RSS

A Dilemma

17 Jun

I have heard nothing from the Narc since June 6 when he left a message for me that I did not return. I saw him last on May 30 when I went out to check Snowball’s butt and he was all fake-crying as he said goodbye after I refused to stay for tea.

“I was only trying to be polite…” he said. “Goodbye…”

Not long after I left I agreed to pay his cell phone bill in exchange for him feeding and watering the rabbits. His bill is due on Sunday.

My question is this: do I go ahead and pay his bill and act like everything is the same, call or e-mail to see if the rabbits need food and arrange to deliver it per our agreement and see what happens from there, or just act like he (and the rabbits) no longer exist?

He has no idea that I’m not still in Newport and I don’t feel that he has any right to know where I live or work, but it’s sure to come up when I can only deliver on the weekend…

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “A Dilemma

  1. El Guapo

    June 17, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    If you are comfortable with whatever may happen to the rabbits, then by all means, be done with him.
    He probably thinks he is playing on your sympathy to drag you back in.
    If you don’t need to speak to him again, then don’t.

     
  2. Bethany

    June 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    You are going to you what you are going to do and there is no “wrong” answer to this question but I would just act like he and the rabbits don’t exist. You are gone from the town and you are starting your new life. Leaving the rabbits sucks but he will either take care of them (which he is perfectly capable of) or he will give them away. Either way In my opinion it is no longer your problem. I’m here to support you no matter that you do 🙂

     
  3. JackieP

    June 17, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    You don’t owe him an explaination as to why you can only deliver on the weekend. You owe him nothing.

     
  4. invisibleme

    June 17, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    I am sure your concern is for the rabbits, which I totally understand! (It is so hard to leave our pets!!) You don’t owe him a single word of explanation for why you can only deliver on the weekends. If it gets to the point that even going by on the weekends becomes a source of stress then you can re-evaluate the situation.

     
  5. Sex, Spirit, Soul Mates and Chocolate....Ivonne's Journey

    June 17, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    What you do really depends on how much you are concerned with the welfare of the rabbits. I would check on the rabbits first. If they are well then pay the bill as agreed. If you can’t take the rabbits because of your living situation then maybe look for a new home for the rabbits or for someone who can foster your rabbits for you until you can get them back–that way you can move on from the narc.

    ivonne

     
  6. behindthemaskofabuse

    June 17, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    I know the rabbits are important to you, but I guess you have to weigh the risks. Personally I would walk away and be done. Please don’t take that to mean I don’t care about the rabbits, I just care about you.

     
  7. lookingforward2012

    June 18, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Walk away. Don’t look back.

     
  8. Melanie

    June 18, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Say a prayer to the patron saint of rabbits, or the sun, whichever suits you, and enjoy your freedom. His lack of contact is just part of his game. He wants you to call him so he can convince himself you really do still love him and then he’ll go right back to his game of lies and manipulations.

     
  9. Jenny

    June 18, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    walk away, if it were not for the rabbits you would not be talking to him at all and he’s using you for the cell bill. He’ll either keep the rabbits or get rid of them but you need to cut your ties or you will not have true freedom till you do.

     
  10. Jenny

    June 19, 2013 at 2:58 am

    To this day I do not have my X’s phone number, I do know where he lives and have never gone there. We avoid each other like the plague!!

     
  11. Janine

    June 19, 2013 at 9:03 am

    I don’t know what to tell you about the rabbits, I would have a hard time walking away myself. However, whatever you decide to do, JackieP is bang on, and not just with him. I have been working on this for the last year: I don’t owe ANYONE an explanation of why I can or cannot do something, I just can’t or I can and this is when. The rest is none of their business. And if they ask? Well that is the answer: “I am sorry, I am not comfortable sharing those details with you” (or something less polite if they are a real douche). Personal boundaries. You do not have to share your thought process, only the outcome when it is warranted. Good luck to you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
