RSS

New Neighbors and the kindness of strangers

20 Jan

After Awana left this afternoon, I introducedย  myself to my new neighbor, Royce, and his Boston terrier, Stella. Of course my dog was being a bitch* and barking and acting like a fool.

I don’t know how much you all know about living in an RV (A-W-E-S-O-M-E so far!) but most parks have cable TV available to all residents. You can get the cable guys out to hook you up for wireless internet for a rather steep fee and because of the proximity of your neighbors, one can piggyback onto their signal. If all parties are amenable, two (or more) people can use the same network and split the cost – Awana told me so ๐Ÿ™‚

Bold as brass, I asked Royce if he got hooked up with the local cable company yesterday. I really want to be connected, but I have a desktop unit to run my Work Stuff** He confirmed my guess and it turns out he and his wife have only been here for a day longer than I have. Anyway, I flat out asked him if, providing the signal is strong enough, I could get onto his network and I would pay half his bill. After some hemming and hawing, he gave me his password and refused to let me pay him. I will keep trying to give them money but if they won’t take it, well, I’ll start baking for them or something. Really nice guy. His wife is a traveling nurse who is on a 14 week contract so they should be around long enough for me to make other arrangements.

Royce informed me that I can get a USB wireless connector for my desktop. For the moment I am on the borrowed NetBook from work.

There have been no more phone calls or any e-mail messages after M came to the shop. I told him that I needed to be away from him and so far he is honoring my request, even if he did not heed my note.

I told a few lies when he was in the shop. He asked how this happened and I told him that the day I walked out I put in an application for an apartment and was approved and I left. The beauty of this little fabrication is that if he is looking around town for my car, he will be searching miles away from where I actually am. He will not think that I would ever decide to try RV living – after all, if I refused to live on a boat with him, why would I consider an RV?

I took the quietest route from the shop back to Towanda – the roads are mostly deserted at this time of year – it would be very obvious if a huge, diesel truck wasย  on my tail.

The Boss volunteered the use of his truck on Thursday – he will be at the shop all day and said I could do whatever I needed to do with it. I need to get this show over with ASAP so I’ll take him up on his offer.

At the moment I’m sitting on my new fold-out couch, steeping a cup of tea, blogging and watching TV while my dog is crashed out on the floor. I can hear some road noise, but not much as this unit is well insulated. I am wearing only one layer of clothes and my shoes are off – I am warm enough to be comfortable without extra layers – the thermostat is at my command ๐Ÿ™‚

In a little while I will take a shower. A long, very hot shower, to see how long it will last (the hot water heater is only 6 gallons, but it is VERY hot.)

Tomorrow Awana will come over early to unload her van. I hope she will go have breakfast somewhere on me as a Thank You for all she’s done for me.

After that, I have a long-overdue visit to the hairdresser where I will be chopping off this mess on my head (yes, there will be pictures) ๐Ÿ™‚ and then I will do a little shopping for some odds and ends (somehow I have no coax cable for the TV and no dish soap.)

A quick run by the shop for some ice cream and I’ll spend the rest of the day getting organized.

Thank you all for your wise words and support through all this crap. I will continue to blog as things settle down so that others can see what happens during the detox phase of escaping a Narc. At the moment, I am calm, no tears, no doubt, no rage, but I’ve been here before. It will be interesting to see how I feel now that I’m doing this (again) at a more mature stage of my life.

Towaaaaaaaaaanda!!!!!

* She is the Real Me in a dog suit – always wants to be in control, likes to dominate the conversation if allowed, kinda rude and pushy if it’s about something she thinks she knows better. We take after my Mom that way ๐Ÿ™‚

Back when I got the computer, laptops were still not quite powerful enough to run my CAD program very well, so a laptop wasn’t practical. Hopefully I’ll be able to save some cash soon to make an upgrade now that the technology has caught up with my industry.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2013 in Digging Out, Gifts, I totally Rock!

