RSS

All is Well

01 Jun

Towanda, Sabu and I made it over to our new home without incident thanks to the know-how and great driving of Dave. So far it looks like nothing has been broken and it was sure nice to put the slides out, set the furniture back upright and be all Moved In! I was drinking tea, eating ice cream (yes, Awana, I had Real Food first πŸ™‚ ) within a couple of hours of arrival.

Seems I set myself down right in the middle of the annual Strawberry Festival so the whole town is in an uproar and driving is impossible. Sabu saw her first parade today and did surprisingly well. Met up with an old friend and sat in the sun.

The people I’ve met in the park are friendly and they sure do like to talk! Can’t get a moment’s peace if I go outside but Sabu is lapping up all of the attention like she was born to be a beauty queen. She’ll be impossible to live with any day now with all of these strangers lovin’ up on her.

Sitting in the library gettin’ some WiFi but it’s 75* and Sabu is in the car so I have to get moving on to the next errand.

I can hardly believe that I’m wearing a short-sleeved T-shirt and flip-flops in June! I really have been freezing my ass of the last four years and this feels like heaven. Sorry, A – come on over for a visit and get thawed out πŸ™‚

Pictures and details next week when I get hooked up to the ‘net. That is all. Carry on.

P.S. Basic Cable here sucks. Big time.

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “All is Well

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    June 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    I’m so happy for you that everything went smoothly. You sound happy and at peace.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 3, 2013 at 7:39 pm

      I am happy and at peace. And online! Woot! Internet rates are quite a bit cheaper here and I was able to “Self Install” so I’m all hooked up now πŸ™‚

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        June 3, 2013 at 7:43 pm

        I’ve got my pompoms out to celebrate with you!! Woot woot!

         
  2. Jenny

    June 1, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    Save your money and get a portable dome dish ( camping World- Wilsonville OR) and then you’ll have your favorite channels. so glad the move went smoothly. You just got your first taste of MY world. Living in the RV world you will never be a stranger. RVing people, especially the Full-Timers are really friendly because they are more relaxed and you;ll be making friends in no time! πŸ™‚ I think having Sabu will be to your advantage, you’ll both be making new friends and Sabu will be happy too. So happy for you, it just keeps getting better and better for you!! πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 3, 2013 at 7:41 pm

      I’ll look into a dish ASAP. Cable will do for now as it’s fast and easy to get going. A dish will need to be mounted to Towanda and that will have to wait until I have more time to devote to research and get up on the roof to be sure everything is in good shape.

      You’re right about the full-timers – I’ve never met a friendlier bunch of people! So far it seems pretty harmless, but they are gossiping about me all over the park πŸ™‚ Many of the residents here are older and obviously don’t hear well as they are practically shouting at each other and I can hear what they say about me πŸ™‚

       
  3. Becki Duckworth

    June 3, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Glad the move went well. Tank tops and flip flop weather here too in Aloha Oregon and I am lovin it…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 3, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      It’s so nice to be able to wear one layer of clothes. I didn’t know how much I missed that being in a wet, cool climate for the last four years. It’s 7:30 PM now and I’m sitting inside, short-sleeved shirt, jeans and bare feet and it feels great! It’s supposed to get even hotter tomorrow and I plan to soak it up like a lizard πŸ™‚

       
      • Becki Duckworth

        June 4, 2013 at 10:28 am

        I agree, last night was so beautiful in Oregon at 11pm it was still 65 outside. today it is already 72 at 10:25am..I am going to get off the computer and enjoy the sun. Have a beautiful day!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        June 4, 2013 at 6:33 pm

        Another gorgeous day! 80+ and full sun all day. I am soaking it up, thawing out and enjoying every minute.

         
  4. Awana

    June 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    …but does she know “the wave”…?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 3, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      Not yet. It’s only a matter of time, though. Sigh. Took her to the office and she was an instant hit. Behaved like a Real Dog – no barking, no jumping, sitting on command. Gave her a bath with your Black Soap and she even smells as good as she looks now πŸ™‚

       
  5. Jenny

    June 4, 2013 at 8:42 am

    gossip huh….lol what were they saying? Could it be “oh my goodness, she has a RV and NO truck?” or ” My goodness she’s young!” When Dan and I retired at 50 & 52 we were told…” you’re just kids!” then they said ” Good for you, wish I had done it sooner myself!” There are more workampers than you realize, younger people are working from their RV’s so you’ll see more and you’ll see more families home schooling their kids on the road for the great adventure. But you will find it is so much more relaxing. The guys just LOVE to help a damsel in distress too, gives them something to do. πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      June 4, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      LOL! Nothing malicious, I assure you πŸ™‚ Ward (or is it Walt?) is my nearest neighbor and the designated Gatherer of Information for the park (self-appointed, I’m sure) and he was having trouble grasping what I do for a living. He finally got it yesterday and was busily informing anyone who wandered by. I had to stifle a laugh because he was so darned loud he could surely be heard in the next neighborhood!

      The guys here are ever ready to lend a hand and give advice. So far no questions about where my truck or my man are and that suits me just fine. I’m not the only single woman here (although I am the youngest) so they don’t look at me funny for that reason. The fiddle and banjo playing will probably make them stare πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
