RSS

New Kitty?

16 Aug

RevyThis little cutie showed up at Harley’s door at 1:30 AM the other morning, crying to be let inside. Being his Mother’s son, he went out and bought food and supplies and fell in love with her. Unfortunately his apartment complex does not allow pets and she has to go.

Enter Mom. This was the exchange on Facebook:

H, in reply to another commenter: and no my apartments do not allow pets. I am going to talk to the apartment manager and see if I can keep her until I find a good home. But she loves me so much it’s hard to give her away.

Me: Ya know, your Mom is currently cat-less…What’s the kitty’s name?

H: We call her “Revy”. It’s a name from a show Brittin [his Best Buddy] and I like. She’s really sweet you want her?

Me: You named her after the anime character? The one who “is a merciless and sadistic killer without a conscience who will kill anyone at the slightest provocation, even unarmed civilians?” And you say she’s “sweet?” Are you sure?

B: ^Exactly. That little kitty is a merciless and sadistic destroyer of music recording without a conscience who will jump on any keyboard at the slightest provocation, even unarmed civilians. [They had been making music until the kitty make them stop with her antics]

H: Lmfao. My mother has seen Black Lagoon. Holy fuck my life just got turned upside down. Everything I thought I knew about my mother has been irredeemably flushed down the shitter.

H: But in hindsight, the character “Revy” is actually very moral. My cat fucks everything up for her own amusement. And I kinda like that. Its funny. I cant get mad at her.
Anyhow, I quite like the name Revy. This cat is so much like Din. She will sit on my pc monitor and stare at me while I am trying to watch a movie. Or jump onto my keyboard when I am really into a song I am playing. So cute.

Me: Hey! Your Mom is cool, Jack! (a hundred bucks says he won’t recognize that reference πŸ˜‰ )

It amazes me that he would think I watch anime, and I confess that I’m disturbed it didn’t occur to him that I would just Google and find the meaning of “Revy.” Does he think I’m stupid or just too old to know how to find information online?

Srsly? Am I That Old? I know I’m out of touch, but really?

The burning question: is this my new cat? I’ve been waiting for over two years for another cat to fall into my life, and maybe little Revy is The One?

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “New Kitty?

  1. 3kids2cats1divorce

    August 16, 2013 at 9:22 am

    Awww, I hope so! That kitty is absolutely adorable. Sabu will be gentle, eventually (?), I’m sure.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      August 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

      Sabu is quite gentle with cats and always has been. She understands about kittens and puppies. She also has a very territorial streak – she knows the difference between “her kitty” and “bad other cats pooping in the yard that must be chased away before they destroy us all!” and takes appropriate measures.

      The problem will be where to put a litter box – Revy has not been spayed so she’ll have to be confined until she’s been spayed, chipped and has her shots. Sabu just loves kitty roca and will go to extraordinary lengths to get it :-/

      Listen to me, talking like she’s already here. Sigh. I’ve been waiting a long time for a cat to saunter into my life and I must admit that I hoped it would be a Siamese, but you can’t really choose if you let the Universe make the decision for you πŸ™‚

       
      • Nyssa

        October 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm

        Oh, another dog who likes tootsie rolls? πŸ˜‰

         
      • Sofia Leo

        October 4, 2013 at 9:54 am

        LOL! Oh, yes! So far my preventive measures have been successful, but I don’t relax for a moment!

         
      • Nyssa

        October 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm

        “Sigh. I’ve been waiting a long time for a cat to saunter into my life and I must admit that I hoped it would be a Siamese, but you can’t really choose if you let the Universe make the decision for you πŸ™‚ ”

        Sounds familiar. We just had one cat put down, and expected to wait a few months to get another, to allow the grieving process and move to a new house. Then a lost kitten showed up in the parking lot of my husband’s job. 10 years later, that tiny kitten is now a big, fat cat currently breaking down the top cushion of our couch…..

         
      • Sofia Leo

        October 4, 2013 at 9:55 am

        They do have a way of showing up, don’t they? Thankfully my current couch has a hard back that can’t be broken down. Clawed and chewed, yes, but not squashed πŸ™‚

         
  2. JackieP

    August 16, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Cute. I don’t think kids ever think their parents are ‘smart’ enough. ha! Hope you get her.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      August 16, 2013 at 10:01 am

      He should know better by now – he knows I blog and have a website and shop online. I wonder what he thinks I do all day? Does he think I don’t know about Google? I know, I know – I’m over 30, therefore a dinosaur, and not the cool kind πŸ™‚

       
  3. Fat Bottom Girl

    August 16, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Seems like the hands of fate have stepped in and handed you a new kitty!! πŸ™‚

     
  4. djmatticus

    August 16, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    The universe makes these decisions for us whether we “choose” or not. πŸ˜‰ You could have already gotten your siamese and these new kitty would have shown up anyway. So… does he have a new home? When is he moving in?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      August 20, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      LOL! Right you are! Maybe this weekend…

       
  5. behindthemaskofabuse

    August 16, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    I won’t be surprised if she’s in your lap as you read this…lol

     
    • Sofia Leo

      August 20, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      Not yet, but I’m scheduled to go pick her up this weekend if Son’s work schedule permits…

       
  6. Awana

    August 17, 2013 at 12:41 am

    Better be a traveler!

     
  7. notyourvictim

    August 17, 2013 at 9:12 am

    I think it’s actually that kids don’t think to google things anymore, so when we do, it’s all sneaky and magic-like! Also, I support all new kittens and puppies.

     

Leave a Reply

 