 

23 responses to “New Neighbors and the kindness of strangers

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 20, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    i’m so happy for you!!

     
  2. JackieP

    January 20, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    yeah! first night in your new home! Feels good doesn’t it. I remember when I got out of my situation and got my own place. I walked around with this huge smile and touched everything and kept saying….”this is mine!” Congrats! Sending more light and love to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 20, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      The whole thing is mine! Mine to stay or move on as the whim takes me ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll sleep well tonight no matter how uncomfortable the couch is ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. lifebegins45

    January 20, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    I can almost feel your relief as you wrote this ๐Ÿ˜€ You’ll be fine. You know you will be.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 20, 2013 at 10:25 pm

      I know it will be fine. Maybe a few more bumps in my road, but I will survive and thrive!

       
  4. Awana

    January 21, 2013 at 3:49 am

    TOWAAAAANNNNDDDDAAAAAA! To the future! And, yes the girl has shoes–the Pacific Northwest kind….about the Wi-Fi….I deny any knowledge…(!)

    Keep calm and carry on…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 7:32 am

      I you deny all knowledge of the great ideas you have, does that mean I can take all the credit for myself? Brilliant!

       
  5. Melanie

    January 21, 2013 at 4:10 am

    Towanda! Righter of wrongs! You are queen of your own life! Enjoy the thermostat, the remote, and the middle of the bed (once you get yours). Enjoy the curry-free dinners, tortillas whenever you want them, and just damn-well cooking what you want when you want. Enjoy baking, and sewing, and playing. Enjoy hanging your pictures on your walls and playing your music however loud you want. Enjoy getting your haircut today!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 7:34 am

      The fold-out was not uncomfortable, so maybe I won’t need to take up space with a bed. I sure will enjoy all the things that are mine by right: happiness, peace of mind, independence, food choice, temp choice, decorating and all the rest!

       
  6. Lou

    January 21, 2013 at 4:23 am

    And when you have all the stuff you are going to get, will you change the blog name to Towanda and make it all bright and lovely coloured? So pleased you are being left alone.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 7:37 am

      LOL! I just might. I will change the template to something brighter and happier for sure.

       
  7. passiveaggressiveabused

    January 21, 2013 at 5:01 am

    I am so happy for you! This is wonderful!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 7:37 am

      Thank you! It is pretty damned fabulous ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  8. Lee

    January 21, 2013 at 8:17 am

    Wow! Congratulations on your successful escape and your new abode! I’m so happy for you!

    I’ve had some fireworks of my own to deal with, so it was great to come back and find that you’ve finally been able to make the big break. Here’s wishing you all kinds of strength to deal with anything he might throw at you until you’re completely free of him.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm

      Thank you, Lee ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  9. El Guapo

    January 21, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Congratulations! Hoping this chapter comes to a neat close, and looking forward to hearing what happens next.

     
  10. Janine

    January 21, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Congratulations and I hope he leaves you alone. You deserve happiness, I am so happy you are finally providing it to yourself! Keep us posted ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm

      It’s all about ME now – nothing but ME for awhile. Well, me and the dog ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  11. Paula

    January 21, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    I’ve been sharing your story with anyone who will listen. You are an inspiration to so many!!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 21, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      Excellent! I am done being silent about this shit! Women need to know that they are not crazy, that they have a choice about staying with an abusing partner and just what abuse is. I didn’t know any better, I believed that it was all my fault and that is a shame – I would have gotten away from these assholes so much sooner if I’d had the courage to believe my gut and the conviction to kick them to the curb when it started.

       
  12. Jenny

    January 21, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    I’ll never forget when I left I got into a Townhouse that was HUD housing so the rent was based on my income. I was in a much safer and nicer home . The X- and his girlfriend were shocked I had a nice home. Heck I did much better being single than married!!! It was 8 yrs before I remarried and the X-husbands now wife is jealous that I got a better husband that spoils me galore – Karma!

     

Leave a Reply

 
