RSS

WTF Moments at Work

24 Mar

I’ve mentioned that I work in an ice cream/candy store. I love my job, really I do – the shop is cute, we sell products that I can totally get behind, The Boss is great and has even let me take over on Wednesday nights and have my friends over for a Stitch & Bitch and he lets me sell my woolen goods and soap in the shop. Most days the customers are friendly and if they walk in grumpy they leave with a belly full of ice cream or chocolate and they are usually smiling.

That said, this week is Spring Break. Thousands of people head to the Coast (we don’t say “we’re going to the beach” here, it’s always The Coast) for a week of fun and frolic, overindulging in the local shops and generally behaving like ill-mannered tourists. Okay, not all of them are assholes, but quite a few are and they all wanted ice cream today.

Needless to say, I was working the shop alone. Since I am only one person, it really doesn’t make sense for a family group of TWENTY to complain when they don’t have ice cream cones stuffed into their evil spawn’s screaming mouths within five seconds of entering the shop to complain about the service.

Srsly. TWENTY people walk in, 2/3 of them screaming, nasty, dirty children and they want to be served instantly.

Lemme tell you what really irritates me:

Letting your children LICK the ice cream case. Really? They aren’t the first to lick the case today, but you don’t seem to care – it’s much better to have them silent for three seconds than to tell them to keep their fucking dirty mouths off my ice cream case. Gag!

Ditto for dirty fingers – the case looks like a sure source of infection and if I had come in after that group I would have left immediately because the germs were thick in the air and on all surfaces.

Licking and smearing up the glass-topped table like they’ve never eaten indoors before. I understand you’re tired and have had enough time with your little plague-carrying spawn today, but that doesn’t mean that you have to let them make even more work for me.

LettingΒ  your children scream and run around the shop in total disregard for me or the other customers. Maybe the lady in the expensive suede boots does not think it’s amusing for your child to dribble ice cream out of its mouth onto her shoes. Srsly?

And then you make a snide remark about how maybe I should hire someone to help out? The shop was empty five minutes ago – what would my “helper” do then? Who does he think will pay to have someone standing around? Does he really think that the shops should have some people “on call” so when they see this group from hell walking down the street they can be prepared?

It was a busy day, lots of characters to deal with, and I like to think that I did a good job and kept my sense of humor, but when the last couple of teen boys walked in AN HOUR after closing and wanted service, well, I may have been a little short with them. The signs were off, as were half the lights and I was mopping the floor. All signs that a shop is CLOSED. Not for the tourists, oh, no, they expect the shops to be open any time they want a treat.

Yes, I could have locked the door, but then people stand outside, yanking on it, making it bang (scaring me half to death) and then they knock and ask, “are you still open?” Duh. I swear, these people leave their brains at home. If their money wasn’t so important to this little Tourist Town I would have a really bad attitude.

Tired. Just venting.

Tomorrow will be a stressful day as I need to take food out to the bunnies and inform M that I will not be house sitting for him so that he can take his Dream Cruise, secure in the knowledge that his shit will be Taken Care of while he’s gone. I will also be calling around to see if I can find a home for the buns. Haven’t decided yet if I’ll offer to take Pookie the Cat to live with Sabu, Towanda and I – it’s clear that she misses me and M is not fulfilling his duties as Cat Slave, so it might work out okay, but she would have to become an indoor cat, which she might not like. Then again, she is becoming more sedentary in her old age, wanting nothing more than a warm lap and constant petting. Until she’s done, then she wants to be left alone to sleep Over There.

We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

That is all. Carry on.

 
37 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Working Retail, You're kidding

 

37 responses to “WTF Moments at Work

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    March 24, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    sorry you had such a rough day! stupid tourists. we lived in a tourist town for two years. winters were dead and summers where packed with people on the beach across the street from us and the motel right outside our bedroom window.

    for some reason tourist are so self righteous. they would bitch and complain if those of us who lived there year round had our dogs on the beach whilst they had their own dogs on the beach…lol

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 24, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      It has been dead for a couple of months and this sudden influx of cash is a good thing for this town, it’s just hard to switch gears from a $100 day to a $600 day while knowing that it won’t last more than a week or so. Just makes me cranky. I did pick up almost $25 in tips, so there is that to warm the cockles of my cynical black heart πŸ™‚

       
      • Sofia Leo

        March 24, 2013 at 9:22 pm

        And the fact that the neighbors are gone for a few days – all of their wireless interwebs are belong to ME πŸ™‚

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        March 24, 2013 at 9:26 pm

        i understand and the rudeness doesn’t help!!

        ahaha the black cockles of your cynical heart! you make me laugh…and your rich now with $25 you can go and be a tourist for about a half hr. πŸ˜‰

        I hope tomorrow goes well!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 24, 2013 at 9:31 pm

        LOL! That tip money will buy bunny food and hay tomorrow and maybe a Pepsi – nothing left over for playing tourist πŸ™‚ I find it telling that spell check wants Pepsi to be capitalized – yet another reason to be cynical.

