RSS

Playing Hooky

13 Jun

Totally remiss in not getting this posted sooner, I know. No apologies – I’m busy and couldn’t be happier about that. I’ll likely refer back to this weekend often in the near future because it won’t all fit into one post. No pics today, but here’s another promise that I’ll get to it when I get to it ๐Ÿ™‚ There are pics on the latest Travels with Towanda post if you find posts with only words too boring.

Okay. I work 7:30 – 5:00 with a half hour lunch* M-Th and 7:30 – Noon on Friday at the new/old job, making Friday afternoons perfect for traveling.

Friday dawned hot and sunny. Sabu and I left the office around noon, had a quick lunch and were on the road by 1:30, headed North and East. As I drove out of town I could hear M’s voice in my head. Not his voice exactly, but I could feel his disapproval at what I was doing and where I was going. The fact that I didn’t respond to his voice mail nagged at me, knowing that he disapproved and there would be consequences sooner or later. Thoughts of his arguments against spending the weekend at Mom’s ran through my head and I found myself feeling apprehensive about the whole trip.

Knowing that it was all just left-over bullshit, I tried to tune it out. It took about 30 miles to shake him off and start to look forward to my destination and the adventures that awaited. It pisses me off that he is still in my head, if not ultimately making me decide NOT to do things, at least nagging at me about so many things. The poison is not totally out of my system, it seems.

The first stop was Camping World to pick up some things for Towanda. I spent too much money, but there are things one must have to keep all systems functioning as they should in a travel trailer. Detailed post on that another day.

We arrived in my home town, Hood River, later than intended, but safe and sound. The weekend was wonderful, filled with laughter and good times with people who “get” me. Or if they don’t, they are kind enough to just shrug and think to themselves, “well, she is family…” ๐Ÿ™‚

The weather was perfect – dry, sunny and warm enough for me to wear a short-sleeved t-shirt. Oh, sure, some people were complaining about how hot it was, but like a lizard, I was soaking it all up!

We went yard saling, ate outside on the deck and drove around town, stopping wherever we liked. It was perfect!

Many thanks to Mom who sent me off with a car full of Good Stuff for Towanda’s decor and maintenance. I’ll be back soon ๐Ÿ™‚

* Half an hour for lunch is not enough time to eat AND walk the dog. It’s not enough time to run even one errand. I kinda resent that, but if they don’t need me in the office full time, well, I plan on changing up my schedule if The Boss will allow, and it sounds like he will after a short phone conversation this morning. Oh, I am writing my own ticket now, but that’s another post…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in Digging Out, Family

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Playing Hooky

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    June 13, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    ugh i know what you mean about having him nagging in your mind. i hear that 24/7 in my mind from the family and i can’t get them out. i’m so glad you went and sounds like you’re having a good time!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 14, 2013 at 9:09 am

      I find that playing almost any song by Pink helps a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. Awana

    June 14, 2013 at 3:06 am

    Yes, that disapproving voice has held me back for 55 years…how could I have married a man who was just like my mother? It bugs me everyday! I hope your poison goes away quickly—you got stuff to do, places to go and people to see!

    (I knew you would take over!!! )

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

      We repeat the patterns we know. That’s why it’s so important to learn to SEE our lives, to break the patterns of abuse before they destroy us.

      I haven’t taken over yet, but I will have some things go My Way this time around!

       
  3. El Guapo

    June 14, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Hey, at least his voice was downgraded from “stopping you” to just “annoying you”!

     

Leave a Reply

 
