RSS

Through the fog…

18 Jan

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Here she is, folks – Paradise Found! Don’t let the picture fool you, it was fucking C-O-L-D out there! The low temps killed not one, not two, but all three of my digi recorder batteries. I had planned to video the “walk-thru” because I knew it would be too much information to process, but it was a no-go. One of the managers let me borrow a camera to get a few snaps and the cold killed his battery, too. Ugh! I am not thawed out, but my fingers seem to remember how to find the keys, even if I still can’t feel them. Interior pics will have to wait for tomorrow.

Took off for the two-hour trip and had a leisurely, if not quiet, drive, blasting my favorites from the .mp3 player. Well, blasting as well as a Chevy Aveo with stock speakers can blast.

Keith was the “technician” assigned to me and my rig (which needs a sassy female name, as she’s a yacht on land – suggestions?) and he did an incredibly thorough job of showing me all the bells and whistles. And she has a lot of them!

It’s amazing how much I had forgotten about the interior after less than 24 hours. We looked at a lot of models yesterday and my head was just swimming, so until I walked up to her, I wasn’t quite sure which features she has and how very large she is inside. All I can say is WOW!

So, Keith was showing me stuff and chatting (a total of 2.5 hours – 1.5 hours over his allotted time – he said we are now best friends ๐Ÿ™‚ and tossing free stuff into a box. We got back to the bedroom area to verify that all the lights work, and I said, pointing to the ginormous king-sized mattress, “that thing will be going out first thing!”

“What are you planning to do?” he asked. He re-builds and modifies interiors all the time and seemed genuinely interested.

“I was thinking of taking it out and putting in a twin-sized day bed or something to make more room in here.”

“What will you do with the mattress?” he asked. “Where will you sleep?” He knows I’ll be living in it.

“Sell it, I guess. It will be a pain to get out of here, though. The couch folds out into a bed, so a place to sleep isn’t the issue, disposal is.”

“I can take it out for you. Right now.”

“Really? Kurt said yesterday that you guys won’t take out the furnishings because then end up in a huge stack in your warehouse and you can’t get rid of last year’s models…”

“Pish! Whatever! For you, I’ll take it out of here so you don’t have to deal with it.”

Score! That manky piece of foam was left at the dealership (sorry, Kurt!) and I now have a potential fiber studio. The faux wood frame is simply screwed into the floor, which poses no problem for a woman who has her own power tools ๐Ÿ™‚ The piece of press board that forms the platform can be broken up and put in the dumpster unless someone at the park needs a replacement.*

I didn’t measure, but the space opened up by removing the bed is about the same size as the computer room I sit in at this very moment. But it has storage cupboards and cabinets. If I place a desk or table on any of the outside walls, I will have a window to look out of. Can’t ask for better than that!

The guy hired to drag the trailer to the park was clearly impatient to be off. It was freezing-ass cold, but he could have sat in his truck with the heater on rather than interrupt me and my new best friend three times! Keith was not amused and may have dragged things out a bit longer just to make a point. Turns out driver-guy (let’s call him Mario – it will be clear in a moment) is not paid by theย  mile, but by the hour, so he really didn’t need to be in a rush. He should have brought a book to read or something.

Mario hitched up, Keith gave me a hug** told me to be careful and have a safe trip. A quick conference with Mario to change the Company’s plans so that I followed Mario until we were almost “home” and then led the way the last few miles so he couldn’t get lost*** as he’s not familiar with my town.

And we were off. I mean, really – off and running. I understand that Mario is a professional driver and the hour was growing close to sunset, but christ-on-a-cracker! The trip that took me two hours at a reasonable pace (I’m not a Granny Driver, but I tend to obey most speed limits and the road is quite curvy – people die on it every year for the love of all that’s holy! and the fog was thick as pea soup for 3/4 of the trip!) took us just under 1.5 hours. It was a hair-raising race to keep up with my little house on wheels and it’s probably a good thing Awana was not along as the air was blue with curses. Even the dog was laying quietly in the back seat, praying not to be noticed.

We made it in one piece (my nerves were shot) and got the trailer backed into her spot and leveling jacks applied. Mario left and Awana and I hooked her up to power and went inside to recover. Well, I recovered, Awana was just fine ๐Ÿ™‚

The shots I took earlier of the interior were blurry (damn the cold!) so I’ll just insert one of the port side with the slides out to give you an idea of just how spacious this thing is –

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s 30 feet long, 8 feet wide through the main section and the slides add another 3.5 feet to the bedroom and the dining/living area. It feels very comfortable, not at all cramped, but then again, there’s not much in it, just what I stuffed into the back of the car before leaving this morning.

With the bed gone, the back area will nicely hold all of the things I most want it to. With a little luck I’ll be able to sell off the stuff I really don’t need and can get out of the storage unit before the end of next month.

Bliss! Home! I was very reluctant to leave once the furnace had heated her up to a comfortable temperature, but I have so many more things to do. I’ll load up the car again tomorrow before work and meet Awana there to hook up water and waste hoses and make sure everything is in order. I have a list of things to buy – pads for the leveling jacks, wheel chocks, hose insulation, silicone spray, WD-40 and an inside/outside thermometer. And batteries for my now dead brand-new flashlight that I left in the cold car while “walking thru” instead of carrying in my pocket like an idiot. Damn the cold!