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        March 24, 2013 at 10:12 pm

        ahaha! lucky bunny’s! wow you’re splurging on a Pepsi…lol
        yes it is curious that the aforementioned need capitals…they must be narcissistic. πŸ˜‰

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 25, 2013 at 8:37 am

        LOL!

         
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    March 24, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    Oh and the partying at the motel outside our bedroom window…need I say more…ha

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 24, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      I know, right? Surprisingly, there are no parties going on in the RV park. Maybe it’s still too cold? Whatever. I’m far enough from the tourist Hot Spots not to have to hear the BS and can unwind a bit now that it’s over. I really don’t mind tourists, it’s the Entitled Rednecks that get to me – their Mamas didn’t raise them right!

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        March 24, 2013 at 9:27 pm

        ha! glad you’re away from it!! no their Mamma’s didn’t!

         
  3. Jenny

    March 24, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    Oh Lordy…..now I know why that one Restaurant owner banned kids from his restaurant LOL. Grit your teeth and just know you may never see their bad manner self ever again…RUDE people!! Have you been practicing saying no in the mirror so you are ready to say it out loud tomorrow? Remember you do not owe him a reason why you are saying no, just tell him ” Sorry, not my problem anymore and turn and walk away

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 8:37 am

      I am ready to say NO and mean it. I’m ready to walk out and never look back. I’m ready to go No Contact at the slightest hint of disrespect. He won’t know what hit him πŸ™‚

       
      • frantichippie

        March 25, 2013 at 11:09 am

        You will love it once you get there! It was hard not to laugh in my ex’s face last night while he stood there acting all shocked and appauled that I would be so cold-hearted as to block his calls and texts! LMAO! I’m such a bitch not allowing him to continue to abuse me from afar hahaha

        Just wish I could believe he was really done with me for good, but he has no control over me anymore no matter what he does πŸ™‚

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 25, 2013 at 5:20 pm

        I know, right? They just don’t get it. Blog post to follow with more of M’s insanity.

         
  4. Jenny

    March 24, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    You might have to remind the jerk that you indeed do not live there anymore so you have no responsibility to do anything there and you are NOT coming back tomorrow or next week or next year so deal with your own problems…..of course you know he’ll go into drama mode and you’ll roll your eyes and try not to smirk LOL Poor M……hey buddy what goes around comes around!!

     
  5. Jenny

    March 24, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Kids are so bad mannered now days because the parents do not disapline them anymore! I’ll never forget my daughter throwing a tantrum in a restaurant and I hauled her into the bathroom and spanked her butt and told her she WILL go back to her seat and hehave!! So many are afraid to do that now!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 8:42 am

      If you discipline a child in public you run the risk of being turned in to Child Protective Services here in Oregon. Ask me how I know 😦 Society as a whole is so concerned with catering to the little monsters (and the not so little ones) that we have a very big problem that isn’t going to go away for a long time.

      My generation was the first to “benefit” from the lazier “be your kid’s friend” parenting philosophy that was so popular in the 70’s. My parents did not fall for it, however, and I once asked my dad why my friends all got so many privileges that I didn’t. He told me that there were two ways to parent and he believed that my friends’ parents were wrong and he and Mom were not going to go there. At the time I hated him for it, but now I know that I am a better person for having to work for anything I get and I appreciate that I was raised the Old Fashioned way. My son was raised with self control and discipline and he has told me how grateful he is that I instilled values in him as he watches his friends waste their lives.

       
  6. Jenny

    March 24, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Good luck, remember we are all there with you in Spirit for strength to say ” NO” and mean it

     
  7. The Cutter

    March 25, 2013 at 6:07 am

    Ew, they lick the case?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 8:44 am

      Yup. It’s even more gross watching from inside the case as I scoop ice cream. Gag!

