RSS

Another one of THOSE posts

09 Jul

Yep, it’s another one of those middle-aged-woman-does-perfectly-ordinary-stuff-and-is-over-the-moon-about-it posts. I can’t help myself and I hope you will indulge me a few more times as I internalize that this is my New Normal.

Last weekend was a long one. The office was closed both Thursday and Friday, leaving four sunny days with nothing to do but what I wanted to do. I can’t remember the last time I had that many days in a row to spend exactly as I saw fit!

July 4 Sabu and I spent laying around, trying to ignore fireworks going off all over town. We ate, we napped, we walked around the park chatting and enjoying the sunshine. We went to bed early and slept well, knowing Friday was a Sleep In Day.

Friday was busier, and very productive. We went to the bank to have my RV loan transferred over to my local Credit Union. The Customer Service there is great! And I can make payments online with no penalties for early re-payment or hidden fees or headaches. I figure I can get Towanda paid off in less than three years if I keep my current job and put a good portion of my wages towards the debt. Nice!

Someone mowed the dog park, so a lively game of fetch (with the squeaky ball!) came next and when Sabu was finally winded, we headed back to the park to take care of a task that has been put off too long: sanitizing and purging the water lines and installing a water filter. It’s not complicated, just time consuming: fill the water storage tank, add bleach, run the water until you smell bleach at each faucet, let sit three hours, flush well and there ya go! So now we’re drinking filtered City water instead of filling gallon jugs every few days. I know, right? Thrilling!

After a nap, we cleaned and organized, putting shelf liner in the pantry and bringing order to the chaos that ruled before. Vacuuming and dusting and surfing the ‘net and painting my nails (fingers and toes!) and into bed with a couple episodes of the original Star Trek.

Let me just say that the first ten episodes are not the best. Only Nichelle Nichols (Uhura) and George Takai (Sulu) seem to be comfortable in their roles from the start – everyone else struggled with expressions and dialogue, making it hard to believe in the characters. And the dramatic lighting! Wow, that was cheesy.

Anyway. Saturday I made a curtain for the kitchen window (I hate, hate, hate the blinds on all of the windows!) and covered two throw pillows with some lovely fabric that is so ME. More organizing – Awana will be spending some time here and will need a place to roll out her bed, making it imperative to have some elbow room – and cleaning and the place smells new. A scented candle (the Narc never allowed candles, scented or otherwise) helped create a relaxing atmosphere. I made sun tea for the first time in five years and drank two quarts. Paradise!

Sunday I covered two chair seats and a small stool with red vinyl and oiled the wood. They look brand new and I love them! Spent an hour with Charlotte and met her cat Kenzie, a gorgeous seal-point Siamese who is obviously King of his house. Yeah, chatting, sitting in the shade, drinking sweet iced tea, reading*, watching the world go buy. It’s a thrill a minute!

So, yeah, a weekend that would seem, on the surface, to be perfectly ordinary, even (dare I say it?) boring, was my idea of Wonderful. Not once did anyone tell me how worthless/irresponsible/lazy/fat/inconsiderate I am. Not once did anyone object or even comment about my food choices, entertainment choices, nail polish** color, clothing choice, or the fact that I took two showers in one day 🙂

Next weekend I will be doing some of my favorite things: visiting my son and dropping off my electric fiddle and amp for him to borrow; helping Mom with her neighborhood yard sale (note to self: if you fill the car with stuff from the House of Mom, you won’t be able to pack it full of wool on Sunday); and driving (gasp! driving for something not related to boats!) to a Wool Festival on Sunday where I will meet-up with Awana and we will pet sheep, goats and bunnies until we are giddy on the fumes, whereupon we will caravan back to Towanda for some fabulous food and good times. There might be alcohol involved before night’s end and no party crashers are invited!

Life is good!

* Damn you, JA Konrath! I was up way too late Sunday night finishing Three and I blame you for my scratchy eyes Monday morning at work. But I loved the trilogy, so forgive me, ‘K? Working my way through all of your novels and loving every minute, but I fear it may be developing into an unhealthy habit…

** There was a time when I was pretty devoted to my fingernails and how they looked. I buffed, filed, polished and kept them looking good at all times because I grow strong, long, natural nails and that’s kinda rare and I was vain about their appearance – no matter what else was going on in my life, I could count on my nails looking good. The Narc put a stop to that, telling me it was pointless vanity and that he hated women with painted nails, blah, blah, blah. When I started playing the fiddle I started cutting them short but there’s no reason I can’t paint them now that I work in an office, and paint them I will! Took a couple of days to get used to seeing color on them again – every time my hands came into my field of vision, I gave a little start, almost not believing those sparkly nails were mine. Weird, I know. I embrace the weird now, and post it on the interwebs for everyone to marvel at 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2013 in Digging Out, I totally Rock!, RV Living

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Another one of THOSE posts

  1. twindaddy

    July 9, 2013 at 11:36 am

    Freedom is not boring.

     
  2. carlisdm

    July 9, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Good weekend indeed! you did good stuff and all for yourself and with the characteristics of your choice! there’s nothing better than that, I totally get you 🙂

     
  3. Jenny

    July 9, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    ABOUT TIME!! 😉 Glad you are SO happy and doing the things you love!!!

     
  4. El Guapo

    July 9, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    One of the few times I’m happy to hear about Normal.
    And no reason not to paint your nails now even if you do shorten them for pluckin’ and strummin’.
    (Sheesh, I’m such a hick!)

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 9, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      You and me, both, G 🙂 Love me some banjo music…

       
  5. Just Me With . . .

    July 9, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    I get it. The little things. I’m enjoying my gas grill. The Ex never allowed a gas grill.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 9, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      Gas grill? That’s some decadence right there! No gas grill allowed and I must admit I kinda covet a small grill or hibachi for outdoor cooking now that I live where it’s actually warm during the Summer 🙂

       
  6. JackieP

    July 9, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Understandable. I used to enjoy talking on the phone to my friends. 🙂

     
  7. behindthemaskofabuse

    July 9, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    There’s nothing like the freedom of coming out from under a narc! The gift? You enjoy everything that much more, things that many might take for granted! I love that you feel so free are so free!! xo

     
  8. Jenny

    July 9, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    hey look at Dolly Pardon….she dresses in tight clothes, HUGE boobs and loves it and loves to get all made up and she has long nails that she strums her banjo or guitar and everyone loves her!! She walked right behind me in the Blue Bayou Restaurant in Disneyland, celebrating her Nieces birthday back in the 80’s.
    Noone tells her what to do or she tells them to blow it out their ass!!!.

     
  9. bellabsblog

    July 12, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    if you like painting your nails, a girl i know does hers with this stuff
    http://www.nailsinc.com/nailpolish/trafalgar-square-magnetic-polish/964/
    it is so beautiful, you can get all sorts of patterns. i have rubbish nails but if i didnt id use this
    just thought you might like to have a look 😀

     
    • Sofia Leo

      July 16, 2013 at 4:29 pm

      Very interesting! I may have to give it a try 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
