presence at 0830? Just to fuck with me? To annoy her hosts? To see if I could handle the pressure of meeting and making nice with people I have nothing in common with? I don’t know, but it wasn’t the first time I sat cooling my heels waiting on her.

Anyway. Roxy drove to the convention center while I navigated. Holy crap does she drive fast! And she’s not all that concerned with staying inside the lines, either! I managed to yelp in fear only once, which prompted her to look over at me and ask if I was alright. A long, lingering look while doing 65 in a 55 zone on the freeway! I swallowed all sounds other than what exit to take after that.

As we were walking into the convention center, I noticed some garishly dressed people heading in the same direction. Roxy was marching along at warp speed, not looking back, so I only caught glimpses as I rushed by. It all became clear as we neared the hall where the VegFest was being held – the Rose City Comicon was going on in the very next room! That’s right – my people were right there and I was stuck with the vegans all day!

There were storm troopers:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

Storm troopers! And they looked like they’d been crawling through the sand for days…

And ghost busters:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1Characters with a message:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

I loved that show!

Oodles of sassy women dressed up as characters I couldn’t readily identify:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

I wish I’d gotten a pic of the girl in the Original Series Star Trek uniform – beehive hairdo and everything – she was awesome!

Quite a few dudes who take their cosplay VERY seriously:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

Lots of family groups all dressed up together:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

Do you wonder if this little girl has nightmares, or will she grow up to be a bad ass, take-no-prisoners woman?

And even more storm troopers:

Rose City Comic Con 2013 - Day 1

All photos borrowed from KATU.com because I was not allowed to leave the room to take pictures. Sob!

But, no. Since I was there, Roxy took the opportunity to visit with everyone selling and giving samples away, leaving me at the table to talk and talk and talk to militant vegans all day. Nothing against vegans – this group was just weird. She did allow me a couple of bathroom breaks, but since we were quite close to the restroom I didn’t need to go far. By the end of the day my voice was gone and I was exhausted from standing on the concrete floor leaning over the table for hours and hours.

I was bummed, to say the least. My reward for this day (and lots of hand holding and computer work over the past couple of months)? A gift certificate for a 90-minute massage by Roxy’s favorite masseuse. In Waldport, which is a 2-hour drive away. Sigh. She really doesn’t get me at all. She knows my story, yet she thinks that I should be thrilled at the prospect of a total stranger rubbing my naked body for 90 minutes. Really? I specifically asked for dog biscuits for Sabu. Or chocolate. Something cheap and easy so I didn’t feel obligated, but that’s not how Roxy works.

I really have nothing against Roxy, just venting. I would have loved to see if I could find a Star Trek communicator pin, or a mini Tardis to set on my desk. Instead I saw the most amazing variety of facial piercings and dreadlocks and smelled “vegan seafood” cooking all day. Let me tell you, it ain’t bacon.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2013 in Friends, I totally Rock!, right?, You're kidding

 

Tags:

18 responses to “Last Weekend

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    September 24, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    Wow that’s quite a day, I would have been ticked, too!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 24, 2013 at 9:49 pm

      I didn’t mind the work, and I believe in her product (the dogs love them – the treats are vegan by coincidence.) It was just so hard to act happy about the whole massage thing. She just doesn’t get me…

       
  2. beatzkane

    September 24, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Reblogged this on beatzkaneblog143.

     
  3. Jenny

    September 24, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    think you would have had more fun with me!!…..Oh it poured rain galore, I finally kept the umbrella with me at all times snapping photo’s because I was dodging the rain. Ate twice at the Newport Café!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 11:13 am

      I totally would have had more fun with you! I could have eaten bacon! 🙂 I love the Newport Cafe, too. Maybe next year when you come through…

       
  4. Twindaddy

    September 25, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Ack! I didn’t know you were a geek! That’s awesome!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 11:13 am

      I don’t share everything here 🙂

       
      • Twindaddy

        September 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm

        That’s too bad. We’ll have to catch up on Facebook some time and talk geek.

