RSS

Towanda!

19 Jan

Melanie of Deliberate Donkey has given my new home a name – Towanda! If you’ve seen the movie Fried Green Tomatoes or read the book, you know exactly why. If you  haven’t (you really should!) here’s the relevant quote:

Evelyn: I never get mad, Mrs Threadgoode. Never. The way I was raised, it was bad manners. Well, I got mad… and it felt terrific! I felt like I could beat the shit out of all those punks. Excuse my language. Just beat ’em to a pulp. Beat ’em till they begged for mercy! Towanda the avenger. And after I wipe out all the punks of this world, I’ll take on the wife-beaters, like Frank Bennett, and machine-gun their genitals! Towanda will go on the rampage. I’ll put tiny little bombs in Penthouse and Playboy so they’ll explode when you open them. And I’ll ban all fashion models who weigh less than 130 pounds. And I’ll give half the military budget to people over 65 and declare wrinkles sexually desirable. Towanda, righter of wrongs, queen beyond compare!

Ninny: How many of them hormones are you taking, honey?

That’s exactly how I feel. Awana is coming over early tomorrow morning to help me haul some stuff to storage. We should be able to take a good portion of the boxes in one trip, provided she’s willing to load up heavy and there’s no ice on the road – don’t want to scare her off with just one little errand 🙂

No word yet tonight from M, but I did get an e-mail from the friend who stores the boat at his house – he said that M is working his ass off out in the cold while he, the friend, sites inside the warm house. D has worked hard all week and needs his rest. M knew that before he went, so I reassured D that M is happiest working hard on his projects and not to feel bad, that I would be doing the same thing 🙂

I’ve already decided that if M shows up Sunday or Monday I will force a Final Confrontation and walk out. After all, I have a warm, safe place to go – I have nothing to fear on that count, so why not? Since I came back the last time, I figure he will let me go and not get physical, thinking that I’ll be back for my stuff anyway. He will be in for a big surprise when I come back with a truck and the police. He can’t deny me my possessions (as Awana so wisely pointed out) because they are all related to my various money-making enterprises businesses – he can’t deny me the ability to make a living. Ain’t that sweet?

Thank you all so much for your support and wise comments – it means so much to me!

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in Digging Out, Escape Plans, I totally Rock!, Today

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Towanda!

  1. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    I hope he doesn’t come home before you go!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 19, 2013 at 8:47 pm

      Me, too, but tonight I feel mentally prepared. Knowing that he’s still Up North as of this minute, he can’t be here before 3:00 AM and he hasn’t tried to “surprise” me that late yet. He likes to leave there around noon, which puts him here around 6:00 PM. Even if he left at 6:00 AM tomorrow, he can’t be here before Noon and Awana and I will be done by then, I’ll be at work where it will be hard to harass me (The Boss and the police are just a phone call away) and I will have the dog in the car. Let him try!

       
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        January 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

        Wonderful! You are such a strong lady.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 8:49 pm

        Ha! If I were stronger I would have learned from the last two assholes in my life and stayed single the past eleven years 🙂

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        January 19, 2013 at 8:50 pm

        Don’t sell yourself short, it’s probably what you knew a familiar unhealthy comfort zone. You know now!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 8:56 pm

        I do know better now and I won’t ever forget!

         
      • behindthemaskofabuse

        January 19, 2013 at 8:59 pm

        Here’s to freedom! xo

         
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    January 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Oh and love the name 🙂

     
  3. El Guapo

    January 19, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    The last few posts, you already sound happier and brighter.
    Keep it up!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

      Now that I have a place to go that is all mine, everything else is easier. Really, right this minute, if I got out with my computer, a few clothes and my fiddles I would be happy. The rest is just gravy 🙂

       
  4. JackieP

    January 19, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    Love the name. It surely fits. 🙂

     
  5. lifebegins45

    January 19, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    The name is perfect! lol!

     
  6. Awana

    January 20, 2013 at 1:48 am

    Yes, the girl is giddy…and Pricilla is jealous…(that’s my rig.) Off to the icy patch to see how I can help…not scared of the man–I was taught to LIE to survive.

     
  7. Melanie

    January 20, 2013 at 6:27 am

    Happy Living!!

     
  8. Paula

    January 20, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Love it, Sofia! I haven’t watched that movie in a few years. I think I’ll watch it tonight. I’m so glad you have Awana.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 20, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      I wouldn’t have even thought of moving into an RV if it weren’t for Awana! It’s such a perfect, affordable solution for me right now – if I had to wait for enough cash and a good enough job to support apartment or house rent I would never have gotten out.

       

Leave a Reply

 
