RSS

The Storage Place Guy

02 Jan

When I walked into the office at the storage rental place, I’m sure the rage I was feeling was radiating off me in waves. The manager dude walked me over to look at a unit so I could decide if it was the right size.

“What will you be putting in here?” he asked.

“All of the personal possessions I have left. No furniture, mostly boxes.”

“I’m really sorry you’re having troubles. How long?” he asked.

“Eleven years, and enough is enough!” I replied.

“Well, I hope this move is a good one for you…”

“It can’t get any worse!” I was beginning to wind up and he could see it.

“Just don’t become a man hater,” he said, “there are a lot of us good guys out there and it would be a shame if you didn’t find that out some day…”

Very wise man, and he knew exactly when to make me laugh. It was so strange to talk with a man who could see what I was feeling and actually did something to make a total stranger feel a little better on what was obviously a terrible day for her.

Anyway. M is treating me like I’m the best thing since sliced bread and I hope he can see in my face that I know it’s all bullshit. No word on when he will be leaving town, but it can’t come soon enough. More on our “discussion” the other day later…

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2013 in Escape Plans

 

Tags:

9 responses to “The Storage Place Guy

  1. El Guapo

    January 2, 2013 at 10:38 am

    Congrats on taking that step!!!

     
  2. Melanie

    January 2, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Even just this little step feels freeing, doesn’t it?

     
  3. JackieP

    January 2, 2013 at 10:45 am

    stay strong! It’s you that you need to think about.

     
  4. Paula

    January 2, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    This is great!!

     
  5. Bethany

    January 2, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Isn’t it so nice to get a little taste of normal? I love when I run across real men who genuinely care about other people around them. It really makes my day even if only for an instant someone treats me like my emotions matter. I am glad you got to enjoy that today.

     
  6. Melanie

    January 12, 2013 at 6:04 am

    I miss you. (I just wanted you to know I noticed you’ve been quiet for a while. I hope you’re doing ok.)

     
    • Sofia Leo

      January 12, 2013 at 3:06 pm

      I’m back, and everything is fine. Well, as fine as living with a Narc can be 🙂

       
      • Melanie

        January 12, 2013 at 4:47 pm

        Good to hear! I’m sorry it took me ten days to notice.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        January 13, 2013 at 4:02 pm

        Don’t be sorry – you have your own shit to deal with. Virtual hugs to you 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
