RSS

Be careful what you wish for…

22 Jan

Srsly. I asked for adventure, to sleep less, spend more time out on my own Doing Stuff on my own terms, etc.

Last night I was getting annoyed that the LP furnace kept coming on (it’s loud) and making me turn up the volume on the TV. I turned the thermostat down to 60* in an effort to get some quiet.

Imagine my surprise when I awoke at 5:30 AM freezing my ass off. The dog was on the bed, huddled close, but unconcerned.*

I listened for awhile for the sound of the furnace kicking in. I saw my breath in the air. Fuck! Got up and checked the thermostat. All appeared fine. Threw on some clothes and went outside to make sure the propane tank wasn’t empty. Indicator says positive. It’s been cold here, and the propane tanks don’t have a cover, so maybe something got frozen?

Came back in and lit the propane cooktop. All systems go. The propane water heater is on and putting out hot water. Fuck.

Looks like the furnace is broken. There are “No Serviceable Parts” for the user – call a repair dude if something goes wrong.

Awana saw this coming. She uses an electric heater and told me (several times in fact) to get one first thing. “An electric heater and a dehumidifier – you need both right now. You never know when something will go out and you need a backup!” When I went shopping I looked at all the models but couldn’t decide. I had planned to ask her again today what she would recommend so I could make the most informed choice, but obviously it was too late for that.

So I found myself at Wal-Mart** at 0600 purchasing a heater. The gal at the checkout said that they had been selling that particular model like hotcakes and I would be very happy. I told her that my furnace in my RV went out, otherwise I wouldn’t have been there so early.

“Well, you were up anyway!” she said brightly. At my glare (totally autopilot, I swear, I meant nothing by it) she said, “you were up and freezing…” and glanced away.

I thanked her with as much enthusiasm as I can muster at this ungodly hour and departed.

My new indoor/outdoor thermometer currently reads 48.2* inside and 44.1* outside. Thankfully I have warm clothes or I would be sitting in my car with the heater on, trying to keep warm.

I wanted adventure, right? I can handle anything, right? What could go wrong? This little blip will be a good story about being prepared some time in the future πŸ™‚

* I know – Bad Dog Mom. She’s a little stressed at all the change in her routine and just wanted to cuddle and I fell asleep before I could make her get back onto the floor to sleep. Dog Discipline has gone by the board! πŸ™‚

** Shouldn’t have bad-mouthed Wal-Mart earlier – thank all that’s holy this particular store is open 24/7 or I don’t know what I would have done…

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2013 in right?

 

12 responses to “Be careful what you wish for…

  1. El Guapo

    January 22, 2013 at 11:31 am

    On the other hand, nice to get this sort of thing out of the way right at the very beginning.
    Plus once it’s all done, nothing to do but sit around and enjoy yourself!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 22, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      Seems we’re gonna be having a System-wide Verification Check this week – the cable TV doesn’t work, either. Called The Guy and he’ll stop by tomorrow. Haven’t had any water issues (knock wood!) or major electrical (can’t run the heater and computer at the same time without tripping the breaker – that should make working at home interesting) yet, but I need to buy another ten feet of tank drain hose before I can hook up to the sewer system. Sigh. All the bugs should be worked out soon, though, and then it will be easy living.

       
  2. Bethany

    January 22, 2013 at 11:48 am

    This makes me smile πŸ™‚ These are the “good” problems to have! All part of freedom!!!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 22, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      Very true! And things like this never happen when the weather is good. I’m not really complaining, just tired.

       
  3. JackieP

    January 22, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    You handled it though. That’s the important part. And like El pointed out, good to have it done early on. As for the dog, mine sleeps with me every night. He’s just a little thing but I enjoy the company. πŸ˜‰

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 22, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      Turns out the couch is big enough for two πŸ™‚

       
  4. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 22, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    i hope you’re warm now!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 22, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      Sorta warm at work. “A closed door is a closed store” doncha know. Got a little space heater at my feet and the sun is shining through the open door – can’t ask for much more than that.

       
  5. Awana

    January 23, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Yeah, well, I’m all about Plan B….and learning the hard way.

     
  6. Jenny

    January 23, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    A twin electric blanket is a must too LOL, you might not be laughing now but you’ll look back on this someday around the campfire with other gals and be laughing about it. It has been freezing in Arizona earlier this month and people have been going through propane like it is water!! We normally do not use any heat in the casita in Yuma but because of the extreme cold we had it on EVERY DAY!! Our power bill went up triple than it normally is!! Glad you had a nice guy to fix everything for you quick.

     

Leave a Reply

 
