RSS

A Record Breaking Day!

30 Mar

I feel like crap today. Crap on toast. I’m coming down with a cold and I almost called in sick to work. It’s only The Boss and I and this week, being Spring Break, has been insane, so I took some ibuprofen and spent some extra time in the dog park soaking up the sun before heading to work.

It was crazy busy almost from the moment I opened the door. The parade of people was for the most part normal, but there was this one woman…

Note to the woman in the Daisy Duke shorts – You’re* way too old for that outfit, honey. It’s not a good look for you. At all. OMG and WTF.

She had a spray tan that would have done any contestant on “Toddlers & Tiaras” proud, with fake boobs out to here, and a pair of Daisy Duke shorts with a border of eyelet lace around the leg openings that made them an inch longer and they were still short enough to show a half-moon of cellulite-filled ass cheek. It was all I could do to serve her and her three asshole kids while keeping a straight face. Srsly. Who told her that was a good look?

By the time the till was counted out (an hour after our “official” close time) it was the second highest earning day in the shop’s history. The Boss was there for most of it, and I am so happy about that because I likely would not have made it alone. It was crazy! The sun was shining and it was 70* a block from the beach at 11:00 – conditions unheard of here in March.

Tomorrow could be more of the same if the Weather Dudes are to be believed.

* Notice the correct usage of the contraction of You Are. Does no one pay attention in English class these days? I can’t count the number of memes and “inspirational” pictures on FB and other sites that are so poorly written I see red every time I have to view another piece of crap. Why do people “like” this garbage? I’ve started leaving comments on them, pointing out the spelling and grammar errors. I just can’t help myself.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2013 in Working Retail, You're kidding

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “A Record Breaking Day!

  1. Jenny

    March 30, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Oh Lordy I would have been rolling my eayes at Ms fake LOL….you get some real winners coming through your shop to entertain you LOL
    Sorry you are not feeling good, drink some Green Tea
    How was your visit with your Mom?

     
    • Jenny

      March 30, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      Glad the Ice cream shop got lots of money, bet the owner really appreciated your help.

       
    • Jenny

      March 31, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      oops my typo lol “eyes” not eayes

       
  2. El Guapo

    March 30, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Ha! If you let internet typos make you crazy, you only have a few minutes of sanity left.
    Nice having a boss who will work along side you.

     
    • Jenny

      March 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      LOL El Guapo

       
  3. behindthemaskofabuse

    March 30, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    well at least you had some “Dukes of Hazard” entertainment…or should I say “Daisy of Hazard?” I hope you feel better soon!

     
  4. notwendysdave

    March 31, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Sorry, I will try to watch my grammar…

     
    • Jenny

      April 1, 2013 at 7:31 am

      I just ignore the typos, not worth getting upset over…I do look over my notes and love the “edit” and oddly enough I always have a dictionary close by LOL

       
      • Sofia Leo

        April 2, 2013 at 8:44 am

        I don’t mind typos in blog posts or comments, it’s those meme photos that travel all over FB that get to me – I mean, the message is great, but doesn’t someone spell check them first? I just can’t “like” a message that looks like it was written by a 10-year-old using their I-phone. Call me a snob if you will, I just can’t help myself.

         
  5. Jenny

    April 2, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Lol , yeah I wonder sometimes how I can change it when they spell something wrong

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 5, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      The least I can do is ignore it. I will never “like” a message that looks like it was written by a 10-year-old on a cell phone. Just.Can’t.Do.It.

      God, I’m a snob, aren’t I? 🙂 Someone has to have some standards!

       
  6. Becki Duckworth

    April 3, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Haha had a great visual of the lady in the daisy dukes. Hope you are feeling better. I had that crud for a week.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      April 5, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Finally feeling like I might not die in the next hour. And joy! The weather has turned and it’s raining, hailing and blowing like it’s never gonna stop. Fun times!

       

Leave a Reply

 