      It would never occur to either my Sis or me to lick anything in a public place at any age, or even touch a shiny glass surface with the intention of smearing it up for our own amusement – we knew how hard it is to keep things clean and would not have made a mess for someone else to clean up. And Mom would have taken us outside and killed us πŸ™‚

       
  8. Jenny

    March 25, 2013 at 7:46 am

    Gee maybe you need to post a sign on the glass ” No licking allowed” or curb your tongue……could have been worse they could have whipped their snot on the case! Eeeeeeeew!!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 8:46 am

      The Boss frowns on signs that say “no” because so many people are offended at that word. It’s a fine line and every time it happens I pray for enough time to wash it with vinegar before the next customers arrive.

       
  9. frantichippie

    March 25, 2013 at 8:24 am

    I’m a server in a locally owned steakhouse. The majority of people are really nice and I make great tips and love my job! I can always spot the ones who aren’t going to tip me at all or maybe $2 if I’m lucky. They are the ones with the two year old eating jello, pudding, crackers, etc OFF THE TABLE and a herd of other kids making a HUGE mess in the floor and being loud and bothering everyone around them. They will buy two meals to split between 2 adults and 3 kids and complain about everything!

    I am thankful there are lots of other customers, even ones with kids, who are respectful, make their kids mind and tip well. It’s amazing how one family will come in make a HUGE mess and leave no tip at all, then the next family will come in and the mom will stack all the plates neatly on the table, clean up the kids crumbs and often offer to sweep the floor (which I’m always like NO I got it that’s my job) and leave me $10!

    Oh well, it takes all kinds right? Not sure I understand why. I guess the contrast helps us to appreciate the good things in life πŸ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 8:47 am

      I hear ya! The respectful customers renew my faith in humanity.

      In the main, my customers are great. It’s just those few asshats that get me down and I have to vent. Thanks for listening.

       
  10. JackieP

    March 25, 2013 at 11:18 am

    The hardest jobs I ever had were serving the public. It always amazed me how they think it’s ok to be so rude! Good luck with the narc, and keep your head high and your spirit strong! hugs!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 5:21 pm

      Head up, shoulders back, tits to the wind!

      I was raised to treat everyone with respect until they demonstrated they were a dumbass, and even then I had to be polite πŸ™‚

       
  11. Jenny

    March 25, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    You know we will all be on the edge of our chairs to find out the outcome of today, we’re all rooting for you because we know EXACTLY how you feel and to see another Sister break free of her abuser strengthens our bond that we are human and should be loved & cared for and NOT treated shitty!! NOONE deserves that!!! Prayers are with you for strength today.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 5:22 pm

      All is well. Post to follow πŸ™‚

       
  12. goldfish

    March 25, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Children suck. OK, that’s not fair. Parents suck. OK, that’s not fair either. Some parents don’t pay any attention to their unruly children. I’ve noticed this phenomena myself.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      Parents who refuse to parent their children suck. Children are just wild animals that need training to turn them into productive members of society. People who reproduce for the wrong reasons and then refuse to take responsibility for their spawn are a major problem with society today. One of many.

       
      • goldfish

        March 25, 2013 at 5:37 pm

        Agreed.

         
  13. Awana

    March 25, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    I thought I was the only one who called them “spawn”; but,I like “plague-bearing” much more than just plain “evil”. I will be there tonight to let you vent, and raise a glass to relaxation and another day made through. How about a little “Papillon”? The best is yet to come! I am hooked on fibery madness! Nobody can get me down!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      LOL! You’re on quite a roll, that’s a fact. I’ve called them Evil Spawn since my own was about four πŸ™‚

       
  14. notwendysdave

    March 25, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    LOL! but you kept your sense of sarcasm! When you can’t laugh at it….you have a serious problem. I think they call that “going Postal”?

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 25, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      πŸ™‚ I’m not there yet…

       
  15. Jenny

    March 25, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Evil Spawn…..so that’s what my kids are LOL I sure as hell did not raise them that way so I blame the controlling asshole father and his dipshit wife for how they have become

     
    • Jenny

      March 26, 2013 at 7:19 pm

      Sadly enough my children followed in their father’s footsteps in being controlling and how to abuse people, they don’t understand that this behavior is wrong because that is all they have seen from their father and step-mother. It was like talking to a wall trying to get them to understand it’s wrong, they won’t listen. Sad

       

Leave a Reply

 
