RSS

Gone Knittin’

18 Jul

For all my brave talk here you might think I’m an outgoing, confident person, but the reality is that I am uncomfortable with groups of people I don’t know. I resent clique-y groups where they all stare and ask pointed questions and judge before they know the new person. I refuse to play political or one-up games and that makes me feel unwelcome in some gatherings.

Fiber people are generally very friendly and accepting, but there are exceptions and I have encountered a few women who I would cheerfully throttle just to get them to stop expounding on a subject it’s clear they know very little about, especially when they are insulting the very people they are expounding to. It’s a bit of a hot button for me so I try to keep my mouth shut.

So. The local fiber shop (Knitty Gritty, recently opened, located half a block from the office) started up a regular Wednesday night knitting circle last night. I mustered my courage and went, not knowing what to expect. Would this be a friendly group, or a well-established clique that does not welcome newcomers?

Thankfully it was the former and the seven of us had a great time.

Towanda is still in a state of mild uproar after the move (what can I say – I’ve been napping as Sabu and I adjust to the new schedule, not organizing as I should have been) and there was no new project waiting in its bag by the door so I purchased yarn and needles when I arrived at the shop. If you’re in the area and looking for bamboo knitting needles at a really great price, do stop by!

The owner of the shop raises alpaca, sheep and goats and there were bags and bags of the stuff sitting around. She sells it at a very good price as-is for spinning as well as plenty of finished yarn in all weights. That won’t mean much to most of you, but trust me, if you’re looking for alpaca and alpaca blends for knitting or spinning, she has just what you want.

Whew! I was prepared for disappointment if the group turned out to be closed and so relieved when they proved to be a tribe of my People. I was so energized by the meeting that I went home and did laundry and practiced a few fiddle tunes 🙂

Life is good!

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Gone Knittin’

  1. carlisdm

    July 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    Excellent! that´s a good way to meet people and to do something different from the regular routine! You´ve just pushed me into trying to find out if I can find something like that near where I live 🙂

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 18, 2013 at 2:37 pm

      I’m sure there’s something near you. This is the first group in my little town. When I lived here before there were a couple of groups two towns over, but who wants to drive for 40 minutes after work just to knit? I did it on occasion, but it was hard, especially with the Narc accusing me of having affairs every time I came home five minutes later than he thought I should. Give it a go – it’s a ton of fun!

       
  2. stephrogers

    July 18, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Oooh what are you making? Post pictures? I’m currently crocheting an autumn/spring pullover using recycled 100% wool. I don’t often wear 100% wool because it’s scratchy, but it’s such a pretty colour I think I will just suck it up and wear it anyway

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      I mostly knit socks. My current stash of Winter socks is sadly depleted (mostly because the Narc refused to wash wool properly [or was it sabotage of my favorite things?] or get the knob on the washer fixed so they could be properly soaked) and I need some more before it gets cold. I’ll take a pic tonight and post with yarn details 🙂

      There was a time I thought I was allergic to wool, but it turns out I’m allergic to the chemicals used to dye and size modern wool, not the fiber itself. Who knew? All those years I could have been warm and cozy if I’d only learned to knit sooner…

       
  3. behindthemaskofabuse

    July 18, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    that’s awesome!

     
  4. Awana

    July 19, 2013 at 1:42 am

    She has wool, too? Uh-oh….
    Yes, I know what you mean about groups…also know what it is like to feel the negativity about going, so as to drop out…. OH, and have your stuff ruined….etc.

    Can’t wait to go there, myself!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 19, 2013 at 11:28 am

      Oh, yes – alpaca and sheep’s wool and she has a woman wanting to sell some cashmere roving coming in with samples very soon. $8.00 per ounce! For CASHMERE! I paid $25.00 per ounce some years ago. It dyes beautifully and will blend with angora and alpaca beautifully! Also! She said I can come use her carder for blending the alpaca and angora any time I like 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