         
  5. overitblogdotcom

    September 25, 2013 at 6:43 am

    You could always put the gift certificate up for sale on kijiji and then spend the money on what you really want. I took my daughter to a comicon in Toronto,,wow I didn’t know there was so many geeks out there,,but, it was fun.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 11:15 am

      I wish! No, Roxy has a close, personal relationship with this particular masseuse and will ask both me and her how it went and isn’t it the best thing in the world to be fondled by strangers? And on and on. Roxy is a big fan. I will have to grit my teeth and cowgirl up sooner or later.

       
  6. Laura

    September 25, 2013 at 10:23 am

    I have a friendship that leads to similar frustrations at times. This particular friendship is on its last legs and may soon come to an end. Sad, but perhaps necessary for my own sanity. I think sometimes these things aren’t worth the frustration. Life is too short to be with people who don’t get you, or at the very least people who don’t appreciate your efforts or respect your time enough not to be tardy. Maybe I’m just getting old and grumpy, but I am So. Over. It. I’m sorry you had to endure that.

    Portland eh? I ran the Rock n’ Roll half marathon there in May. It is a lovely city and I had the time of my life. I didn’t know their vegans would be so militant. I thought Portlanders were may more fun and laid back than here in Seattle. The “Seattle Freeze” is what some of us around here tend to call it. Yes, I’m generalizing. Bad, Laura.

    Sorry your day didn’t go as planned. Is it wrong if your post gave me a bit of a chuckle? I’m picturing you getting surrounded by a bunch of militant vegans…LOL!! I used to be a vegetarian, I suppose that means I was one step removed from being a militant vegan, but then the lure of bacon called me back home among the carnivores… 😉 Vegan seafood? I don’t even want to know what that is. It’s probably as lousy as their cheese. *snicker*

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 11:20 am

      Portland is a lovely city – I lived there for 10 years and would go back in a second.

      Generally speaking, Portlanders are quite laid back. Many of the VegFest-goers were from out of town, though. I have no idea what they were thinking, but I got the, “these are VEGAN, right?” question a thousand times. I’m like, “well, yeah, that’s why we’re here, isn’t it?” Bizarre.

      I asked everyone if they had a dog and what kind of dog and one woman replied, “he’s VEGAN! And a Doberman…” Um. Right. Actually, dogs are not vegan. We people can feed them a vegan diet, but left to their own devices dogs would be eating flesh pretty much every day. Bacon!

      Roxy knows everyone and could provide some valuable connections for my side-line business. She’s really a very nice person, but she has some quirks that annoy me no end.

       
  7. Pippa Pirrip

    September 25, 2013 at 10:56 am

    I moved from Chicago to Coastal Oregon several years ago. I knew I would never fit in the first time I decided to spend a weekend in “the City” (Eugene) and happened upon the Saturday Market. Somewhere in the middle of the sea of dreadlocks, the miasma of patchouli and vegan cuisine brought me to an altered level of consciousness, one in which I realized that as I stood there in the well-tailored ankle-length skirt and long sleeved blouse I’d worn to synagogue (which by the way was not a synagogue, but a Jewish service held in the university’s Baha’i center for about 10 of us), I was hearing the song from Sesame Street play in my head: “One of these things is not like the other. Which one is different, do you know?…”

    Sigh. It’s beautiful there, but there was never a chance of me lasting. Honestly it’s amazing I managed to last until the end of my contract!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 25, 2013 at 11:27 am

      Eugene is a world unto itself, that’s a fact. You have to be strange just to eat lunch there. I’ve never been to a market or faire but if I went, I would surely stand out as some kind of freak 🙂

       
  8. pixiegirlkc52

    September 25, 2013 at 11:43 am

    aww man! I’d be sad too if I knew what was going on in the next room and I was stuck yucking it up with vegans…(no offense to vegans) but yes…cosplay is way more exciting.

     
  9. Awana

    September 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    Oregon has gotten on my last nerve…to be different here, you have to have ambition, be clean, and be proud of your appearance and your work. And as much as you are my friend, Sofia, I hate the phrase, “laid back.” Sorry…this is just a place to die…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      September 26, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      It’s not all like Newport, really! You would love Portland 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
