RSS

The Prom Dress

13 Feb

Just for a smile, here’s my son dressed in a prom gown at a thrift store some years ago. My Sis and I were looking for clothes for me to wear on a cruise the family was going on (she always picks out the best outfits for me) and she pulled this dress out and said, “look, you could wear this and be a princess!” I told her that I hate purple only slightly less than I hate pink and besides, I don’t wear sparkly stuff.

My son, who up until that point had been bored silly, said, “I’ll try it on!”

“Only if we can take pictures,” replied my Mom.

“Sure!” and we were off, Grandma, Sis and I trailing behind my 6′ tall son, dress in hand, all through the store, drawing stares the whole way.

As soon as he disappeared into the dressing room, people started to gather around, phones and cameras in hand. I started to get nervous – it was a lot of people wanting a show and I wasn’t sure my normally shy son would go through with it.

“I can’t get it zipped…” from the dressing room.

“I’ll help, open the door,” said Grandma and she disappeared inside.

A minute later, out stepped my son –

Harley DressHe was a good sport, turning this way and that for the strangers gawking at him, all the while blushing furiously. It was fantastic – a day that will go down in my family’s history books for sure, the stuff of legends.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Family

 

12 responses to “The Prom Dress

  1. Jenny

    February 13, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    He actually looked good in it!!

     
  2. Melanie

    February 14, 2013 at 2:23 am

    What fun. (And…I love that dress. I would have totally bought it.)

     
  3. The Cutter

    February 14, 2013 at 6:25 am

    And now he knows that drag queen is a potential career choice! Hooray for new possibilities!

     
  4. JackieP

    February 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Hahaha! Good sport your son is. 🙂

     
  5. behindthemaskofabuse

    February 14, 2013 at 11:25 am

    hahaha! now he’s on here too!

     
  6. El Guapo

    February 15, 2013 at 9:46 am

    And now that pic is immortalized on the internet!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      February 15, 2013 at 11:14 am

      I posted it to one of my other blogs, with his permission, shortly after it was taken, so it is out there…

       
  7. H. Stern

    February 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Your son is LITERALLY one of the coolest people I have ever seen. Must get it from mom!

     
    • H. Stern

      February 15, 2013 at 4:39 pm

      Also, I can’t handle that he totally accessorized with the necklace. Bad. Ass.

       
      • Sofia Leo

        February 15, 2013 at 6:14 pm

        He gets his accessorizing skillz from his Aunt 🙂 I figure if everything is in the same color family it goes together. I wear a lot of gray…

         
    • Sofia Leo

      February 15, 2013 at 6:13 pm

      I think it skipped a generation – he got it from his Grandma. His dad was cool sometimes. When he was sober…

       

Leave a Reply

 