I work tomorrow afternoon, and Sunday from 12-6 (The Boss gave me today off – I wonder who is more excited, him or me?) but he has out-of-town commitments so one day is all I can ask in good conscience. Can’t decide whether to rent or borrow a truck for Monday.

The weather Up North where M is has been very cold and cloudy so he was not able to do the paint and epoxy work he was expecting to get done and he may come home early, putting a kink into my plans. I’ll have to play it by ear. Maybe he will honor his promise to support me with whatever I decide to do and just let me go peacefully (don’t worry, I will be turning down his offer to use his truck to haul my stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

* What a crappy design! The platform is solid and is accessed by lifting up the mattress which rests on a 1/2″ thick piece of press board. Hydraulic arms help hold it up, but the entire time the press board is sagging and just begging to break. In addition, the press board is about 10″ smaller than the mattress – if you sit too hard on the edge of the mattress, it’s sure to break right off.

** In the last two days I have willingly hugged two men (Kurt yesterday, the wonderful man who showed me the trailers and really listened to what I said and did not even think of trying hard sell techniques on me and Keith today) who I knew for only a couple ofย  hours. Know what? Maybe I am a hugger. There was nothing creepy about either of them. They both seemed like Nice Men who love their jobs (18 and 14 years with this company respectively) and who want to make people happy with their choice and their purchase. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I’ll put up links after the heat is off.

*** Here’s an interesting aside – the RV company needed a physical address (I have stopped all of my mail and it will be held at the Post Office main branch, not at the local contractor’s branch where my across-the-street nosy neighbor lives) to complete the paperwork. After repeatedly assuring me that NOTHING would be sent to this house I reluctantly gave up the info (turns out I could have used the RV park as the address because they take the mail for residents, but I didn’tย  know that at the time.) Mario had a MapQuest driving map to MY ABUSER’S HOME! Good thing I didn’t let him take off without a discussion. I am just stunned by that development and will be writing a letter.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in Digging Out, Escape Plans

 

Tags: ,

20 responses to “Through the fog…

  1. lifebegins45

    January 18, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    Have you thought of a name for your new castle?? How about “karma”? Lol! Fitting for the time. I pray things work like clock-work for you. No hassles at ALL! Moments away from freedom….You’ll be happy when you are away! One step in front of the other…

     
  2. JackieP

    January 18, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Yea!!! Great. It’s a beauty. How about “Freedom” for a name. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  3. Sofia Leo

    January 18, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Freedom and Karma aren’t quite right. I plan to stencil “Paradise Found” on the door, but she needs something a little less formal, but still dignified and sassy for everyday use. Like a nickname, I guess.

     
    • Paula

      January 19, 2013 at 7:12 am

      Why not call her Sofia Leo? Represents all you have done in the name of your freedom and new life. One day I hope to know your real name. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 12:26 pm

        I’m actually giving serious thought to changing my name to Sofia Leo for good. I had no choice in the original decision and SL fits me very well.

         
      • Paula

        January 19, 2013 at 3:20 pm

        That’s pretty damn cool!!

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 5:35 pm

        ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I have tools and know how to use them! A cordless drill will be on my Wish List before I tackle anything large again, though.

         
  4. anewfreelife

    January 18, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Yeah, I’m thinking along the lines of Thelma or Louise, but with a happy ending! Just the taking off and being free part…ya know?

     
  5. Melanie

    January 19, 2013 at 5:18 am

    How about Leighway for a name? Leigh is feminine for Lee which means “clearing”, and leeway is the freedom to move or act/margin of safety. So a little bit of play on words and wha-la.
    I’m really happy for you. I hope the cold zaps M’s car battery so he gets stuck so you can finish without the final blowout.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 19, 2013 at 12:28 pm

      Nothing that smacks of the nautical, please – I’ve been trapped on a lee shore for too many years for that to work for me now.

       
      • Melanie

        January 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm

        I know no nautical…I’m sorry, I didn’t realize.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 12:31 pm

        No apologies necessary! The word looks right, but saying it out loud reminds me too much of what I want to leave behind ๐Ÿ™‚

         
      • Melanie

        January 19, 2013 at 3:14 pm

        Have you seen “Fried Green Tomatoes?” How about Tawanda?

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 19, 2013 at 5:26 pm

        That is perfect! Spelled with an o – Towanda because she will be towed and will wander and will take no shit! Thanks for the great name ๐Ÿ™‚

         
      • Melanie

        January 19, 2013 at 3:18 pm

        Here’s a link on the importance of Tawanda The Bee Charmer:
        http://www.epinions.com/review/mvie_mu-1038305/mvie-review-2DF0-8887013-38A7144D-prod5?sb=1

        Basically, the last paragraphs:
        “I believe that the moral of the story lies, however in TAWANDA & THE BEE CHARMER. From the first time you hear one of the women use the word TAWANDA, it seems to be a cry of liberation. It seems to be equated with being self-sufficient, having worth without defining it by virtue of a man, what you do, how you act; but who you are and how you feel about yourself. TAWANDA! I mean, shouting the word itself almost feels liberating.
        The BEE CHARMER, in my opinion, is a metaphor for facing your fears and coming out not only unscathed but better for the experience.”

         
  6. Bethany

    January 19, 2013 at 6:28 am

    I like Freedom to ๐Ÿ™‚ How about Feronia its Latin and is the name of the Goddess of Freedom. I am so glad you are settling in nicely.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 19, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      Feronia has possibilities…

       

Leave a Reply

 
