RSS

The Road Trip

29 Apr

Oh, man, it’s been a long day!

Made it over to The Valley in time for the meeting (after a stop at Winco to pick up supplies for the Sweet Shop – I always combine my driving trips :-)) which lasted longer than usual with The Boss.

Found out that we have an AutoCAD compatibility problem – I have an older version (not that old, but AutoDesk put up a Do Not Cross Until You Upgrade barrier) on my desktop  computer that won’t enable me to do the work. A few minutes of trying to find a solution without re-doing anything led TB to give me a sooper-dooper souped-up laptop to take home! Score! It also opens some new portability options and I have permission from D to work on the drafting at the Shop if it’s slow, so long as customers come first. Double score!!

Had to fuss around with the darned thing to get it online and the anti-virus up and running, but all systems are go.

Except for the one that I really need – seems the program is in “trial” mode and wants a special code or $6825 to load my drawings. Le sigh. Blasted off an email to get that corrected and will try again tomorrow.

Where was I? Oh, yes. Came sliding back into town 1/2 hour late, forgot the inventory sheets I needed to take to the Shop, ran back out to D’s, and opened late. Damn! If it hadn’t been for that slow-moving car on the highway, I would have made it.

Errands and more errands, but everything is done, the pug-faced posse and their fearless (and shedding terribly) leader are laying around in various poses awaiting the next adventure. If I can get the laptop going as it should I can start moving out of D&D’s house and back into Towanda.

I wonder how well the pug-faced posse would travel…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Digging Out, Drafting, I totally Rock!

 

Tags:

7 responses to “The Road Trip

  1. Awana

    April 30, 2013 at 1:31 am

    If things get anyy better, we won’t be able to stand you; however, I am always available for ego-busting when necessary.

    Slow car,,,,yeah…

    So, are you getting attached to the little pugleys?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 30, 2013 at 9:03 am

      First you won’t help me hide a body and now you offer to bust my ego? Sigh. We gotta get you out of here! The rain and clouds and crappy co-workers have obviously destroyed your sense of humor 🙂

      Not really attached to the pug-nosed posse, but they refuse to be ignored, causing more interaction than I had planned on, which always leads to familiarity, which can lead to acceptance. Oh, I don’t plan on adopting a pug-nosed dog any time soon, but I no longer despise them. The muttering is still getting on my nerves, though…

       
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    April 30, 2013 at 8:56 am

    Busy but a good busy!! Is Sabu shedding a lot from her meds or is it just spring shed?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 30, 2013 at 9:05 am

      Good Busy is right! Sabu has started her Spring/Summer shed and it won’t stop for good until it gets cold again. She is overdue for a clipping and a blow-out. I hesitate to do it at D’s house because there will be a lot of hair left on the lawn and they don’t have a good shop vac to do it in the house. Next week. We’ll just live with the hair until then.

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        April 30, 2013 at 9:32 am

        Well that poses a hairy situation! lol

        I’m glad albeit you’re tired, that it’s a good busy!!

         
  3. Becki Duckworth

    April 30, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    Oh the AutoCAD , I bet its really changed in just the 10 months I have been away from the workplace.. Hate those upgrades. What a scam.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 30, 2013 at 7:36 pm

      Probably hasn’t changed much in 10 months, but, yeah, I know what you mean. Since the software isn’t properly installed yet I don’t even know what the new version looks like, much less if I can use it efficiently, but thankfully this particular assignment is simple enough that I could do it in regular AutoCAD and leave the Civil 3D stuff for learning later. The Boss has no clue how quickly this little project will come together, so while they work out purchasing another license (or whatever they did today to get the problem solved – I have no idea) I took a nice, long nap 🙂 Feel refreshed and ready to rock now!

      Also ate a pint of ice cream. Might regret that later…

       

Leave a Reply

 
