RSS

100 Followers?

21 Mar

How did that happen? I’ve been blogging for 12 years. I author five other blogs and not one of them has ever garnered the following that this blog has. Evidently writing about abusive relationships is more interesting than writing about my wool addiction or building fiddles or sewing for classic boats.

Congrats 986918_f260

Anyhoo, Cynthia L. Baker of Simple Pleasures Photography is Follower Number One Hundred!

Uh, this is embarrassing, but I don’t have a prize ready to hand out. I don’t even have an idea for a stunning reward for reading my little blog. I could send some bunny fluff, or a vintage-style apron in your favorite color (yeah, I sew, too) or some handspun yarn, or a postcard signed by Sabu?

Any ideas, readers? I’ve never had enough readers to bother giving out prizes. What do y’all do?

I’d like to take a minute to thank all of you for stopping by, leaving comments, “liking” my posts (you don’t have to agree or have anything to say, it helps a lot just to know that you’ve read my rantings) and sending private notes to bolster my courage on this journey. You mean the world to me and I couldn’t have changed my life in such a wonderful way without all of you.

MMwwwwwaaahhhh!

 
32 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Friends, I totally Rock!

 

Tags:

32 responses to “100 Followers?

  1. Simple Pleasures

    March 21, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    That gift is on every page of this blog….
    I thank you for being such a courageous person.
    You share yourself and your life with a lot of people who need you.
    You are inspiration and strength. Keep posting and sharing.
    Love and blessings-
    Cindy Baker aka Simple Pleasures

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 21, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I never intended for this blog to be more than a private online diary, but it has grown into a strange new animal. I better step up my game now that so many are reading πŸ™‚

       
  2. JackieP

    March 21, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    you mean we are suppose to do something? well damn, I didn’t when I hit 100, or 150 haven’t hit 200 just yet but almost there. Maybe I better start thinking… πŸ˜‰

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 21, 2013 at 9:10 pm

      I can’t even imagine how I got to 100, much less 200! Congrats to you, too πŸ™‚

       
  3. Shannon

    March 21, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Congratulations…which probably is bitter sweet. To me it signifies that there are so many women who have been in this type of relationship, are presently in this type of relationship or may one day find themselves in this type of relationship. Too many women…too many Narcs. We the reader triumph in your successes and mourn your tribulations. For some of us we envy your strength. So, kudos on the following. I am proud that you have the courage to blog regarding this poignant topic however I can’t help but feel a certain sadness.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm

      Thank you. It is bittersweet. It’s so sad that so very many women have lived or are living my life with an abusive man. I really thought I was different, that my relationship was something strange and unusual and it’s very sobering to find that I am one among millions. I will continue to blog my new life and fill in the blanks on how I got here so that others can see that they don’t have to live their lives in misery with a Narc, or Psycho or Socio.

       
  4. behindthemaskofabuse

    March 21, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Congratulations!! You’ve been a gift to all of us too, and you don’t have to give us anything to follow you, it a pleasure! xo

     
  5. Becki Duckworth

    March 21, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Congrats. My neighbor has 16,000 followers in 8 months so my mere 70 I thought I might be doing something wrong and down on myself. I guess that is what we do after years of abuse.I hit 20,000 views this week and felt very humbled. Keep up the great work.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 23, 2013 at 8:36 am

      What is your neighbor writing about? Are there topless pictures – that always gets a lot of hits πŸ™‚

       
  6. A2LSM

    March 21, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    Congratulations on reaching 100 πŸ™‚

     
  7. Jenny

    March 22, 2013 at 1:45 am

    I like following you and see you progress to inner bliss, just don’t hold a grudge as long as I did LOL. I see what you are going through and remember what I went through and what I have now and I am so much more at peace

     
    • Jenny

      March 22, 2013 at 2:56 am

      This probablys helps others to finally leave their abusers or not stick their head in the sand and finally do something about it. I remember in the 70’s there was no protection for women, we did not have a voice. I tried to tell a judge I feared my husband was going to take his anger out on our daughter next and the husband lied under oath that I was crazy and he did not understand why I was bringing an action against him. He told the courts I threw things at him…..he forgot to mention to the judge he threw me off a porch and I had a fork in my hand and threw it back at him!!

       
      • Jenny

        March 22, 2013 at 3:57 am

        The law is finally listening to us and I know I went to support enforcement to make sure I got my child support ON TIME in the end

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 23, 2013 at 8:43 am

        I did not get one penny in child support – I figured it was easier to pay my own way than have to deal with possible demands for visitation from ex#1 and his crazy mother. He walked away with no responsibilities while I raised the son he was so desperate to have, the child that would finally make him feel whole. If only I’d known then what I know now…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 23, 2013 at 8:42 am

        It’s not much better now – there are so many stories about women who pay the ultimate price for attempting to get away from an abusive man who were denied protection. I hope to volunteer somewhere to provide support to abused women and children when I get my own life in order.

         
    • Sofia Leo

      March 23, 2013 at 8:38 am

      I do tend to hold a grudge a long time, but this time I’m just disappointed that I let it go on so long while I searched a toxic relationship for the promised Happily Ever After. That won’t happen again πŸ™‚

       
  8. El Guapo

    March 22, 2013 at 11:40 am

    Link or your fiddle building blog please.
    I’m surprised this blog has so few! (Does that mean I get something like a “Charter Member” button when you hit it big?)

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 23, 2013 at 8:51 am

      I will be sure to mention all of my Charter Members in my awards speech πŸ™‚

       
  9. Not Quite Alice

    March 22, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Congrats Lovie! ❀ Much love for you!

     
  10. Just Me With . . .

    March 22, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    Congrats! I’m pulling for you and proud of you.

     
  11. Jennwith2ns

    March 23, 2013 at 8:19 am

    I have an idea: you can play the game/contest going on over at MY blog, and win the prize, and then give that out. πŸ™‚ Or, okay, if that’s a lame idea, at least play the game anyway. I only have three contestants . . . :-/ http://thatsajennstory.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/saturday-snippets-4/

    Thanks for visiting today! Hope to see you again!

    (And . . . abusive relationships are all too common, which is probably why people flock here. I was in one before marrying the great guy I’m with now . . . )

     
  12. bettylaluna

    March 23, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Well hello there! I happened to follow your photography blog and landed here…must be some magnetic pull…LOL! Stopping by to share I absolutely love your photography and so glad to see you leaning into the creative. As per a prize…maybe a postcard of your lovely photographs…it’s affordable and it’s the thought that counts…bonus points for your autograph! All the best to you ❀

     
    • Sofia Leo

      March 24, 2013 at 9:12 pm

      Must be quite the pull, as the photography blog isn’t even mine πŸ™‚ Glad you landed here even so, and I’ll be reading you, too…

       
      • bettylaluna

        March 24, 2013 at 9:49 pm

        how Embarassing…lol! I’m still learning the ropes…

         
      • Sofia Leo

        March 25, 2013 at 8:36 am

        No worries – maybe it just means I’m famous where I’m not even known πŸ™‚

         
      • bettylaluna

        March 27, 2013 at 2:31 pm

        LOL…now that is a GOOD way of looking at it…I think that’s it!…;)

         
    • Sofia Leo

      March 24, 2013 at 9:12 pm

      Well! Thank you so much!

       

Leave a Reply

 
