RSS

What part of “paperless” do you not understand?

21 Dec

You all know that I pulled funds out of my retirement account in order to get out of this toxic relationship. When I did that, I subscribed to the company’s (who shall be nameless for now) “paperless” program whereby (so I thought) I would no longer receive numerous bits of paper by mail for various reports, statements, etc. I changed my e-mail address to my secure account some time after that. Guess what? They sent me a confirmation letter saying that my e-mail address had been changed! They even showed the new e-mail address! Thankfully I got my hands on it before M saw it and tossed it into the wood stove.

I rented a P.O. box last week and today changed my address online with this company. After about an hour, I had a very bad feeling that I was forgetting something. I called the company to verify that no notice would be going out to my abuser’s address about the address change. Guess what? As a “courtesy” the company sends out two notices – one to the “old” address, and one to the “new” address!

I very calmly explained the situation to the helpful Customer Service representative (while hyperventilating on the inside) and asked if there was any way to avoid sending out a notice to the “old” address. Turns out there is a way, but it’s convoluted and she would have to call me back.

She was able to re-route the second notice to my financial planner as they have to send out two notices. He is, of course, on vacation. She left a message with him and that was the best she could do – the notices had to go to different addresses (I asked). I also called and left him a message. Hopefully his secretary won’t forward them to me before he gets his messages. I was trying to avoid filing an official Change of Address with the Post Office on the off chance that something would come to the house.

What a mess! It shouldn’t be so complicated and “paperless” should really be paper-LESS.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2012 in Escape Plans, Stuff that Pisses Me Off!, Today

 

10 responses to “What part of “paperless” do you not understand?

  1. anewfreelife

    December 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Oh my word! I had similar things happen. Sometimes I swear there is a big cosmic turd that goes around “helping” get info into the wrong hands!

     
  2. Shannon Ketchersid

    December 21, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Go to the post office and fill out a card for them to HOLD your mail.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Excellent idea! I knew that if I asked you all would be full of the perfect solution!

       
      • Shannon Ketchersid

        December 22, 2012 at 1:29 pm

        Only because we have been through the nightmare as well…unfortunately. “My Emotional Vampire” on Facebook is an awesome page and very enlightening. It is also helpful to have as much support emotionally since things seems to get worse before they get better. I wish you peace.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 22, 2012 at 2:56 pm

        I subscribe to MEV – love the wisdom and insight they offer!

        What really surprised me the most about telling my story is that I am not special. I am not at all unusual. My story is not foreign or unbelievable – many, many, many women have the exact same story! I had no idea that so many women were being treated as badly (or worse, even much worse) than I am and it shocks me to my core to find out how prevalent this abuse is. It’s so sad. And it makes me so angry, which is where I am at the moment, but this, too, shall pass and I will move on…Thank you for your support 🙂

         
  3. Awana

    December 22, 2012 at 4:11 am

    Yes–hold your mail. And paperless is a joke. It is some legal mumbo-jumbo about sending certain documents to your address in the financial world. EVEN IF all the rest are paperless–some courtesy. Bleh. It is a sorrow and a pity when you have to hide anything in your life from someone else. I should have hidden all those CD’s —but, NOOOOOOO……..

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 22, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      You were married – different rules apply…

       
  4. Melanie

    December 22, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Don’t do an official change of address with the post office because they will send a notice to the old and the new that the change has been requested (so if you didn’t ask for it they can correct it before sending mail to the new address).

     
    • Shannon Ketchersid

      December 22, 2012 at 7:39 am

      That’s why you just request them to “hold” your mail…like you are going on a vacation 🙂 I believe they will hold for 30 days at a time.

       
      • Melanie

        December 22, 2012 at 7:45 am

        That’s a good idea. Her safety is very important and a change of address could compromise that.

         

Leave a Reply

 
