RSS

We’re having a parade!

26 Apr

Yesterday was my one-year blogiversary! It all started with the first sad post and has continued rolling along and now here we are. Thank you all for stopping by my little closet in the blogisphere.

I am tired. Up way too late last night working for The Boss, but I wouldn’t change a thing. When I have more cylinders firing I’ll try to write up something that marks this date in a flashier way.

Da Boyz, as I have started calling D&D’s dogs in my mind, are starting to exhibit some interesting behaviors. What at first seemed to be a chaotic rabble racing off in all directions, barking shrilly, has now morphed into an organized hunting unit. I blame Sabu for the change.

Let me explain. Here are Da Boyz a few days ago –

SANY3210

Clockwise from upper left: Conner, Bailey, Mason

Possessed for sure, right? Here they are hanging out in the kitchen watching Sabu and I Doing Stuff. They are not interested in anything but barking and darting about on their clicky-clacky toenails.*

And here they are today:

SANY3214

Note the crazy-eyed ringleader front and center

Now they are a (mostly) silent pack of hungry mouths watching my every move. If I walk into the kitchen (look at that floor! To die for, I tellya!) they move as a well-oiled machine, taking up position almost-but-not-quite touching my feet. Hoping to trip me so they can eat my face, probably.

All of a sudden if I look at one of them, it will sit down with a thunk and look up expectantly. These wild creatures have some training! They’ve been holding out on me, but no more – they have to perform for their cookies and Sabu is a pro. A good teacher, too.

If I get up from my chair at the computer, I’m not fully upright before my entourage is poised and ready to follow. Sabu in the lead, the black pug next, then the brown pug with the Boston bringing up the rear. Round and round the house we go, nobody stopping until I sit again and there is no hope of another cookie. Round and round the yard, too.

Doing laundry is fun – Da Boyz dearly love to steal panties from the basket when my back is turned. Fun times!

If I try to sneak into the bathroom for a little break from four pairs of staring eyes, I hear the protests through the door. There is no hope of ignoring it, even with the fan on. They will not be locked out. They will not be denied.

9:00 is the beginning of Couch Time, which runs until 11:00. All small dogs** and humans must be seated on the couch by 9:05 or they will be harassed until they comply. Da Boyz take turns marching up to me and making it very clear (Bailey by barking, Conner by making a high-pitched squealing noise, and Mason by reproachful looks) that I am not following The Routine.

Once seated, Da Boyz begin the nightly ritual of The Cleaning of The Feet. It takes a long time and is rather noisy. Seems pugs are more picky about the cleanliness of their feet than cats are. Weird.

A short nap follows, then one final trip outside before Time For Bed. They sleep in D&Ds bedroom, a little set of stairs allowing them up onto the tall bed. They march into the room in order: Mason, Bailey, Conner.

Bailey thinks he’s in charge. Conner is a follower. Mason is really in charge but only asserts his position if Bailey does something out of line. They have all decided to defer to Sabu concerning matters of security and cookies since she gets faster results.

A bit chaotic, but it turns out that short-nosed dogs are quite entertaining. One more week and they will have their proper people back again and Sabu and I will start preparations to move Towanda East. One adventure after another!

* D tells me that pugs hate to have their nails trimmed, but since I have a way with shithead stubborn dogs I’m tempted to give it a go as a surprise. And for the quiet, too.

** Sabu is not welcome on the couch, even though she would fit. She refuses to be part of a dog pile anyway, preferring to lay on me by herself all.night.long. on the bed instead. She has standards after all…

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Dogs

 

Tags:

13 responses to “We’re having a parade!

  1. Awana

    April 27, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Throw me somethin’, Mister!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 27, 2013 at 8:03 pm

      Ha! I just try to get my fingers out of the way…Pugs have small mouths, but they are full of very sharp teeth and the little buggers move fast!

       
  2. Still Loving Him

    April 27, 2013 at 5:52 am

    Cute pups!!! I love my fur kids.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

      They are cute, and have bigger personalities than I thought they would. Don’t know what I was expecting, but this is not it. Might change my view about dogs with no noses…

       
  3. behindthemaskofabuse

    April 27, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Quite an adventure! Happy Blogaversary!!!

     
  4. Not Quite Alice

    April 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Poor Sabu. She needs a couch too!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 27, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      She has a couch back at Towanda 🙂 She could have the couch here but she is too dignified to share it with a bunch of mumbling old men who only care about how clean their feet are.

       
      • Not Quite Alice

        April 28, 2013 at 5:00 pm

        Lol. Grumbling mumbling old men. Lol. Silly pugs. Something about them is just silly though.

         
  5. notwendysdave

    April 29, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Well I am glad you started to blog!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 29, 2013 at 9:02 pm

      Actually, I’ve been blogging since July of 2002, just not on this particular subject matter. I’ve never let the Real Me shine through in quite this way, but I find it very enjoyable. Thanks for reading 🙂

       
  6. Becki Duckworth

    April 30, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Congrats on your 1 year..I appreciate you being here. I hope you are able to get a few bathroom breaks each day…..

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 30, 2013 at 7:38 pm

      Thank you 🙂 I do get bathroom breaks. A dog is a great excuse for such things, “Sabu needs to go out now…” She knows the score and can put on the Pitiful Face at the slightest hint of a chance to do something different. Works like a charm 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
